We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect view from the beachfront bungalow and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Ko Lipe
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect view from the beachfront bungalow and friendly staff”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed in one of the beachfront bungalows for 3 days and not much to complain at. The bungalow itself was really nice and had a modern bathroom along with a comfortable bed and a great view from the second floor out over the sea.
The bar had free wifi and friendly staff combined with nice drinks. Food was rather pricy and small portions but tasted nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ola840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    244
    93
    41
    18
See reviews for
117
373
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I was looking for a on-the-beach-chalet on Ko Lipe, after reading all the reviews I had decided to go with Castaway. I like the all wood elements and feel more to nature than staying in the concrete block.

We had one of the beach front chalet, it was right on the beach like the website advertised. The only down side of being right on the beach is that you have less privacy, sun bathers can be 10 ft away from the chalet. But that did not bother us so much as we have our own veranda to chill and sun bath at.

Downstair is where the toilet and shower located, very open. I understand the reason of them not putting any wall (to feel more spacious) but it might be better to have a small divider between the toilet seat and entrance door. Being fully opened means when somebody is on the throne, nobody should get in/out of the chalet unless the person on the business does not mind to be seen on the throne. We had a bit of issue because when friends came to visit at our chalet, several times we could not open the door to welcome our friends because one of us was in the toilet. Not suitable for friends sharing or shy couple.

The upstair consists of a double bed, a single bed (used a day bed or seating), a wooden simple double shelves and a wooden chest to lock your belongings while you are out. There is a small balcony (with no privacy) which is quite nice to look at even though we did not really walk out there too much.

There was no mosquitoes issues for us as most of the day it was so windy, mosquitoes could not fly or land. I can imagine when there is no wind, it can be fairly annoying to relax on the veranda during the evening to night time. The mosquito netting was easy to use and efficient to keep insects out of the bed while sleeping.

Like the website has said, these bungalows are not suitable for young children and I agree. The safety railing are barely two strips of wood and young children could fall/climb in between. However, both our neighbours are family with very young children, they managed to cope with it.

The restaurant has a nice view and feel, we like it. Friendly staffs. One day i had Thai porridge breakfast and it was ok, but my partner feels his egg benedict was nto well done. Beers are just a little bit more expensive than the general Thai restaurant but you getting a lot more value at their restaurants than the non decorative thai bar.

We walked pass the chalets behind the beach front row, some are quite nice with some sea view and more privacy than the first row. But the bungalows all the way at the back feels a little messy between the untamed bushes, but some might like the "original" feel to it.

Over all we have very good impression with Castaway, very friendly and professional staffs. I think the other option would be Serendipity (which looks bit more secluded/privacy) but Castaway definitely has a more convenient location to choices of food and restaurants.

Good job guys!

Room Tip: If you want a bit more privacy, go for the second row (sea view but not beach front), atleast you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyTasteHisTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I love the resort, good location, just stand by the sea, you would swim anytime you like. And in the night, you could lie on the beach and see the lots of stars hunging in the sky. The room is very beautiful, you could enjoy your vocation without any disturbance from work. One problem is that the food is not very well , if it could become better, it would be a paradise.

Room Tip: without A/C,but it's ok,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HU-YAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We had a beach-front bungalow and, in general, the bungalow was amazing. We loved it --gorgeously decorated, amazing windows with an incredible ocean view. The first night we stayed one row back, which means we still had an ocean view but weren't in the very first row. To tell the truth, I think the second row is still really great, so if you are trying to assess whether to pay the extra to be in the first row, well, I don't think it's necessary. In fact, it's much windier in the first row, so the second row has that going for it. Keep in mind this is the windier side of the island -- much windier -- but we liked it more than the other two main beaches. We just had one problem which is there was a wind storm one night. The very sweet waitress who served us at breakfast said it was rare and odd, particularly at the time of year when we were there (late November). But it did cause one of the palm branches on the roof to come loose. We realized too late and, the next night, the branch was banging in the wind on the side of the cabaña all night. We hardly slept. It was clearly an act of nature, but it was really too bad what with what we were paying. When we told the person at reception she apologized...but it would have been nice if they had done something more. But, at any rate, the bungalows were gorgeous and I wish I owned one or, some day, if I ever live in some kind of beach paradise, I'm going to remember it as a model. One afternoon there was a rainstorm, so we got some food from a stall and some beers and just sat and looked out over the view. Bliss.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2012

It was a dream vacation. Some people says its overpriced but they are completely wrong!

- cleanest on the island
- no engine noise!
- no insects in the room
- best corals on the island, in front of your bungalow
- they can organise everything for you
- no atm on the island, no problem. you can withdrawal from resort!! cheaper than currency exchange
- food is good
- met wonderful people
- dont need aircon, bungalows are perfectly designed to keep it breezy
- they do recycle
- a dream balcony
- perfect location
- kind people

by the way, i proposed to my girlfriend at her birthday on the sala.

Room Tip: Try beach view bungalows if you are afraid of the sound of waves. we have stayed both sea breeze an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.3 km away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
310 reviews
0.4 km away
Serendipity Beach Resort
1.1 km away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#5 of 18 in Ko Lipe
657 reviews
0.1 km away
Cabana Lipe Beach Resort
Cabana Lipe Beach Resort
#8 of 18 in Ko Lipe
82 reviews
0.8 km away
Akira Lipe Resort
Akira Lipe Resort
#4 of 18 in Ko Lipe
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Resort Koh Lipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Resort Koh Lipe

Property: Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
Address: 278 Moo 2 | Sunrise Beach, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lipe
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lipe
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lipe
Price range (per night): $41 - $146
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Resort Koh Lipe 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Castaway Resort the spirit of ‘The Beach’ is brought to life. Amid the beautiful setting nature has given Koh Lipe, our spacious wooden bungalows and large chill out deck overlooking the beach definitely make Castaway the most atmospheric of Koh Lipe’s resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Castaway Resort Koh Lipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe Hotel Koh Lipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing