We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wood-fired meats and seafood - a hidden gem”
Review of Bion Niseko

Bion Niseko
Ranked #82 of 281 Restaurants in Kutchan-cho
Price range: US$69 - US$159
Description: Niseko Bion aims to bring you the best & freshest Hokkaido meat, seafood and seasonal vegetables on a traditional Italian firewood cuisine style. Boasting a carefully curated list of Italian and Australian wines that pairs excellently with the course menu and an open kitchen; counter seats and tables that allows you to see and interact with the chef for a richer and more enjoyable experience. Cancellation policy; Up to 3 days in advance 20% 2 days in advance 50% Same day 100%
Restaurant details
Description: Niseko Bion aims to bring you the best & freshest Hokkaido meat, seafood and seasonal vegetables on a traditional Italian firewood cuisine style. Boasting a carefully curated list of Italian and Australian wines that pairs excellently with the course menu and an open kitchen; counter seats and tables that allows you to see and interact with the chef for a richer and more enjoyable experience. Cancellation policy; Up to 3 days in advance 20% 2 days in advance 50% Same day 100%
Reviewed 11 March 2019

Bion is one of those new restaurants with a super-talented chef that local foodies discover before word gets out... and that is starting to happen. This is truly a special little restaurant.

Chef Nao-san sources incredible fresh produce and seafood from his secret farms and fishing ports across Hokkaido – sources he's spent decades cultivating. Using these ingredients as a base, he expertly brings out the flavours over his three-tiered wood-fired grill – a rare and impressive talent. The succulent pork and juicy beef are out of this world for meat lovers.

The ambience of the restaurant is also lovely – the flames of the wood-fire warm the space and greet you as you walk in the front door, as does the smell of the seafood and meets grilling. It's an experience for all your senses.

Impressive selection of French, Italian and Australian wines to accompany your meals, and a Ferrari champagne recommended to kick the evening off with your oysters – which by the way are so big they barely fit in your mouth in one go.

Do yourself a favour and go to Bion before it gets hard to get reservations.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Powderlife_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2019 via mobile

Amazing food, best oysters I've ever had, the squid was perfectly executed and the steak was truly fantastic. A hidden gem 100% recommended.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Culture323920
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 February 2019

This restaurant was highly recommended by our hotel. We had a great time sitting at the counter and watching chef Noa prepare all our dinner courses. He is very nice and knows a bit of English and was very interested to know how we felt about our menu. My daughter and I don't like oysters and he was kind enough to change is to scallops with avocado which was amazing. We had a great time there and would go back the next time we are in Niseko. Well done!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FamilyTravel1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 February 2019 via mobile

Sadly not busy, this restaurant was the discovery of the week. Great food, amazing huge oysters, beautiful charcuterie, fresh rocket, an amazing stuffed chargrilled squid and a crab omelette and that was just for starters. Mains of chargrilled Wagyu T bone and crispy pork were followed by delicious desserts. Nice wine list, great service. Our favourite meal of the week.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Fredster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 January 2019

Had a slightly unusual experience at Bion. We walked down through heavy snow (weren't offered a pick-up which is slightly unusual in Niseko) and arrived at the restaurant to find we were the only diners, and were seated at the "Chef's Table", or a counter facing the galley kitchen.

The meal was excellent - a set-menu - with a huge plateful of meat and cheese for my wife, and a tasty bean salad for me for starters. This was followed by deep-fried veggies (sort of like pakora or tempura?), a large frittata and excellent dessert.

We would have probably preferred sitting at a normal table (which we expected would fill up sometime soon but never did) but in the end did enjoy chatting with the chef, who warmed up considerably during the meal.

Service was very good (we had the staff to ourselves!) and it was a pleasant evening in the end, even the walk back home through deep snow (it had stopped snowing at least)...

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KeithR903
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Bion Niseko also viewed

Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 

Been to Bion Niseko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.