We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced and disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Kinloch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinloch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overpriced and disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

we were very disappointed with our stay at Kinloch. We had booked and prepaid (!) $600 several months ago for two nights dinner , bed and breakfast. There was no choice for the evening menu or the breakfast - but we did get a poached egg and bacon! - but again, no choice! - the bedroom was also disappointingly small with nowhere to put a case or clothes - when booking we had asked for two single duvets which were not provided, a second single duvet was provided in the end, but left outside our door on the floor - we were therefore left to make our own bed and to remove the double duvet which was in the way. There were only two bathrooms (loo in bathroom in both cases) which had to be shared between 8 double rooms.

We decided to leave after breakfast on the second day and therefore had to forego our dinner and breakfast the following day which as i said, we had prepaid. We were offered no refund, even for the dinner which i believe was priced at $45 per head. |

This is the only place that has asked for our money in advance and the only place we have found so disappointing that we have left early and we are in New Zealand for 7 weeks.

The highlight for us was James who had to run reception, run the bar and serve dinner plus drinks to everyone in the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy_Lake_House, Owner at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
It is disappointing to read that these guests left early because they were unhappy at Kinloch Lodge because we strive to ensure everyone has a wonderful stay with us. It seems that our initial 'mistake' of providing an additional single duvet for the Queen bedded room instead of 2 single duvets got the stay off to a bad start.

There are 6 bedrooms (not 8) which share 2 bathrooms (deep claw footed bathtubs, showers, basins etc) and a guest lounge with cosy couches in our heritage listed Victorian lodging house.

On the night that these guest stayed! 4 of the rooms were occupied. The beds are made up with soft cotton linens, goose down duvets, Victorian styled quilts and the rooms have period wall covering and drapes.

The room tarif includes a freshly prepared 3 course dinner - and as at many lodges this is a set meal -but of course we cater for any dietary needs that are notified. We served a traditionally made French onion soup with home made ciabatta bread and nixed herb leaf salad followed by tender sirloin steak then pavlova with berries and cream.

Breakfast comprises home made bread, freshly baked croissants, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, preserves, juices tea or coffee and a light cooked plate which is typically bacon and a poached or scrambled egg and from experience is a suitably sized complement to the rest of the breakfast.

We feel that an inclusive tarif of $298 for the room with dinners and full breakfasts for 2 people represents great value.

Over dinner the guests informed our front of house server that they would be leaving a day early as they had changed their plans and they said the same when I checked them out. We would much rather have had the opportunity to address these guests' unhappiness. For example we own and run a boutique B&B in Glenorchy where we might have been able to better meet the needs of these guests - but sadly we weren't given the opportunity to do so.

Our customers can choose to book and prepay online for their stay or provide credit card details and settle their account on checkout. Being a remote location we operate a 48 hour cancellation policy. The guests understood on check out that they weren't entitled to a refund and didn't ask for one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    74
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
40
133
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

What a gem! Beautiful and unique setting on the shores of lake wakatipu, lovely rooms! Get the 3 course set meal at the restaurant, fantastic food!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euno83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Wonderful stay in beautiful surroundings. Amazing food and hospitality. Bedrooms small but plush. We definitely intend to return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnWalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed here one night as part of our Revolution Cycle Tour. Service was outstanding. Lovely rooms with lake view. Nice outdoor seating. No ensuite but dressing gowns and large well appointed bathrooms in the heritage part of the hotel Excellent dinner and breakfast. Hot tub with spectacular view. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

A truly stunning location with views down the Lake Wakatipu & up the Dart River. We stayed in the Weka room (ensuite double) - a great room, very luxurious for a hostel room. The toiletries & bathrobes were a lovely touch.

We ate in the restaurant every night as the food is so good. Given the lodge's location the food is good value too. John & Toni are great hosts who make you feel at home. We felt very welcome at the fireworks display which provided much amusement with the kids having so much fun. The hottub is a very welcome addition after a days activities.

This is near to paradise as you can get - we hope to return again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
30.4 km away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
31.5 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
30.5 km away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.7 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
33.6 km away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
36.2 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinloch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch Lodge

Property: Kinloch Lodge
Address: 862 Kinloch Rd, Glenorchy, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Glenorchy
Price range (per night): $89 - $162
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinloch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a spectacular setting on the lakefront opposite Glenorchy township between the Routeburn and Greenstone tracks, a stay at Kinloch Lodge is a highlight of any holiday. One of just three places in the Southern Lakes to become an authors pick in the Lonely Planet guidebook. Kinloch is a haven for walkers, fishermen and people who want to feel close to their natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Kinloch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinloch Hotel Glenorchy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing