We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
107
56
26
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
56
26
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingcomfortpropertyfacilitiestours
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2017

I had reserved 2 rooms at Hotel Villa Mexicana at Creel for ourselves and a couple of friends who were traveling in the area. We changed plans a few days before our scheduled arrival date. I called the hotel 2 days prior to our reservation to cancel. The person I spoke with on the phone said that she would cancel our reservation but a month later I noticed the room charge appeared on my credit card statement. I called the hotel and eventually spoke with the manager to see why they charged me. He asked if I had a cancellation number and I told him that I was not given one - it was just me calling the hotel to say we weren't coming. He said that because of that, they would charge me for those 2 rooms. I tried to dispute the charge with my credit card company but since I could not provide any kind of tangible proof of my cancellation (other than a detailed listing of my phone calls which showed a call to their hotel on that day), I would be required to pay it.

Apparently the burden of proof is on the customer to document any kind of cancellation. I wonder if they require a confirmation number in order to get a room. They didn't give me one of those either when I called to reserve the room. I guess the best way to book a room here is through some kind of third party on-line service so at least you have documentation that you can refer to.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank natorren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managervm, Manager at Hotel Villa Mexicana at Creel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017
Google Translation

Apreciable Señor:
Quiro darle seguimiento a su comentario a cerca de que nosotros le cobramos dos cabañas en el mes de septiembre 2016.
Creo que es un review que nos "sembraron" o hay una confusion en las fechas que nos marca, porque en ese mes de Septiembre no encontre ningun cargo por "no Show" que hayamos hecho.
Por favor sea mas explicito y darnos mas detalles.
Gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I selected this place based on reviews and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was rustic and very comfortable. We opted for the smaller cabin (#123) since the was a large school group on the other side of the property. (It was a recommendation by the person checking us in that I'm truly grateful for!) We received a nice cabin and great service for a very reasonable price. The only detractors I have are internet connection only possible in main building and some of the cabins and grounds of the property could use a few "touch ups".

It should be mentioned they have tours that are very reasonable, but works best if you have four people. The van driver found us an even better (i.e. cheaper) option and we loved it! Once again, the staff took great care of us.

Overall, I would recommend and revisit this place without hesitation.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gadget665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

This hotel seems to be a work in progress as the owner develops the property. I was with a tour group. A few of our group stayed in log cabins but I was in the main hotel. My room and all the rooms I saw were roomy and very comfortable. (I did not see the cabins.) Each seemed a little different but all really, really nice. The owner and hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is a very short walk to stores and restaurants. We ate at the hotel and it was great. I highly recommend this hotel when visiting Copper Canyon.

Room Tip: Each room seems to offer something a little different so traveler should talk to staff about needs when booking.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JillWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Just a great stay!!! I was ther not to long ago and the place is verry comfortable.. Ther have wifi so we're able to whatch movies !! Definitely I will go back with my friends... We need more places like these !!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
4  Thank KarenBono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

is on of the few hotels located at the small town of Creel in Sierra Tarahumara. This hotel has a large restaurant with fireplace and decorated Mexican Hacienda style. There is a bar and a grocery store as well. Log cabins accommodate travelers.

The log cabins are large and comfortable (we where 2) They have a front porch, two queen beds, TV, Air conditioner, gas heater, closet and a decent size bathroom with heated shower.

There is a large area for RV parking. And some of the electrical power is supplied by solar power. Wi-Fi password is give to you when you check in and the Internet signal is good and fast.

Rooms are quiet. Beds are comfortable and have plenty of pillows. Staff is friendly. My only complain was the TV with very few channels (about 5) and the food at the restaurant that is less than average, however take into consideration that I tried all three “fine” restaurants in town and was not impressed at all with neither of them.

Probably my best meal along the Copper Canyon was at Barrancas, when Chepe stops for 15 minutes and you hurry to have 2 or three “gorditas” from local Tarahumara vendors.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodrigo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews