We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
60
31
5
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
31
5
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews copper canyon yogi bear treated like family wood burning stove local flora exploring the area nature lovers train stop family style hugo diego community rhodes school lodge tarahumara hike
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Very nice and friendly staff, if you want to enjoy nature this is a great option because you can hike all around the hotel and enjoy the landscape, the view from the top of the Bear hill is amazing and also you can walk by the creek. This is not a fancy place. Dinner is great and the staff is always trying to please you and help with anything you may need.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Have stayed with Doug, Ana, Hugo and all the rest numerous times during my 18 years in the Copper Canyon. I can safely say that the Oso is by far the best choice in Cerocahui.

Not only is the Oso NOT a chain hotel owned by an absentee, it is the opposite of that! It is locally owned, operated and staffed, and that local flavor is reflected by the hotel's commitment to customer service. We have always appreciated the personal service provided by the Oso, and the fact that us and our clients are always treated like family.

On top of all that, the Oso is extensively involved in the community, helping orphans getting an education, and supporting schools which help underserved Raramuri kids.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deloso, Owner at Hotel Paraiso del Oso, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thanks for your comments, Les, the blessings, good karma or whatever we receive from giving back to our remote mountain community make things worthwhile. That plus the friendships formed, not only with people like yourselves but with our many individual clients. It is a great way of life!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

If you want modern conveniences like cell phone coverage etc., don't go to Cerocahui. If you want to be with nature, entertained and aided by the owner and his family and fed good food, come here. Rooms are simple and clean. The heating is a wood burning stove - which we ignored our first night (stupid!) - which works great. Internet is a hit or miss affair which is standard for Copper Canyon. Really nice bar area with roaring fire. Food is family style and better than the chain that has all the big hotels in the canyon area. Breakfast was particularly good. Some great hikes around the area and Diego (Doug) Rhodes and his family will advise you well on which to take. They also arrange other excursions like the local Taruhumara school and the Mision. Diego seems to know everyone in a 50-100 mile radius and this knowledge was really useful/essential to independent travelers like ourselves.

Room Tip: Wifi is variable. Do use the wood stove, it's easy and it's cold in December if you don't!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChrisCheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deloso, Owner at Hotel Paraiso del Oso, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thanks for the great review, our staff works hard to give you the best possible Copper Canyon experience along with great international and regional meals along with free coffee any time and a wlecome Margarita accompanied by popcorn in that bar you liked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Host was Diego Rhodes. He has been a host on several occasions for railfans from the US as they rode the Chihuahua Pacific "Copper Canyon Train" . Check room
8 . Several beds in this room including recognition of the GG1 as Diego is from
Altoona . He has been to Horseshoe Curve. Altho the music in the lodge is Mexican,
he dug out some Don Williams and Marty Robbins CD's to play while we ate dinner.
His staff is fantastic. Diego supports a local charity that runs a girls boarding school.
His staff was prompt picking up us at the depot and returning us for our departure.

Room Tip: Room 8 for a group of railfans of the same sex or a family with children .
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nannyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

We stayed here as part of a group of 22. Diego (Doug), the American innkeeper, picked us up in vans from the train stop in Bahuichivo. The hotel is rustically decorated with a tile floor. The dining area has 5 tables each of which seats 8. The separate bar area has 6 tables seating 4 each. There is plenty of seating for lounging in the lobby and outdoors in the courtyard where the rooms are located. The kitchen is expertly staffed by the local Tarahumara people, who in this area near Ceracahuil speak mostly Spanish.
The rooms are very nice, each with a wood stove, box of wood, and some matches. Most appreciated were the thick, fluffy towels, washcloths, and bathmat, the very hot water, and new, substantial rubber shower mat. Also appreciated was the good toilet and being able to flush the paper. Everything was immaculately clean. The mattresses are very hard, but the two blankets we found on a shelf placed underneath the sheet made it softer.
Stay here for a relaxing time exploring the area and reading books in the library or talking to Diego about the local flora, fauna, people, and history. He also offers van trips into the canyon to visit Urique.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javelina_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews