We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Web Oficial
US$125
View deal
Priceline
US$118
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
Booking.comUS$134
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$137
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
41
117
60
22
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
117
60
22
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2019

The building is nice from the outside, the inside is partly renovated and partly still a bit bland. `Our overall experience was of a hotel that is struggling, not very welcoming. A depressing large dining room and very mediocre food.
The room was good, beds were good, bathroom good and clean. Our promised balcony was very narrow, you could put feet on it that was all. But the worst thing was that if we could have understood Portuguese, we could have understand every word of the telephone conversation in the next room. Breakfast was mediocre, coffee very bad. Wifi not very good.
Parking is very limited in front of the hotel and not free except saturday afternoon and sunday. But you can unload your luggage easily in front of the hotel and park at walking distance at a parking outside the walled town.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank BobecAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 May 2019

It is a very cozzy and centrally located hotel, a real gem in Ciudad Rodrigo. The staff was really nice, they have a great little bar in the lobby area, and a delicious restaurant with locally grown orhganic products on their menu.

Room tip: facing the plaza
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarissaP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2018

A very nice upscale hotel in a quiet area, just a few steps away from the Cathedral.

It is a 400 year old building, so there are some compromises: rooms are smaller than average (but very elegantly furnished), some sounds can be heard from adjoining rooms.

But, all in all, it is excellent. Staff don't speak English well, but they try their best and are very courteous and helpful. There is a very nice restaurant for dinner (good fixed price menu at €13.50) and a nice open air patio out front to sit at and have a coffee.

Breakfast is unremarkable, but at €4.50 per person, one can't complain about that.

I would happily return.

Room tip: All rooms are different - have a look first, ask if you want a different room.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

The Hotel being situated within a castle was, as expected not modern and upmarket, but our low rating is due to the most appalling waiting staff EVER experienced by us. If English is your only language, we suggest you give the Restaurant a wide berth. Both contemptuous waitresses could not possibly be less helpful if they wanted to. Currently on a road trip, we have until now, encountered wonderful waiting staff who have managed the language barrier in a delightful manner.
(You need to wonder why a Hotel catering for International travellers would not have multi-language menus?)

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BenWNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Location could not be better, in a lovely square of old honey coloured stone buildings with trees (yes there is traffic but not much and people drive slowly around Ciudad Rodrigo), it's a 2 minute walk to the Cathedral.
The building is old, it's seen better days inside and could do with a facelift but it is cheap and friendly. The staff do not speak English (they were patient with my broken Spanish though).
Our room was an average size, it had a reasonable bathroom and a balcony looking onto the lovely square. My only criticism of the room is that the walls are very thin - they need to invest in some serious soundproofing. We could here everything next door - thankfully this was limited to sneezing, coughing, plugging things in and talking - but it made us quite uncomfortable and disturbed our sleep.
We tried the restaurant and it was quite good, we had breakfast that was incredibly cheap and ok for the price.
We parked our car in the public car park just outside the walls which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel (there is also a supermarket car park where parking is free). If you struggle to park early in the day don't worry lots of people go to Ciudad Rodrigo for the day and you will get parked ok later in the day.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews