We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Silvestre(La Romana)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Real Resort(Juan Dolio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Frano(La Romana)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,586)
Filter reviews
4,586 results
Traveller rating
1,648
1,543
795
327
273
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,648
1,543
795
327
273
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla romanapool barbad reviewsseafooda la carte restaurantssanto domingoanimation teamgrand bahiacatalina islandbuffet restaurantan excursionrecommend this resortnight showsmichael jackson showbeefwater aerobicsgreat resort
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 4,586 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018

I travelled the week of April 14-21 with friends and family. We stayed on the family side. The rooms were very nice and clean and we never had any issues getting water or drinks or snacks refilled in our room. The food at each of the a la carte, was quite good, of course depending on your taste but I would say the Los Caroles Beach Grill in the Luxury side was the best. Buffet breakfast in the morning was great there were always options of something to eat , I did not stand in line long for anything . Service at all of our locations throughout the resort was amazing. The grounds were beautiful and well kept , the beach was clean and very big , plenty of space to sit. The water at the beach was not the greatest and a little rocky but we knew this going in and spent much of our time in the pool. This is my 2nd time visiting a Grand Bahia , the first being in Jamaica and I have not been disappointed yet. The entertainment staff were very animated and really tried to get people involved and there were really sweet people., but the Michael Jackson show on the Friday night was truly worth seeing. We did take an excursion to the Soana Island through our Air Transat representative and I have to say it was an odd experience, the tour guide was drinking on the boat , taking shots of mamajuana and rum and coke , this I found very bizarre as all I could think to myself was " isn't he the one that is supposed to take care of us?" Anyhow the day turned out great but don't believe them when they tell you that you will be back by 5pm we were back at 6:30 pm .It was a long ride there as they make a stop at a little shop to get you to buy trinkets (having been through this before , I did not get off the bus) and then to the boat , the boat was another hour and a half and then we finally arrived at the island where they served a buffet lunch and open bar, the water there was crystal clear and beautiful it was a nice change to the water at the resort. All in all it was a great vacation .

Stayed: April 2018
3  Thank melsam35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Melsan,

On behalf of our General Manager and all Team Members at our hotel by Bahia Principe, we thank you for your valuable comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.romana@bahia-principe.com

Our Best Regards,

Santa Guzmán
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Bahia number 4:)
Overall everything at this resort is GREAT! We traveled as a group of 5. The resort is clean and very well maintained. We stayed at Bahia San Juan 2015, 2016 and 2017 (loved it) and decided to try this one because of the location and very affordable
price. There was not as much selection of food as the San Juan resort but it is smaller so that was to be expected. We never went hungry:) The drinks were great and service was fast and friendly. Our rooms were close to everything. A few feet from the beach. Overall we would definitely recommend this resort to all our family and friends. We will likely be back:). Love the Bahia resorts:)
The only problem we had was the service at the breakfast buffet. There was usually only one wait staff pouring coffee and we were overlooked almost everyday of the 7 days. We soon realized we could just get our own coffee from the serving table. Needless to say that no tips were given in the mornings.
We stayed Royal Golden, well worth it.
We never caught any of the shows, to tired after all the drinks and food.. I see some reviews stated undercooked food. We never found that at all.
Definitely try the Brazilian a la carte:):). The Italian was almost as good:):).
We are not pool people so never tried it. We stayed on the beach all day. The water was a bit murky but we knew that when we booked this resort.
Lastly we certainly recommend doing the Saona Island excursion. Had a blast the whole day!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Peggy,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel.

Your honest opinion is very important because it allows us to meet the demands of our guests. On behalf of the entire team at our resort again we appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again on your next visit to La Romana.

Do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.romana@bahia-principe.com.

Kindest Regards,

Santa Guzmán
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

The service and people at La Romana Bahia Principe hotel were amazing and very curious. The best worker there was by far Tony Francisco the bellboy. He was super friendly and always ready to give local advice on where to go and what to see and if we needed anything during our whole stay

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Katie,

We sincerely appreciate your remarks in regards with your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for taking the time out to communicate your experiences to our reviewers in Tripadvisor, and for letting us know we were able to fulfill all of your expectations.
Looking forward to host you again in our little paradise.

Do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.romana@bahia-principe.com

Kindest Regards,

Santa Guzmán
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

We stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe La Romana from April 6-20th and we had a great time. Check in with Elizabeth was quick and easy and, as we booked the Royal Golden package, we were also able to make our a la carte dinner reservations with her as well. We tried the Italian, Gourmet (french), Japanese and Brazilian and they were all good, but wait times to order and get drink refills could be long at times. The rooms were clean with ample space and our mini bar was always replenished with cold beer. The patio doors didn't close tightly and we could hear noise from around the pool area. The beach was cleaned daily as well as the pool area and pool loungers. We really have to mention the beautifully landscaped grounds as they are quite incredible.

There were several activities each day, however, they did not seem to follow the posted schedule and the staff was not consistent in announcing that activities were starting so if you were at the beach, you didn't always know if something was starting. The evening shows, with the exception of the Michael Jackson and Cirque shows which were quite good, were average to above average.

The one issue which was bothersome was halfway through our trip, the resort ran out of English Breakfast tea and all that was available was Camomile or Mint tea which is not my preferred drink at breakfast. We had to search all over for tea each morning until we finally were told they had run out. No one offered us a generic black tea until we spoke to Elizabeth who had some other black tea delivered to our room. I have to wonder if the resort would be so cavalier with its guests if it ran out of coffee.

The only disappointment was with the ocean. We weren't aware that the Soco River flowed into the bay which turned the water a darker blue/brownish color and not the beautiful turquoise we were expecting. But, because the resort is in a bay, the water is very calm.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luvtotravel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Guest,

We would like to acknowledge that we have received your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your holidays at our Resort.

By the other hand, regarding to your comments about the beach please note, that our beach has been awarded on December 2017, getting approved for the sixth time the audit of the International Blue Flag certification 2017-2018, this certification reaffirms the commitment of the operator responsible environmental management of the coastal and marine zone, and encourages us to continue implementation good environmental practices and promote environmental education for beach users.

In the name of our General Manager and staff, we would like to thank you for vacationing with us, we hope to see you very soon in our property.

Do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.romana@bahia-principe.com

Kindest Regards,

Santa Guzmán
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

I have been to many Baha principle resorts, expected the same in la Romana.
The resort is in a bay not the open ocean, water is discusting, im a pool guy so I was ok with that.
I had no hot water in my room the entire stay.
Not one single English tv channel,which normally no big deal right,...I got up sick Monday morning,and never left my room till noon on Friday.
As it turns out, I almost died,..my kidneys shut down from some bacteria, most likely from the undercooked food served at Baha principle la Romana.
Don't bother with the privlidge club, they have nothing to offer.

Now after all that negotive...
Grounds immaculate
Housekeeping excellent
Beach very clean
Sorry no pictures was too sick.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank pnesmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Guest,

We would like to acknowledge that we have received your note published on Tripadvisor and we deeply regret the situation you brought to our attention. The management and staff would like to extend our sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences.

We sincerely hope that this issue does not tarnish your perception of us and we will be more than happy if you give us the opportunity to host you in our resort in the near future.

Do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.romana@bahia-principe.com

Kindest Regards,

Santa Guzmán
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews