We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fairytale come true!”
Review of Chateau de Harze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Harze
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Chateau de Harze is one of my top three favorite hotels I’ve ever stayed at. Whomever conceived of the design process for converting this historic castle into a hotel was brilliant. The grounds and interior ooze charm and history, yet modern conveniences are masterfully incorporated for guests’ comfort.

My only regret regarding this hotel is that we were only there for one night. Along with my husband and young daughter, we stayed in a castle superior double room. The website was somewhat unclear as to whether three people would be permitted in one of these rooms, but we wanted to stay in the castle (rather than a triple room in the “adjoining building”) badly enough that we planned to book two rooms in the castle if required. However, as we went through the online reservation system, I found that there was an option to pay extra to add a cot, and I spoke with the front desk in advance to confirm this was acceptable.

Upon arrival, we didn’t even want to venture inside – the castle grounds called out for exploration! The main entry featured classic stone and arches of which I’m still fondly dreaming, and ancient wood was visible above in the high ceilings. Definitely set aside some time in your itinerary to wander the castle grounds. We even used the picturesque setting to try to get a photo for holiday cards.

At check in, we were greeted by a friendly, English-speaking staff member who kindly provided local restaurant suggestions and also let us know that she could serve us drinks from the bar until 10 pm. We encountered a handful of other guests during our stay, but the property was either at very low occupancy or is just naturally a quiet place.

Our room was jaw-droppingly beautiful. The ceilings were probably ~12-15 feet tall, and the huge windows opened out onto a picturesque courtyard and surreal views of the rest of the castle. (One thing that was a little odd was that the headboards visible in the property’s online photos are merely faux images created with wallpaper…not something that actually matters, but it seemed out of place.) The bed was incredibly comfortable, and there was a desk and plenty of storage and seating space. The bathroom was gleaming, and the shower featured amazing water pressure and plentiful hot water.

The included breakfast, served in the charming, cave-like restaurant, was delicious. It featured a variety of warm foods (e.g., scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and something vaguely pancake-like) as well as plenty of pastries, yogurt, and fruit. Unfortunately, the onsite Musee de la Meunerie-Boulangerie wasn’t officially open while we were there…but we saw a tour group enter, so you may be able to make arrangements in advance if it’s important to you.

Overall, we can’t wait to find an excuse to return!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EricaLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natacha R, Réception at Chateau de Harze, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Many many thanks for your great comment
We were really happy to read you and to make your fairytale coming true.
We will take note of your remarks.
We really hope to welcome again in our castle.
Amélie, Nathalie, Jean-Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

I was really impressed with exterior: beautiful Chateau and surroundings. I was, however, very disappointed with the rooms; I noticed that a reviewer mentioned that it was air conditioned: not at all! Stifling heat with flies everywhere! Poorly decorated with outdated , uncomfortable bathrooms!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank creees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natacha R, Reception at Chateau de Harze, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for your comment!
We are sorry you did not like the room.
We do not have air confitioned in the rooms but we do have fan at the reception.
Next time do not hesitate to ask at the reception.
Regards,
Jean-Paul, Nathalie, Amélie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

The reception was very warm and friendly. The beds were fantastic. The room spotless and spacious. The bathroom a bit outdated, but very clean. The chateau lacked some facilities, which would have a bonus, like a bar, or something like that. Because this part of Belgium is great for walking (in the Ardennes), it would have been nice to take a shower and enjoy a glass of Belgian beer afterwards. But that wasn't possible. So you were more or less confined to your room.

Room Tip: The rooms in the chateau itself are recommended, as far as I know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hans G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natacha R, Nathalie at Chateau de Harze, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

We Would like to thank you for your comment and for the confidence you showed us.

Next time do not hesitate to ask at the reception if possible to have a drink in the castle.

You have now in the room a menu with food/drinks you can order at the reception!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to Château de Harzé.

L'équipe château de Harzé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Hotel external is great however the rooms are not that nice.

Poor lighting in the room and endless disturbance from the radiators and high ceiling really makes it uncomfortable stay.

Breakfast was okay not that great as half of the hot breakfast was uncooked and limited choice.

Highly not recommended !

1  Thank sushant g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

A beautiful old Castle. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had 3 rooms, all the rooms were different and nicely decorated and great beds!. Breakfast was in a special place and it was delicious. only they played Christmas songs and we stayed in April. Great surroundings. There are caves nearby and the old and smallest town Durbuy. And you can visit Spa. And the waterfalls of COO.
Here we like to come back again.

Room Tip: indoor Castle are better rooms than outside castle rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank myriamb692016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natacha R, Nathalie at Chateau de Harze, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

We would like to thank you for the confidence you showed us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to Château de Harzé.

L'équipe château de Harzé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harze
21.2 km away
Hotel Verviers Van der Valk
23.7 km away
Les Comtes de Mean
Les Comtes de Mean
#3 of 19 in Liege
1,028 reviews
36.4 km away
Chateau d'Hassonville
Chateau d'Hassonville
#2 of 2 in Marche-en-Famenne
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 km away
Domaine des Hautes Fagnes
12 km away
Manoir de Lebioles
32.9 km away
Hotel Quartier Latin
Hotel Quartier Latin
#1 of 2 in Marche-en-Famenne
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Harze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Harze

Address: Rue de Bastogne, Harze, Aywaille 4920, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Aywaille > Harze
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Harze
Price Range: $121 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau de Harze 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château de Harzé (Aywaille) - Located in the "Ardenne," this castle (17th century) is settled down in a marvelous area surrounded by nature. Families, couples as staff members will find there a peaceful break with a lot of activities : walking, e-bike, bakery museum, mountain bike, kayak, visit of the castle of Logne, Monde Sauvage (zoo), caves of Remouchamps, near Aywaille, Spa-Francorchamps and Durbuy. The warmness and the simplicity of the welcome will charm you. Free parking place available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de Harze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing