We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,365)
Filter reviews
2,365 results
Traveller rating
642
909
480
175
159
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
642
909
480
175
159
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salt water water park free bus hotel pool evening entertainment animation team great holiday kids club punta prima beach toasties splash world shower cubicle salad all inclusive drinks family holiday meal times bar staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 2,365 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2022 via mobile

I hate giving bad reviews but I couldn't lie about this place. I travel often and out of all the holidays I've been on I'm thankful it was only 4 days and not 10 days.
We arrived in the evening to what can only be described as a budget butlins holiday.

We checked in and immediately were told to pay some sort of tax? Then given the key to our room on the 3rd floor. Needless to say with a tired 10 yr old in tow we needed some sleep but did we get it? Absolutely not.

The room was tiny, basic and the beds bloody awful. The kids sofa bed was right next to us also. You couldn't swing a cat around that's for sure. The balcony looked out onto the carpark. Nice touch (NOT).
To top it off some northern drunk was having a domestic in the hallway which kept us up until the early hours of the morning. Enough was enough I obviously complained.

The next morning we were upgraded to a premium suite. It was alot better and thankfully she had her own room! So thanks for the reception lady for that. The cleaners also were great!

The restaurant is okay. Nothing special repetitive as most all inclusives are (big thanks to the chef who sourced gluten free snacks for my partner) but Jesus wept the flies and wasps here are something else. Did no one think to put some deterrents down? Constantly batting flies away from our food and drinks 24/7 gets bloody tedious. The drinks are for sure watered down I didn't get tipsy once until I drank sangria or beer. Asked for tequila but told no. So asked for a tequila sunrise without the sunrise and still no!

The pool is small. It doesn't look like the brochures at all. You have to pay deposit for towels. The entertainment is bog standard. The saving grace of this place is the water park because without it I would have got on the plane and gone home. Even my kid got bored on the 3rd day when we had two days of bad weather.
The water park provides drinks but you have to pay for food.
A holiday is what you make it and we made sure to explore outside of the hotel too had we not we wouldn't have made it to day 4.
We weren't given any check out information and went out in the morning for some wild swimming we came back to an aggressive angry reception lady demanding we get out or pay €40. Not great service.
I wouldn't come here to this hotel again. I wouldn't recommend it and I can't even say it was that cheap for the 4 days we were here.

You can definitely find better places on the island so wouldn't waste your money here.

Room tip: If the weathers bad there's nothing to do. Get out and explore the island.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Quest47228425891
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Experience Grupo Galdana, Other at Hotel Sur Menorca, Suites & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2022

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel.
We are very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations and that you were not able to enjoy a fantastic and well deserved holiday.
We are surprised that travelling as much as you say you did you never had to pay the tourist tax. It is not an exclusive hotel or destination tax, there are many cities and destinations all over the world that have this type of tax which the hotels are responsible for collecting.
In any case, at the time of booking you are always informed of all taxes and fees that are included or not.
We regret that the room you booked did not suit your needs, perhaps one of our 2 bedroom suites, located in the garden area, would have been more suitable if you had booked it from the beginning, although the price is higher. We are very pleased that the free upgrade you were offered was to your liking.
We are very sorry to hear that the behaviour of one of our guests has disturbed your holiday.
We take good note of all your comments so that we can continue to improve.

Guest Experience
Grupo Galdana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2022 via mobile

The Hotel was very clean and staff were friendly. A few issues though the showers in the rooms were very small, both myself and my hubby struggled and it's impossible to turn with turning off the tap and especially if your a larger built person. Also those with small children/babies had no option of a bath.
We were all-inclusive,food was ok . A bit monotonous and not always hot enough. They had a big issue with wasps! There were always many of them flying around the bar/drinks outlet and pool area during the day & a few people including staff were stung. They need to sort this out!!
Rooms were a good size for 2 people and cleaned every day. We met a family with 2 children and they struggled with storage and space. They also said that the evening mealtimes were too late for small children as it started at 7pm, also the entertainment didn't start until 9pm which again they thought I was too late.
The pool was great and a small part sectioned off for small children. We discovered that they do have upgraded rooms & chalets they call Premium Suites but you have to book these rooms direct with the hotel but they cannot be booked as a package holiday. You can hire towels for a refundable deposit of €10 each.
All in all it was a good holiday, very quiet area and not much around there. You'll need to go into Mahon on a local bus to do any shopping and you can get a trip around the harbour on the Glass Bottom Boat which takes about an hour for €15 per adult.
There is also a lovely little restaurant called The Bolera about 5 min walk which had really nice food if you want a change. Last of all free entry to Splash water park across the road if your on an all inclusive basis which was a lot of fun.

Room tip: Beware of the wasps and flies!
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank debrahV555WO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Experience Grupo Galdana, Other at Hotel Sur Menorca, Suites & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

Thank you very much for valuing and sharing your experience in our hotel and especially for your comment about our great staff.
We take good note of all your comments so that we can continue to improve our facilities and services and better adapt them to the tastes and preferences of our customers.
Our Premium Suites are available in all markets and tour operators, unfortunately we cannot explain why you were not offered them at the time of booking.
We look forward to welcoming you on future occasions.

Guest Experience
Grupo Galdana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2022 via mobile

A mixed bag
The location is quiet but ok
The rooms are kept clean and are adequate
The main issue are the long queues for the evening meal
And the gobby women on the bar, she is both awkward and looking for trouble in my opinion she is not suitable to be working in a customer facing role
Such a shame how one person can change you view

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mcc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Experience Grupo Galdana, Other at Hotel Sur Menorca, Suites & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2022

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities but that due to an isolated incident with a member of our team, you were unable to fully enjoy your stay with us.
As this is an event that is completely out of line with our standards in terms of customer service, we will immediately start an investigation to clarify what happened and to prevent it from happening again.
As you were still in the hotel, our assistant manager contacted you and after reviewing the security cameras and speaking to the bar department we were able to identify the waitress you mentioned.
Finally it is a pity that you are not happy that for health and safety reasons the snack service area is restricted to a specific area. Our waitress, acting correctly, politely warned you about this regulation.
In any case, we apologise if you felt that the manners were not in line with your own way of seeing the situation.
It would have been appreciated if you had given us the opportunity to do this whole process right at the time of the incident. We would have resolved it in a much more satisfactory way.
The most important thing for us is that you can enjoy a fantastic holiday at our hotel.

Guest Experience
Grupo Galdana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2022 via mobile

Entertainment staff (Paulo, Francesco & Matej) were amazing! All very funny and always made the effort to learn everyone’s names and striking conversation in passing. The cleanliness of the hotel was excellent, clean towels and made bed daily, each morning the staff would clean the place top to bottom, floors and glass doors were always sparking! A really Wide selection of food that changed with each meal, there is something there for everyone, pizza, chips, plain pasta, fresh meats, cheeses, stews, salads, fruits, fresh bread, nice desserts, there is no way anyone can go hungry here (unless you’re a fussy 4 year old who only eats chicken nuggets for every meal) there is entertainment on every night, always something for everyone to get people involved. Activities and fun games through the day for kids and adults. Splash park right out front of the hotel, but being close to the sea, the water is salty. Loads to do around the hotel, local towns, plenty of places to walk to, near by coves and cliffs you can jump into the clear blue sea. A train that for €7 will take you around the island that you can jump off and different stops. €1.80 for n adult on the bus to Mahon, plenty of shops, and head down to the harbour as you can book a glass bottom boat out to the sea for €15 pp. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone especially families as there’s something here for all ages!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tiegan_Anastacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Experience Grupo Galdana, Other at Hotel Sur Menorca, Suites & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

Thank you so much for all your comments and especially for mentioning our entertainment and housekeeping team who work so hard to ensure our guests have a fantastic holiday.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Guest Experience
Grupo Galdana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2022 via mobile

We arrived in Menorca and took a short bus ride to our hotel, first impressions ok. We got our all inclusive bands and headed to our room, I was a little shocked to say the least, there were 2 single beds pushed together and a very uncomfortable sofa bed. There was (still is) a big build up of much on the bathroom door and the rest of the room was average cleanliness at best. We booked a travel cot, but didn’t have one, we asked FOUR times for a cot and we’re eventually given one at 9.30 but this Wes very reluctant after being told “youve asked many times before, and haven’t booked one” turns out, one of our children were completely missed off the booking! The rep kindly sorted this for us, but we now had four people in a room barely big enough for two.
Anyway, I tried not to let that spoil the kids’ first holiday, and it didn’t.

Food - ok, repetitive but usually something there, very little choice for our baby who has a dairy allergy but I brought food just incase. The evening meal time is 7.30 which in my opinion for a family hotel is far too late, but we managed to keep them awake, they were kudu very tired and winged along with most of the other young children eating at that time. Also snack during the day, were pizza and chips, so more of a full
meal than a snack.

Entertainment- our children were too young for kids club so I can’t comment and the evening entertainment started at TEN which again for a family hotel is absolutely ridiculous. We made the kids disco a couple of nights, but that starts at 8.30! Currently lying in bed with Abba blasting in the background hoping it doesn’t wake the kids.

Although a lot of the post seems negative, for a reasonable priced holiday, we have had fun, the pool was fine and we made some great friends. We won’t be coming back, but I can definitely say it was cheep and cheerful!

OH there are only showers in the rooms and they are TINY! If you are planning on staying here with children buy a little boat from the water park and use it as a bath in the shower!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank durham778
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Experience Grupo Galdana, Other at Hotel Sur Menorca, Suites & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

Thank you for your comments and feedback about your stay at our hotel.
We regret that we did not fully live up to your expectations in the areas you mention and hope to correct them immediately as they do not match the level of quality we offer.
In relation to the error with your reservation you should bear in mind that we assign the rooms according to the data that the intermediary agency sends us, for this reason you were assigned your room, prepared for the occupancy that we received. We are sorry that the mistake made by the agency you used was to our disadvantage, even though we finally solved it.
In relation to the timetables, taking into account that in Spain we have other times (20.30 is the usual time) we try to adapt to all tastes and preferences and therefore, 19.30, we believe that it is a good proposal if we take into account the time difference with UK which is one hour, which is equivalent to say that it is 18.30.

Guest Experience
Grupo Galdana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews