We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Euro Cup Stay”
Review of Actuel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Actuel Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2016

The hotel was nice, and the service was very good. My only complaint is that we booked a non-refundable rate early on in order to be sure that we would have a room for the Euros, only to find that there were cheaper last minute rates available. I know that events like this are great for the local economy, but I do feel like we were gouged (close to 200 quid / night). This is particularly annoying as we stayed a few days past our match, and the hotel looked quite empty during that in between time. If we had stayed here at something closer to their usual rates, then I would say this was a great place. Good bedding, and good shower. The only English TV channels seem to be news.

There is not very much close by, and a car is definitely required. That said, there are some brilliant restaurants a short drive away, a HUGE super store (great for homesick Americans who want a Walmart experience) and an amazing bakery in walking distance. In fact, I definitely recommend the bakery as a better value than the hotel breakfast (it was nice, but I felt it was a bit overpriced).

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MsMessyHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2016

If you're heading to the airport or have a car, this is a decent place to stay. Cheap, nice and decent internet, plus the staff were great and breakfast was not bad. Difficult to get around here via public transport - an issue that impacts most of St Etienne, to be fair - but would return

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank sportingfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Gérant at Actuel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2016

Good Morning,

Thank you for your opinion and your advices.

We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

First thing, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is well taken care of and clean. The breakfast area is international but they have added scrambled eggs and hot cakes along side the traditional items. The bar area has been up graded and is well stocked for a small hotel. Priced right, friendly and clean. Good to place to stay while in the area.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank Khammesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Once again, overnight stops going to and from the South of France. his is a lovely comfortable, clean hotel. Unfortunately, on the Saturday evening the choice of in-house food was, for some reason very limited (pizza!). But this forced us to go out and we sampled "The Red Pepper" restaurant just down the road. Very good.

Room Tip: All rooms seem equally good. no problems with noise etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMacsNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This place obviously followed to the letter the French Tourist Boards specifications for a 3 Star hotel. As a result it is completly functional but totally characterless. The building itself resembles a lego block that has been dumped in the middle of an industrial estate, next to a motorway, and my god they are building a sister monstrosity next door to it.
The room was like sleeping in a large cardboard box. Completly devoid of any delight factors. The cell like en suite looked like it had been parachuted in.
The location is awful with only a veiw of the motorway and a couple of chain eateries a drive down the road.
On a positive note the bed was very comfy and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. The staff also were helpful and freindly.
if you are dull and boring you will love this place. OK for a nights crash but If you have even a spark of taste, this place is best avoided.

Room Tip: There arn't any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIDDLERBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Propriétaire at Actuel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank your for your stay at our hotel.

We would like to apologize for not having been up to your requirements. Your satisfaction is very important for us and we hope that you will leave us a second chance so that you had a better souvenir of your stay among us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andrezieux-Boutheon
0.7 km away
Best Western Saint-Etienne Aeroport
Best Western Saint-Etienne Aerop...
#3 of 4 in Andrezieux-Boutheon
158 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel La Charpiniere
Hotel La Charpiniere
#1 of 1 in Saint-Galmier
219 reviews
0.2 km away
Premiere Classe Saint Etienne - Boutheon Aeroport
Premiere Classe Saint Etienne - ...
#2 of 4 in Andrezieux-Boutheon
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Hotel Les Etoiles du Forez
Hotel Les Etoiles du Forez
#1 of 1 in Savigneux
64 reviews
10.9 km away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#17 of 25 in Saint-Etienne
189 reviews
9.5 km away
Campanile Saint Etienne Centre - Villars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actuel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actuel Hotel

Address: rue Edouard Garet | Saint-Etienne Bouthéon Aéroport ZA Les Communaux, 42160 Andrezieux-Boutheon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Loire > Andrezieux-Boutheon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Andrezieux-Boutheon
Price Range: $96 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Actuel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Actuel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing