We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$84
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premiere Classe Saint Etienne - Boutheon Aeroport(Andrezieux-Boutheon)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel La Charpiniere(Saint-Galmier)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$40
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
68
81
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
81
14
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2016

If you're heading to the airport or have a car, this is a decent place to stay. Cheap, nice and decent internet, plus the staff were great and breakfast was not bad. Difficult to get around here via public transport - an issue that impacts most of St Etienne, to be fair - but would return

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank sportingfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Gérant at Actuel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2016

Good Morning,

Thank you for your opinion and your advices.

We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

First thing, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is well taken care of and clean. The breakfast area is international but they have added scrambled eggs and hot cakes along side the traditional items. The bar area has been up graded and is well stocked for a small hotel. Priced right, friendly and clean. Good to place to stay while in the area.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank Khammesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Once again, overnight stops going to and from the South of France. his is a lovely comfortable, clean hotel. Unfortunately, on the Saturday evening the choice of in-house food was, for some reason very limited (pizza!). But this forced us to go out and we sampled "The Red Pepper" restaurant just down the road. Very good.

Room Tip: All rooms seem equally good. no problems with noise etc.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMacsNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This place obviously followed to the letter the French Tourist Boards specifications for a 3 Star hotel. As a result it is completly functional but totally characterless. The building itself resembles a lego block that has been dumped in the middle of an industrial estate, next to a motorway, and my god they are building a sister monstrosity next door to it.
The room was like sleeping in a large cardboard box. Completly devoid of any delight factors. The cell like en suite looked like it had been parachuted in.
The location is awful with only a veiw of the motorway and a couple of chain eateries a drive down the road.
On a positive note the bed was very comfy and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. The staff also were helpful and freindly.
if you are dull and boring you will love this place. OK for a nights crash but If you have even a spark of taste, this place is best avoided.

Room Tip: There arn't any
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIDDLERBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Propriétaire at Actuel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank your for your stay at our hotel.

We would like to apologize for not having been up to your requirements. Your satisfaction is very important for us and we hope that you will leave us a second chance so that you had a better souvenir of your stay among us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed on overnight stop en route for South of France. It was so good that we made sure we came back the same way for another overnight. Easy enough to find with the satnav just off the motorway but not particularily well signed. The airport is a good landmark, of course, even though it is small. Reception was very good and english speaking staff were sought out to help. nice little bar/lounge ares to relax if desired. Room was a lovely surprise. Bright, roomy and clean. Bathroom delightful, spotless and all was just as per web site photos. ther is not a restuarant attached they do offer a bistro/bar snack service for eating in the room. We didnt try it but it did smell inviting when met in the lift!
There is a very large Leclerc nearby for any last minute shopping. We found a lovely pizza restuarant in a nearby commercial block. It was superb service and food and reasonable priced -and popular! We stayed in mid April and mid June. had to use a "booking " website to get rooms on the way back in June, so do book as early as possible. A very comfrotable and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: didnt set any criteria, just took pot luck and was not disappointed on either occasion
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMacsNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews