We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the same wonderful stay after all these years...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat
Ranked #1 of 4 Jonquieres B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Our last vist to l'Esarrat was 10 years ago and was our top stay back then....this time was no different. This B&B has country charm, and wonderful hosts ( Andre and Charles)... in combination with very reasonable rates, will make this a go-to stop whenever we are anywhere near southern France. Our room overlooked the vineyards, and Mt. Ventoux. The gardens are relaxing and beautiful, and the pool is so refreshing.
Charles and Andre will do all they can to make your stay memorable. We can't wait to go back!

Tip: take the wine tour with Charles....it will be a trip highlight for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mastaflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Such a pleasure, Jude and Les, to read your review ! You came for the 1st time in 2002 i.e. 14 years ago ! And again, you have been pleased to stay at le Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat and to experience the wine tasting tour. Guests like you are our best recommendation ! Thank you very much and see you again by 2030 !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2016

My husband and I, along with another couple stayed at Mas Du Clos De L'Escarrat in May, 2016. Better than any hotel. Charles and Andree were terrific hosts. They suggested places to eat, to see and wine cellars to visit and made the reservations for us when needed. All recommendations were great! Andree is an amazing baker. Her croissants were among the very best I have every had; breakfast was wonderful. Charles has a vast knowledge of wine and history. They have four apartments attached to their home which is secluded in the middle of vineyards. The two apartments we saw/stayed in were very clean and nice; both with kitchens. Their property is very centrally located to the other villages in Rhone Valley plus Avignon and Aix-en-Provence are nearby. We only had three days there ,which was not enough, and know we will come back to the area in the near future and, for sure, we would stay with Charles and Andree again. And the Rhone Valley gets five stars, too!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Redconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

It has been a great pleasure, Connie, to read your review about le Mas du Clos de L'Escarrat. You have given to the readers most of your personal sincere feelings about your stay and I must say that if I were not the owner of the place, I'd like to stay at le Mas because of what you have written !
Our very sincere thanks and "merci" for your terrific review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We stay here for two night. My wife and I enjoyed every moment here. There is a big grape yard around this house, we have a breakfast with this beautiful view every morning. The wine tour which the host offer was really great. We have
no experience with wine tasting before. Charles gave us knowledge about wine tasting which is very helpful. In conclusion, we had a great time here, and hope to come back one day in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Dear Sebastian, thank you so much for your fabulous comment "Best B&B in France I had ever", knowing that you already have been travelling 8 times to France !
This is the best comment I have ever read !
Merci beaucoup and we hope to seeing you again soon at le Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Fantastic find in the middle of the Côte du Rhone region of Provence. The old farmhouse had such great charm with it's beautiful stone walls dating back centuries, adjacent to beautiful vineyards and a great view of the mountains. The hospitality of Charles and Andree was great, they both speak fluent English and have great recommendations for the region. We were not able to do the wine tour with Charles on this trip, but have given us a reason to return. The breakfast served on a outside table for 9€ per person was very good and worth the price, and included fresh croissants, fresh fruit and yogurt, along with coffee, tea and juice. The room was very comfortable, having stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment (Mistral) for 3 people. Also, I would be remiss if I didn't mention their lovely dog Auguste who kept us entertained during our stay. The only thing I would give a heads up on is finding the farmhouse from the main road. It is on a very narrow dirt road with a dogleg left under a small bridge, but well worth it once you arrive at Mas du close de l'Escarrat

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mistral apartment which was big enough for 3 people or a family of 4 maximum. It in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bddunn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Dear Brian, your very detailed review full of positive comments has warmed our hearts.
Our place is not so difficult to find : either you follow the instructions on our website, and/or you type "Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat" on Googlemaps, Waze, or Plans (apple) and they will direct you immediately to the right place ! Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

My two friends and myself had a wonderful 3-day stay at Charles and Andree's lovely place. It was inspiring to wake up everyday to the view of the serene and beautiful area Provence. It is located nearby Avignon and Orange, very easy to find if you have a GPS. A Carrefour is 15 minutes away, which is very convenient.

The room is unbelievable clean and cozy, with a well-equipped kitchen, a lovely living room and comfortable beds for three of us. After a long day visiting those popular cities nearby we felt so relaxed to be back.

Both Charles and Andree are extremely friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the time here, and I am sure you will love it too.

Thanks to Charles and thanks to Andree for the great time we had in Provence!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Shu-Siou J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

Dear Shu-Siou, we have been delighted to read your excellent review about le Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat.
We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us in Provence, underlining the fact that le Mas is located in the center of Provence.
Three out of our four rooms are comprising a kitchen(ette) which is very convenient after a long ride during the day.
We do hope that back to Taiwan you will inform your friends about your stay at le Mas !
Thank you very much !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat

Address: 321 route de Carpentras | Chemin de l'Escarrat, 84150 Jonquieres, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Jonquieres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jonquieres
Price Range: $132 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Jonquieres 6 miles from Orange antique theater, and 20 minutes only from Avignon in the heart of Popes's Provence and northern sunny Vaucluse, the Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat is a lovely old stone farm house, of typical Provencal style, which incorporates buildings dating back to the 17 th Century. This bed and breakfast has been carefully renovated to preserve its authentic, rustic character and charm, without compromising the need for modern comfort in all the accomodations. Breathtaking view over Ventoux Mount. Comfortable self-catering accommodations. Lots of tourism and visits in Provence. Beautiful landscapes and lavender fields in the Luberon area. These accommodations are located near Avignon, Chateauneuf du Pape. Tour the wine route with us and enjoy unforgettable wine tasting of Cotes du Rhone wines including the prestigious Chateauneuf du Pape. Charles and Andree purchased le Mas (meaning farm in Provencal vernacular) at the end of 1995. The old farm, dating from the XVIIth Century, was nearly a ruin, so they decided to completely renovate it, transforming it into a Bed and Breakfast with self-catering units. By mid-1996, the first two studios, "Ventoux" and "Montmirail", were ready for rental. A crystal clear swimming pool was installed in the winter of 1997, featuring a diatom powder natural filtration system with salt water electrolysis purification. Under the careful eye of Andree, the garden has become a tranquil place with additional flowers attracting birds and cicadas. As more and more guests asked for accommodations at le Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, two more rooms, "Ouveze" and "Mistral", were added in 1999. Andree, with her architecture and design background has kept updating the decor of the rooms with her exquisite taste. Recently, she has worked on the design for the exterior walls of le Mas. Charles began leading wine tasting tours in 2002 to special wineries, which has delighted many guests and has proven to be popular ! Titus (Lab) and Auguste (American cocker) will welcome you in their very friendly manner.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing