We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabanas Morerava
Nearby Hotels
Taura'a Hotel(Hanga Roa)
US$189
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marae Premium Cabins(Hanga Roa)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaimana Inn Hotel & Restaurant(Hanga Roa)(Great Value!)
US$185
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cabanas Christophe(Hanga Roa)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hostal Tojika(Hanga Roa)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Chez Steve Residencia Kyle Mio(Hanga Roa)(Great Value!)
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taha Tai Hotel(Hanga Roa)
US$109
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$320
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$620
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Puku Vai(Hanga Roa)
US$240
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
41
29
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
29
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthese cabinsliving roomdecent breakfastdaily housekeepingplenty of hot waterown mealscar rentalmain townstayed here for nightsyogurtenjoyed our stayrapa nuishort walkeach morningthe ownermarcellaeco
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2015

We has a great stay at Morerava. The setting was peaceful and relaxing, we loved watching the chickens. The Mountain bikes were in excellent condition and perfect for exploring the island. There was also a beach umbrella for our day at the beach. We were there for the (outstanding) Tapati festival, and most of the evening activities were a short walk to town. Our hostess was helpful, hardworking and beautiful. We had a perfect vacation on Rapa Nui.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdbird324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

I had a fantastic stay at Cabanas Morerava. Because it's only about 4 or 5 units, you get a decent enough feel of solitude and being in the countryside. The cabins are very unique and have a modern cottage feel to them. They are clean, well-maintained, look great and include a number of things for your stay like a hammock, lounge chairs, flatscreen TV, kitchenware etc. I was with my brother and got the same cabin as a family would (they're all identical...and cost the same regardless of number of people I believe) so we had a lot of space, each in our own bedroom with lots of closet and drawer space separated by sliding divider/doors.

The whole operation seems to be run by one lady and a couple of helpers so don't expect a well-oiled company-run hotel. She doesn't speak a ton of English and seems a bit overwhelmed at times but she was pleasant and helpful when needed. The included daily breakfast was prepared by her and was simple without much variety but it was good and eating in her adjacent house felt cozy and very B&B-like.

Be aware that the cabins are a little out of the way of town. You can definitely walk into downtown Hanga Roa but it's far enough that if you do and forget something back at the Cabanas, it would be a huge pain to have to walk back. Free mountain bikes are available at the Cabanas which are much more convenient options. Chickens roam the grounds and cock-a-doodle-doo a lot so bring earplugs. There's not much you can do about it. It's kind of fun if you think of it as an experience! Same with the very spotty wifi. Disconnect and hang out on the patio late at night and stargaze instead!

Be warned: used toilet paper can't be flushed. Kind of unpleasant...but I think that is how it works on the island as a whole...NOT just at Morerava.

Overall, the unique structures and spacious dwellings make Cabanas Morerava a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank quoeratdemonstrandum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2014

The cabanas are unique and ecologically friendly. It was a very restful and special experience in a beautiful isolated setting! We loved absolutely everything. Marcella's hospitality, the lovely (little) chickens and horses around the cabanas and the quiet, peacefull location. The island and the cabanas are at the "end of the world" but by far one of the most serene and cultured places that we visited. Altough the cabanas are not "close" to the village, it's only a 30-minute walk or 5-minute ride by car. This was the best choice we could have made while traveling to this beautiful island. I cannot receommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SanneBaan1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian_Cerda, Owner at Cabanas Morerava, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest. Iorana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The perfect place to stay on a magical island. Rent a car (or grab a free bike rental if you have the stamina) and travel easily around the island. Clean, well-equipped and comfortable cabins. Wifi is spotty but allow yourself to disconnect!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian_Cerda, Owner at Cabanas Morerava, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Chris, it was a pleasure to have you as guest in our cabanas.
Iorana !
Morerava Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our family of six were so comfortable in our cabin here at Cabanas Morerava! The beds were comfortable, the water was hot, the kitchen well-equipped and everything in working order. The ceilings were high on one side of the cabin, giving a sense of greater space; we never felt cramped inside the cabin, even during one day where it rained hard all day. The bed in the living room was easy to pull out and make each evening for our two daughters. There was housekeeping each day. Breakfast was welcoming and beautifully presented; tables were set for guests with fruit smoothies, sliced fruit (different each day), meats and cheeses, and hot bread of some sort (with jam and butter). One morning we also had eggs. It is true that the Morerava is outside of town, but it is within walking distance, or you can take some of the bikes that are well-maintained (they have gears). We stayed 5 nights so had 4 full days to explore. On two of the days we hired a private guide which included a car. On another day, we did a horseback ride to the highest point on the island (Marcella set this up for us). So we didn't really need a car when we were there. We would definitely recommend this place and would stay there again if we make it back to this incredible island!

Room Tip: I think they are all the same!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GretchenJ176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian_Cerda, Owner at Cabanas Morerava, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Gretchen, it was a pleasure to have you and your family as guest in our cabanas.
Iorana !
Morerava Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews