We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining out”
Review of Restaurant Kaloa

Restaurant Kaloa
Ranked #16 of 53 Restaurants in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 May 2017

The quality of the Kaloa restaurant food and staff were excellent. As all my meals were included at the Hotel I got to sample lots of their meals.

Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia_Hoteles, Digital Manager at Restaurant Kaloa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Iorana Catherine!

How good it is that you enjoyed the restaurant! What dishes did you try? From what we understand, you were more than satisfied by the food and the restaurant service, which makes us very happy.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2017

Please note that this restaurant is in a fine resort. We had to walk quite a ways to find it as we went in September, low season, and there weren't very many tourists or attendants about the property. Once we arrived, the Maitre'D was very pleasant. We were dressed a bit down that day but they were still very welcoming.

They served us with table bread and crackers, which were amazing. I had a couple of delicious cocktails and our food was gourmet and very delicious. If you must have an elegant dinner, this is the place to dine. The prices are on the high end but I believe it was definitely worth it.

After we left the restaurant and went back to our budget-friendly hotel, I looked up the prices of the upscale resort. The nightly rate was way out of our standard budget but if we're ever back in Rapa Nui, I will be sure to save up to experience it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia_Hoteles, Digital Manager at Restaurant Kaloa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Iorana Sylvia!

Thank you so much for your answer! It is great that you enjoyed our restaurant. What drink did you have? Our dishes are very delicious and many of our guests have told us how much they love them. We really hope to see you again!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Most of the time, food at hotels is ok. I wasn't expecting much from this hotel since it's an island but the food is incredible. They use fresh fish, fresh veggies, and they prepare healthy and fresh food and use amazing ingredients. We were totally taken back with the food here and pleasantly surprised. We kept saying, "I can't believe how good the food is here". The breakfasts are standard but lunch/dinner are a real treat. If you eat fish, definitely get the ceviche!

Thank schwartzydotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia_Hoteles, Digital Manager at Restaurant Kaloa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Iorana schwartzydotcom!

Thank you for your comment. It seems that you really enjoyed your time at our restaurant and that you really loved the ceviche. We constantly try to deliver quality service and meals so it makes us really proud to read your opinion.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Although we were staying in Hanga Roa Eco Village, we were not on the full meal plan.
This review is for the smaller dining room than the one shown in photo above which was used for a very complete breakfast when we were there.
The smaller dining room with a bar serves wonderful fresh seafood: local catch, ceviche, and an assorted platter of shell fish. All prepared with full flavor and not over cooked.
Pretty views great drinks.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia_Hoteles, Digital Manager at Restaurant Kaloa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

Hi Carole

We appretiate your comments. We constantly read what our customers think of us, so we can always improve and do better.

Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We stayed at the Hanga Roa hotel, so the meals were part of our package (although we did go out one night). The food is fresh, and the service is of high quality. We were at the hotel 4 nights, so we got bored of the menu (hence going out one night). Fresh pasta is really good, terrific options for sauces. Chocolate Lava cake was really good. Drink menu is very extensive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stoneiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Kaloa also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 
Easter Island, Chile
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 

Been to Restaurant Kaloa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing