We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
21
23
5
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
23
5
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish great staff beautiful location mining town lounge area spanish mackerel top end resort meals lodge water accommodation sunset menu guide manager dennis
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2017

The resort rooms are tired and badly in need of some maintenance and love. The wooden furniture peeling, the curtains full of holes, holes in the roof and the water dirty. You cannot watch TV from the bed you have to sit upright in one of the chairs, which are not comfortable for any length of time. The cleaning staff were lovely and did a great job. Meals are from an A la carte menu but are basic pub meals. Sunday nights the only choice was pizza or buffet, the buffet was terrible and the food cold. Ordering from the menu I ordered a caramalised banana banoffee tart, which was a frozen tart with two pieces of raw banana covered in strawberry topping, did not even eat it. The meals were disappointing and you could tell there was two different chefs one who tried, the other throwing food on the plate like a mess.

The views of the water were stunning and the Resort Pool area lovely. there was a great big spa in the room which was great but when you filled it the water was very dirty.
The most disappointing was trying to book a fishing charter a fortnight before and being told they were booked out til March yet the boats sat in the shed for the 4 days I was there UNUSED.
Most of the staff were lovely but again very disappointing not to see one local when the resort was built to train locals.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Northern G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

What a pleasant surprise! The staff were amazing and very helpful - they certainly multi-task.
I found that I had been given a twin room (single beds are so 9th grade) and I was upgraded the following night.
The meals in the restaurant were excellent and generous - but don't get there too late. This is not really the location for 8pm evening meals - this is a mining town - early to bed and early to rise. The resort is well appointed and has conference rooms
The sunsets are amazing and worth the trip.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis W, General Manager at Groote Eylandt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thanks for your review, in particular your comments on our great team. Our Chef was delighted to learn of your positive feedback on the menu!!
The conference suite presents an ideal opportunity to blend business and at the same time enjoy the Groote Eylandt Archipelago.
Look forward to welcoming you back to GROOTE EYLANDT.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The place was presented well, the staff very friendly and accommodating, especially the cleaning staff, very helpful, the meals and service was very good, relaxed but still very professional, overall the experience was to my expectations

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank raymondsO1690MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis W, General Manager at Groote Eylandt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay. Your complements on the LODGE team are much appreciated, and valued by team members.
Look forward to welcoming you to GROOTE on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

I very much enjoyed the location for our conference, all the staff were kind and helpful,
The food was excellent
We were able to complete so much work and in such a gorgeous environment.
Easily recomended

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 332jacquelinei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis W, General Manager at Groote Eylandt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your comments, our location certainly presents a relaxing but stimulating environment for a successful conference. The LODGE team appreciate your complements and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to GROOTE.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The location is lovely and peaceful. The staff are delightfully friendly. Everyone was very efficient and thorough in ensuring I had everything I needed for the duration of my stay. Thank you so much!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank trishao727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis W, General Manager at Groote Eylandt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Your thanks and compliments have been shared with the LODGE team.
Look forward to welcoming you back to GROOTE!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews