We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential but terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Groote Eylandt Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Alyangula B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We had to work on Groot Eylandt for about a week in Early Nov 17. We had planned to work and then spend the weekend if possible fishing.

The Lodge boasts about its fishing experience on one of there charter boats. We called a few weeks in advance and were told should be ok its a quiet time of year, come see us when you get in on the Monday and we will organise the fishing for the weekend. We had two employees with us so it was going to belike a reward for all there effort this year.

Once landed and we got the lodge we started discussing with the manager Dennis about the fishing trip, I got bad vibes from the start. He said he couldn't get in touch with his guide but will get back to me. Customer service is not a priority for this guy, all he did was try dodge us as much as he could for the next two days, he kept blaming the guide and how he was embarrassed by the situation.

I started then discussing with other staff the situation, it turns out the guide and fishing area was closing from Dec 3 but the guide isn't coming back. So really the Manager was lying to us about the whole situation to obviously keep us on the island to book accommodation.

He kept blaming this one guide, there are two fantastic looking boats within this business, surely they don't only have 1 guide or why would they have two boast??? He must think we are idiots.

In a place that is well known for its fishing and the only company that runs a charter service it was very dissapointing to us that we were treat in this manor.

Dennis if you are reading this you should always be honest with your customers as they will find out the truth eventually. The truth from the start is all we wanted, especially considering how much we spent to be there and also how much extra we were willing to spend.

For you to then blame me on checkout for not giving you enough notice was laughable just like our experience at your Resort.

Room Tip: Fishing Villas have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dv1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2017

The resort rooms are tired and badly in need of some maintenance and love. The wooden furniture peeling, the curtains full of holes, holes in the roof and the water dirty. You cannot watch TV from the bed you have to sit upright in one of the chairs, which are not comfortable for any length of time. The cleaning staff were lovely and did a great job. Meals are from an A la carte menu but are basic pub meals. Sunday nights the only choice was pizza or buffet, the buffet was terrible and the food cold. Ordering from the menu I ordered a caramalised banana banoffee tart, which was a frozen tart with two pieces of raw banana covered in strawberry topping, did not even eat it. The meals were disappointing and you could tell there was two different chefs one who tried, the other throwing food on the plate like a mess.

The views of the water were stunning and the Resort Pool area lovely. there was a great big spa in the room which was great but when you filled it the water was very dirty.
The most disappointing was trying to book a fishing charter a fortnight before and being told they were booked out til March yet the boats sat in the shed for the 4 days I was there UNUSED.
Most of the staff were lovely but again very disappointing not to see one local when the resort was built to train locals.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ouzocoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

What a pleasant surprise! The staff were amazing and very helpful - they certainly multi-task.
I found that I had been given a twin room (single beds are so 9th grade) and I was upgraded the following night.
The meals in the restaurant were excellent and generous - but don't get there too late. This is not really the location for 8pm evening meals - this is a mining town - early to bed and early to rise. The resort is well appointed and has conference rooms
The sunsets are amazing and worth the trip.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis W, General Manager at Groote Eylandt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thanks for your review, in particular your comments on our great team. Our Chef was delighted to learn of your positive feedback on the menu!!
The conference suite presents an ideal opportunity to blend business and at the same time enjoy the Groote Eylandt Archipelago.
Look forward to welcoming you back to GROOTE EYLANDT.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The place was presented well, the staff very friendly and accommodating, especially the cleaning staff, very helpful, the meals and service was very good, relaxed but still very professional, overall the experience was to my expectations

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank raymondsO1690MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis W, General Manager at Groote Eylandt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay. Your complements on the LODGE team are much appreciated, and valued by team members.
Look forward to welcoming you to GROOTE on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

I very much enjoyed the location for our conference, all the staff were kind and helpful,
The food was excellent
We were able to complete so much work and in such a gorgeous environment.
Easily recomended

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 332jacquelinei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis W, General Manager at Groote Eylandt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your comments, our location certainly presents a relaxing but stimulating environment for a successful conference. The LODGE team appreciate your complements and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to GROOTE.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Groote Eylandt Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groote Eylandt Lodge

Address: 1 Bougainvillea Drive, Alyangula, Groote Eylandt, Northern Territory 0885, Australia (Formerly Dugong Beach Resort)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Groote Eylandt > Alyangula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alyangula
Price Range: $304 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Groote Eylandt Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Groote Eylandt Lodge, managed by Metro Hotels caters for people from all cross-sections of our world community. We offer a relaxed and friendly tropical atmosphere reflecting the lifestyle, hospitality and wishes of the Groote Eylandt Traditional Land Owners. Groote Eylandt Lodge specialises in designing personal experiences for guests including exploring the diverse landscape & pristine waters of the archipelago. All rooms are equipped with television, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, electric kettle and refrigerator. All rooms have en-suites, private balconies, some with a spa. The property features a resort-style swimming pool, day spa & hairdresser, restaurant & bar and conference facilities. A guest laundry is also available at the Resort. Reception with concierge is available from early morning to late evening with an electric baggage buggy to transfer luggage to and from the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Groote Eylandt Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing