We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Average your golf travel trip

Yourgolf travel trip... Played our first round just after 1300. Play was slow for the first few... read more

Reviewed 20 June 2021
Tommo501
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Great place very friendly good value

Had a great couple of nights. 3 rounds of golf , very helpful staff everywhere from reception to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
R3025HCpeterr
via mobile
Read all 67 reviews
  
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
21
21
10
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
21
10
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews challenging holes round reception clubhouse spa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2021

Visited on Sunday 11th July 2021 As part of a 2 day, 1 Night Bed, Dinner & Breakfast with 2 round Golf Weekend. Stayed at the Willows Training Centre rather than the main complex as it was about £40 a night cheaper with the same terms. Initially arriving for a tee time before checking in we found the pro shop helpful and teed off in good spirits. The course meanders around a lake that has an Aqua Park and various water sports taking place on it which are disturbing in terms of noise but not excessively so and runs for a few holes next to the River Ouse. The holes each had an excellent image and pro top next to the tee boxes. The holes were challenging bit picturesque including the 119 Yard Par 3 that nearly killed my playing partner who took an 11 inc 4 lost balls! Not a lot you can do but there were a lot of geese and goose excrement on some of the holes/greens. At the end of our first round, our conclusion was that this was maybe the best course in terms of condition and enjoyment/fairness/challenge we had ever played. Nice atmosphere too, as not too posh. Check-in was simple enough at the WIllows training centre and the rooms were well appointed in a Travelodge/Premier Inn style which was good enough for us. The on-site restaurant was canteen style/carvery in the evening and the offering excellent, including a bar showing the England Euro Final. The next day breakfast was served in a similar style and in our second round we took out a buggy which at £25 was the standard fee for a buggy at other courses. No great elevation changes but makes any second full round on the second day easier. Would happily come back here again and would recommend to anyone thinking of going for a Golf weekend.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Cheekycockney190757
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2021 via mobile

Had the great pleasure of stopping at the willows training centre. I have shoved in a block the rear of the complex. The walk to the room felt like the green mile walking through several doors and corridors. The flooring in my block felt like the carpets were laid on bare soil, I nearly fell into a few pot holes. The room itself was dated, it was dirty and smelt stale. The bathroom also smelt so bad I couldnt stay in there. I later found dried blood on the tiles?!? By the smell if I looked further I might have found a body! Most of the room was covered in a shiney unknown gunk, the windows were also full of mould and condensation. Near the end of the week due to the lack of sleep from the shockingly thin pillows I nearly broke down be aware of the 500 block!

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank oozilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

Yourgolf travel trip...
Played our first round just after 1300. Play was slow for the first few holes but then picked up pace. Course is in ok condition, fairways are nice and the tee boxes are average but most greens are terrible. The course has so much potential and is a challenge. The tee boxes offer a pro tip on how to play the holes which is a welcome touch.
I know it cant be helped but the course is littered in duck droppings so take a spare towel so yo can clean your ball.
Hotel rooms were poor. Found hairs in the bath and sink in one room and ants in the other. Think of pontins style rooms when you book here. Not sure how it was covid cleaned when ants and dirt was found (please see pics).

Dinner and breakfast was a buffet style and no complaints from us.

Alcohol is pricey costing £5 a pint.

If you are looking for a cheap no frills get away then this is your place to go

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank Tommo501
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 May 2021 via mobile

Stopped at Wyboston Lakes today to charge the Tesla and gave a meal as we gave heard it’s a lovely place.

Just as we got to the Waterfront Restaurant we was greeted to a security guard telling us we had to leave the site as we had our 10 year old Labrador with us.

Found this place totally unfriendly and will definitely never return here ever again.

A bonus we are at a restaurant within a quarter of a Mile away, dog in tow, so it’s Wyboston that lost out. Glad a company can afford to turn down business in these times.

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank 980susant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2021 via mobile

Course is terrible, looks like the greens haven't been touched by green staff in whole of lockdown, apparently only one greenkeeper is working while the rest are furloughed,??? Sure that's not how the system is supposed to work.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Snorkelpippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews