We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

La Dispensa osteria
Ranked #1 of 62 Restaurants in Altopascio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$40
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 4 June 2018

This is a lovely little Restaurant in the centre of Altopascio with the possibility to sit inside or out. The staff is very helpful and friendly though mainly speak italien. The menu is in both Italian and English and the one staff member speaking English is happy to explain if you have any questions. We had booked a table as there was 7 of us but as it was out of season and a Thursday night, it wasn't busy.
The starters were amazing and the special stuffed zucchini a most if you go. There is a good selection of mains and they are happy to do gluten free if you ask. Also the puddings are fantastic especially the ice cream with coffee. We had a very enjoyable evening and was very well looked after.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TineD209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

We had a pit stop here and it was well worth it. Maybe a bit expensive but a nice variety of different foods and good wines. The place is gorgeous and the staff (and their dog) friendly.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We went for our last meal of our holiday great food big portions and great deserts very friendly staff and great service. The pork with potatoes was excellent.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Park in the Piazza Vittorio Emanuele and then walk through the arch and a small square to get to the restaurant.

We went as a group of 5 and were the first people there it only being 7pm so we got the choice of the tables. There is quite an extensive menu and one of the waitresses spoke some English so helped where we were unsure of what things were.

I had a mixed starter which was delicious - especially the stuffed zuccini flowers - and it was a good selection that wasnt too heavy.

I had the wild boar with polenta for a main course and although it was meant to have some chocolate in the sauce I couldnt taste any and the meat although tasty was rather dry and the sauce needed to have more depth and more of it.

The bread was very good and the house wine was rather cold - almost chilled.

An enjoyable meal and I'd recommend that you try it if in that part of Altopaschio. The meal for 5 with starters/mains and 1.5l of house wine was just over 140 euros.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John_The_Miner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

The place is really beautiful and the food was simply fantastic.
The traditional wild boar is recommended with delicate chocolate flavor.
The owners are very friendly and experts about food traditions and neighborhood.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Guardix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Dispensa osteria also viewed

Altopascio, Province of Lucca
Altopascio, Province of Lucca
 
Altopascio, Province of Lucca
Montecarlo, Province of Lucca
 
Montecarlo, Province of Lucca
 

Been to La Dispensa osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing