We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveller rating
319
206
56
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
206
56
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews set menu fixed menu tea house cardamom plantation plantation walk no alcohol the barn every afternoon banana fritters western ghats surrounding countryside guided tour tea museum complimentary tea peaceful retreat stunning location long drive
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Lovely sunny locale up on a high point. Meet the staff as clients and leave as friends. Thoroughly enjoyed the old world feel of the place, the food and tea time at the hava ghar with banana fritters and locally grown coffee and tea! Look out for the tree frogs, butterflies and moths.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank FellowTraveler826021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

We recently stayed here for two nights as part of a tour of Kerala. We were given a room upgrade which was lovely. The room was very large with a beautiful verandah and views over the tea plantations. The staff were most helpful. The food was excellent and we had a wonderful cooking demonstration. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank lizzie209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Our family had a great experience on our stay at Windermere Estate.
The room was spacious and had all the requirements. The bath room was clean and neat.
The property itself is more than 4 acres and rooms are arranged with ample free space. The view is nice from the room and the icing on the cake is the view point within the property.
Staff and service were excellent and were always available for any needs, We had one dinner and a breakfast at the restaurant and both were memorable with focus on local cuisine.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jobyjosephv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Huge spotless room, with a huge bathroom to go with it. Great views over the plantations from our balcony, only slightly marred by a building going up just below the hotel.

Tea and coffee and sweet or savoury snacks are served every afternoon in the open-sided gazebo - the estate coffee, is very good, as are the deep-fried banana dough balls flavoured with cardamom.

We had an excellent guided walk through the cardamom plantation, spotting lots of different plants, Malabar Giant squirrel, wild bees and several different species of bird.

Cooking demo one afternoon was also very good, with tasting of the two dishes: deep fried vegetables and Kerala fish curry. Windermere emailed the recipes for us to try at home.

Food in general was very good, and very generous servings, more of anything you particularly like. I also tried the traditional Indian breakfast which included appam stuffed with vegetables and served hot.

We left very early in the morning and were provided with a packed breakfast.

Lovely people here - excellent all round

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank herebedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

What a stay ! Fabulous rooms very well appointed beautiful walks and lovely staff.

Sunil and Anoop made it so nice. They spent time with us making us feel comfortable. Anoop is a gem. He took us on a trek through the plantation as well as a national park to see Tahr goats which we did. Super energetic and charming, do ask for him if you want a good guided tour. We missed the hotel and its staff when we left.

Do visit the plantation as it is really very beautiful.

Thank you Anoop & Sunil !

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GauravI21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews