We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
L'Albatros(Damgan)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveller rating
364
120
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
120
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the beachshort strolllovely hotelcar parksmall hotelsuperior roomwarm welcomesuperb foodrooms face the seasmall townhamthree nightsthe ground floorrecommend this hotelroom was cleanmemorable breaken suite facilities
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Stayed for three nights 26th August. All good from moment we arrived to the moment we left. Good breakfast ate at hotel restaurant once excellent. Only slight downside was the restaurant choice in the town good if you enjoy mussels or crepes could have done with a few places serving steaks and other traditional French meat dishes.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GOGS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Very good car park with disabled spaces
Good location opposite beach.
Very good evening meal and breakfast.
Evening meal menu does not change but there is a chef's special starter and main course. These appear always to be fish based.
The dining area and bedroom/bathroom are very good, excellent walk in shower. WiFi in restaurant but different in bedrooms. Bedroom WiFi was poor until owned replace router and switch.
The only downside to our stay was our bedroom did not have a balcony and there was nowhere to sit in hotel ad restaurant always busy with guests and passing trade.

Room Tip: Book bedroom with a balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick_Goold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
33
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Great position, with beautiful views of beach, rooms were very clean, but rather small.
A served continental breakfast cost 13.50 euro, not sure it was worth it. Feel that this should have been included in the price of the room.
A bonus was the hot tub and sauna

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laplage56Damgan, Propriétaire at Hotel de la Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Member, thank you for your comment. Just for your information, the majority of French hotels don'tinclude breakfasts, unlike England. If we have the pleasure of welcoming you again, you should know that you have the smallest category and we have superior rooms much larger.
Best regards

Véronique and Marc
hotel-morbihan.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We have just returned from five days stay at the Hotel de la Plage and am very pleased to say we made a really good choice. I'm not sure that we can add any more to the positive reviews already posted but we can certainly confirm all the comments that have been posted recently.

Our trip wasn't for a holiday. We had to deal with a seriously ill family member who lives locally and try and sort out a house clearance and sale - quite demanding both physically and emotionally so it was essential that when we finished the day's business that we could chill out and enjoy our surroundings. Véronique and Marc's hotel fulfilled that role completely. The location and the view of the beach, the relaxed breakfasts, the friendly and helpful staff. We couldn't fault it.

We only ate in the restaurant on the first night. It is great cuisine and good value if you are able to afford that sort of experience every evening but beyond our pocket on a daily basis I'm afraid. I'm not complaining - we had a 39 euro menu and it was a superb three course Gourmet meal (an additional cheese course was an option for an extra 5 euros). I couldn't fault it. We accompanied it with a lovely bottle of Pinot Rouge at 26 euros. You must try the restaurant at least once!

The room we had had on the ground floor (a bit of a misnoma as it's actually elevated above ground level) had a balcony that overlooked the sea which I used extensively for aforementioned "chilling" but unfortunately the weather turned during the week and so that phrase started become more literal and I had to retreat to the interior of the room on a couple of evenings to do my wind-surfing watching.

With both the rooms and the public areas we really liked the light and airy feeling that they gave. There's lots of glass when the weather turns bad so you still get good views while being protected from the elements but in the sunshine everything opens up and you can even sit at tables and chairs on the other side of the road if the sea breeze allows it. The only facility we never got round to trying was the sauna and Jacuzzi - next time perhaps...

Lastly, we would just like to say a big thank you to the staff who put up with our lack of French with good humour and we never found anything too much trouble for them.

We would love to return again; next time we may be able to enjoy Damgan and the Hotel de la Plage under happier circumstances. Definitely "Au revoir" not goodbye!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laplage56Damgan, Propriétaire at Hotel de la Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Martyn,
Thank you so much for your nice comment on Tripadvisor. We’re delighted to read that you enjoyed so much our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back really soon Thank you for the recommendation!

Kindest regards
Véronique and Marc
hotel-morbihan.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

This is a gem of a hotel in the most superb setting. Although there is a small road between the hotel and the beach, it is a one way street and not busy.
All rooms face the sea and are modern and well appointed. Everywhere is spotlessly clean.
The staff are friendly and efficient and the owners are very welcoming.
The restaurant, Latitude 47 is superb and popular with the locals, which is always a good indication.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mike050181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laplage56Damgan, Propriétaire at Hotel de la Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Mike,
Thank you for sharing detailed feedback with us following your recent stay at the Hôtel de la Plage.
You reward the work of the team.
Best regards

Véronique and Marc
hotel-morbihan.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews