We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but!”
Review of Hotel de la Plage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de la Plage
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Damgan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Stayed here 2 nights in September. I would say that it is a very good restarant with an pricy hotel attached. We ate there both evenings, unfortunately I am not a fish eater so was somewhat very restricted in choice. My wife on the other hand adores fish and was in her element. The room is a little austere, but the view makes up for it. Clearly the locals know it well as each night seemed to be fully booked
However, and a big however, is that the hotel charges 40% if you cancel any night that you have booked. They must have had a lot of concelations in the past to post this in the bedrooms. I had first hand experience of this before I arrived, I had booked through Booking.com and due to unfortunate circumstaces need tostay many miles away from Damgan. Booking.com were excellent and tried to effect a cancelation for me, by phoning the hotel. To no avail. They suggested that I phonbe the hotel myselfm, which I did and spoke to the manager. He was very abrupt in his refusal and put the phone down on me. Not a good start. Must say this lingered with us throughout our stay. Incidentally, the hotel has no lounge or anywhere to sit and relax. Would I stay here again? Never.

Room Tip: There is a lovely view from the hotel onto a large stretch of beach, but there are no amenities near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bigaldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

Stayed for three nights 26th August. All good from moment we arrived to the moment we left. Good breakfast ate at hotel restaurant once excellent. Only slight downside was the restaurant choice in the town good if you enjoy mussels or crepes could have done with a few places serving steaks and other traditional French meat dishes.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GOGS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Very good car park with disabled spaces
Good location opposite beach.
Very good evening meal and breakfast.
Evening meal menu does not change but there is a chef's special starter and main course. These appear always to be fish based.
The dining area and bedroom/bathroom are very good, excellent walk in shower. WiFi in restaurant but different in bedrooms. Bedroom WiFi was poor until owned replace router and switch.
The only downside to our stay was our bedroom did not have a balcony and there was nowhere to sit in hotel ad restaurant always busy with guests and passing trade.

Room Tip: Book bedroom with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick_Goold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Great position, with beautiful views of beach, rooms were very clean, but rather small.
A served continental breakfast cost 13.50 euro, not sure it was worth it. Feel that this should have been included in the price of the room.
A bonus was the hot tub and sauna

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laplage56Damgan, Propriétaire at Hotel de la Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Member, thank you for your comment. Just for your information, the majority of French hotels don'tinclude breakfasts, unlike England. If we have the pleasure of welcoming you again, you should know that you have the smallest category and we have superior rooms much larger.
Best regards

Véronique and Marc
hotel-morbihan.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We have just returned from five days stay at the Hotel de la Plage and am very pleased to say we made a really good choice. I'm not sure that we can add any more to the positive reviews already posted but we can certainly confirm all the comments that have been posted recently.

Our trip wasn't for a holiday. We had to deal with a seriously ill family member who lives locally and try and sort out a house clearance and sale - quite demanding both physically and emotionally so it was essential that when we finished the day's business that we could chill out and enjoy our surroundings. Véronique and Marc's hotel fulfilled that role completely. The location and the view of the beach, the relaxed breakfasts, the friendly and helpful staff. We couldn't fault it.

We only ate in the restaurant on the first night. It is great cuisine and good value if you are able to afford that sort of experience every evening but beyond our pocket on a daily basis I'm afraid. I'm not complaining - we had a 39 euro menu and it was a superb three course Gourmet meal (an additional cheese course was an option for an extra 5 euros). I couldn't fault it. We accompanied it with a lovely bottle of Pinot Rouge at 26 euros. You must try the restaurant at least once!

The room we had had on the ground floor (a bit of a misnoma as it's actually elevated above ground level) had a balcony that overlooked the sea which I used extensively for aforementioned "chilling" but unfortunately the weather turned during the week and so that phrase started become more literal and I had to retreat to the interior of the room on a couple of evenings to do my wind-surfing watching.

With both the rooms and the public areas we really liked the light and airy feeling that they gave. There's lots of glass when the weather turns bad so you still get good views while being protected from the elements but in the sunshine everything opens up and you can even sit at tables and chairs on the other side of the road if the sea breeze allows it. The only facility we never got round to trying was the sauna and Jacuzzi - next time perhaps...

Lastly, we would just like to say a big thank you to the staff who put up with our lack of French with good humour and we never found anything too much trouble for them.

We would love to return again; next time we may be able to enjoy Damgan and the Hotel de la Plage under happier circumstances. Definitely "Au revoir" not goodbye!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laplage56Damgan, Propriétaire at Hotel de la Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Martyn,
Thank you so much for your nice comment on Tripadvisor. We’re delighted to read that you enjoyed so much our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back really soon Thank you for the recommendation!

Kindest regards
Véronique and Marc
hotel-morbihan.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damgan
23.1 km away
Miramar La Cigale Hotel Thalasso & Spa
6.3 km away
Domaine de Rochevilaine
Domaine de Rochevilaine
#1 of 1 in Billiers
700 reviews
39.3 km away
Sofitel Quiberon Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hotel-Restaurant l'Albatros
6.8 km away
Hotel Le Mur du Roy
Hotel Le Mur du Roy
#2 of 2 in Sarzeau
100 reviews
39.8 km away
La Petite Sirene Hotel
La Petite Sirene Hotel
#1 of 20 in Quiberon
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Plage

Address: 38 Boulevard de l'Ocean, 56750 Damgan, France
Region: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Damgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Damgan
Price Range: S$138 - S$369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel, you will enjoy our comfortable rooms with views of the water as far as the eye can see, private parking and free internet access. A relaxation area including spa, a sauna and treatment room which are accessible for hotel guest. Restaurant and balcony see view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing