We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$457
US$311
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Raro(Avarua)
US$118
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$265
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$344
US$331
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$130
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Edgewater Resort & Spa(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$550
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
380
24
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
24
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn and rachelhome bakingfresh fruitbedroom villaherb gardenbeach towelsfishreef shoesstocked pantrycook islandsacross the roadpersonal touchamazing hostsbest beach on the islandboard gamesbeautiful beachthought of everything
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We stayed if villa Tia for two nights in early July. Alfred collected us from the airport (and returned us) and we were out snorkelling straight out front of the property within 30 minutes and the snorkelling is excellent! The villa has everthing you could need and is clean, relaxing and welcoming. We were greeted with homemade biscuits, a fruit bowl and bread for toast. There is snorkelling gear for use (though bring a snorkel clip if you intend to use; otherwise, you have to tuck snorkel in mask strap), beach chairs, kayaks, etc. Grace went out of her way to help us out with a car for a day and we really appreciated that. The bus will stop for you directly across the street and the villas are walking distance to a small shop and several eateries, including Charlie's (recommended). Overall, highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank tunicategirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review and although it was a short stay we were happy to hear that your visit with us at Makayla Palms means that you are happy to highly recommend us....thank you
Rachel and John (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Just spent a lovely week at Makayla Palms, became our home away from home. Lovely welcome of fruit, home baking and wine.
This place is on one of the best bits of beach in all Raro, and the snorkelling off the beach is great- both much better than in Muri itself.
Great amount of equipment available for use- we made good use of the double kayak, famous Charlie's is a short kayak away for a spot of lunch.
About 3kms out of Muri- walkable depending on your fitness- and nice walk along the beach. Would be great to have a couple of bikes available as it's flat all around and would be nice cycle to Muri (I think you can hire some in Muri itself although we didn't).
As lots of other people have mentioned the team that run the place are fabulous, and I was very envious of the gardens- they are sublime and landscaping has been done so well that you maintain your privacy.
Only downsides for us were that our villa backed onto the main road and even with all windows shut there was quite a bit of traffic noise, and there was nowhere around the villa you could lie in the sun as the big balconies were all covered- felt this even more when wind was blowing straight onto beach removing that as an option but was a lovely sunny day.
We were sad to leave this place.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dani026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thank you for your review and that you felt your stay was your "home away from home".
The beach and lagoon is fabulous so kayaking and snorkeling is a real pleasure for our guests.
We stayed in the villa ourselves for the first time a few weeks ago and didn't notice the traffic at all. However if anyone does notice we have supplied ear plugs in the bathroom drawer to block out any noise for light sleepers
You had a nice gap between your deck and the mounded garden where you could have put your lounger and been not only in the sun but sheltered.......just a thought for next time!
We really appreciate your comments about the staff and the gardens.......good luck with your landscaping at home
Rachel and John and the Makayla team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at Makayla palms once before and enjoyed it so much that we had to return. John and Rachael, Grace, Loving and Fred are an an outstanding team who make you feel at home in these villas. Would highly recommend makayla palms to anyone wanting a comfortable and relaxing holiday.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank asrakiura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

We just loved having you stay again and enjoyed your enthusiasm both for Makayla Palms and Rarotonga
Love to think we could make it to Stewart Island and all those crayfish next year!!
Thanks again
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

My husband and I stayed at Makayla Palms for 5 nights during May 2017 and had a fantastic time! From the moment we were greeted by Fred at the airport, to our final drop off by Grace, our entire stay was very comfortable and enjoyable and the Makayla team went out of their way to deliver the highest service possible :-)
The fresh fruit and home baking (and additional home baking drop off during the week) were great personal touches, as was the kind offer of Grace to drop us off to pick up our car rental, the friendly conversations with Fred and his wife and the tips and recommendations from Rachel and Grace.
Makayla Palms is a real home away from home with every amenity required... from modern kettle, toaster, oven, fridge, freezer, blender etc to your own DDI to call/make reservations at local restaurants, washing machine, BBQ, indoor and out door dining tables, beach towels, books and DVDs, as well as a great guest info guide on local restaurants and attractions. There is also plenty of snorkelling equipment (and flippers) available for guests, as well as kayaks, sun lounges and reef shoes. You only need to pack your clothes and personal items! All windows and doors have fly screens so you can keep cool while still being protected by any bugs.
The villas are not directly on the beach, however are only a 40metre/1 min walk to the beautiful, quiet beach (i.e. there is one private villa in front of Makayla which is the only thing between the villas and the beach).
For a health kick, I highly recommend the Tea House vegetarian cafe across the road from Makayla Palms, and for a quick meal and the BEST carrot cake in the world, try the Pit Stop (200 m down the road from the entrance)... don't be put off by the 'hot food van' look of Pit Stop - it's very tasty and fresh food and great service!
Enjoy your stay at Makayla!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for your very kind review and all the staff enjoyed having you both stay with us. You have covered such a lot of the lovely positive things about staying at Makayla Palms and I am sure your review will be most helpful for others wanting to stay.
I went to the villas twice to say good bye but unfortunately missed you.....I particularly wanted to wish you all the best for the new arrival later in the year!!
Take care and perhaps we will see you again....we certainly hope so
Rachel and the Makayla team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment, Villa Tiane for 8 nights.
Grace picked us up from the airport, organized our rental car & was very helpful with our queries. The apartment was nicely presented, had food items & baking, fresh fruit & all the essentials that we needed for our stay. I loved the cleanliness of the apartment, the outside porch set-up with loungers, bbq & dining table, along with the lovely gardens.
The villa is not right on the lagoon, however we had a few windy days during our stay & we were very sheltered plus the lagoon is only a short stroll to get too. We also enjoyed how quiet it was. It is a 10 minute drive to Muri Beach & plenty of eating places, resorts close by. We would not hesitate to stay again

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryanne612017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

You and your friends were wonderful guests and we enjoyed having you stay. Our house keeper Loving is a treasure and we were pleased to read that you "loved the cleanliness of the villa" as she does an amazing job for us and takes great pride in her work. Hope you enjoyed the purple kumaras from the neighbour!!
We would love to see you again in our wee corner of paradise
Rachel and the Makayla team
,
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews