We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel(Titikaveka)(Great Value!)
US$255
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royale Takitumu(Titikaveka)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Makayla Palms(Titikaveka)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Heliconia Hideaway(Titikaveka)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Takitumu(Titikaveka)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
70
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvaka villahibiscus villamaster bedroomabsolute beachfrontresident turtlemain bedroomfishbeachfront locationbeautiful white sandfantastic locationcook islandsheaven on earthmuri beachfansdeckbbqlagoon
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Comfortable, stylish vacation rental. Well located near Muri, on a beautiful beach with very good snorkeling. Sleep listening to the surf pounding on the outer reef, or in air-conditioned comfort during humid weather. Large deck, convenient clothes washer. Good for romance, or go with friends or family because the villas have multiple bedrooms.

The Coral Villa is directly on the beach, I would stay here again!

Note: We had a little hiccough on check-in. The booking agent had informed us that if we wanted early check-in, there would be a $150 fee. Since we had booked a rental car and didn't want to pay that much extra, we declined the offer of early check-in, even though our flight from Los Angeles arrived at 6:00am and check-in isn't until 2:00pm. I emailed the booking agent approximately one week before our arrival informing her we had our own car and that we would arrive at the property at the advertised check in time of 2:00pm.

We whiled away our day pleasantly, arriving at the villa a bit after 2:00pm. Shortly thereafter the caretaker arrived, and welcomed us and made sure we were getting settled and comfortable. In the course of our conversation she told us she had specially cleaned the villa and had been waiting for us at the villa from about 6:00am until 8:30am. The booking agent had never told the caretaker that we would be arriving at the advertised check-in time, she had only passed my name and flight data to the caretaker. I felt a little bad that the caretaker had to go to so much extra effort on a Sunday morning. It all turned out fine, it just would have been better if my message had been properly passed on to the caretaker to save her from extra early-morning effort.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank lauralagassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

The Cook Islands is our new favorite tropical location, and we will certainly go back to the Sands Villas. It's a great location for a family, with wonderful snorkeling just a few feet from the property. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank FionaWestgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Someone was looking after us when we were lucky enough to secure 10 days at very short notice at Sands Villas with our family last week!!!! What a fantastic location with fabulous accomodation.

My family had 3 nights in Coral Villa which is an outstanding, modern, clean home with a breathtaking beachfront location only footsteps to the white sandy beach. The following 6 nights we moved into the Vaka Villa which also shares a beachfront location, the older home of the 3 which we loved for many reasons especially the enclosed outdoor living space we could enjoy at any time.

All the villas offer something special and are all very private, very well stocked with kitchenware, snorkelling gear and was an added bonus for us to use the kayaks which are available to all guests. We found ourselves using the BBQ often as this proved easier for us as we had our 2 young grandsons with us, the local produce and fresh tuna are hard to go passed.

Titikaveka is a paradise within itself, snorkelling in this location is stunning and never disappointed any of us, the beach is very clean, beautiful white sand.

Rongo and PK are wonderful house keepers and the Gardner was also very friendly.

We highly recommend Sands Villas and have every intention to return next year with more family and book Coral and Vaka Villas for another amazing experience, we loved it!!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank ShireeRei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RarotongaHolidayer, Owner at Sands Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thanks so much for your review.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and you are certainly welcome back!
The fact that we now have complimentary air conditioning in all bedrooms means the time of the year ( with climate change affecting the whole world to some extent or other) is unimportant and any time is perfect!

We are constantly upgrading the villas and next time you and your family stay with us , you will see some additional features.
We have passed on your nice comments to Rongo and PK. They say Hi.

Kind regards and thanks again for staying with us.

Peter and Jolene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

My family of 6, including my husband, son and daughter (14 yrs) and my parents enjoyed a wonderful holiday in the Vaka Villa in Titikaveka. We were greeted at the airport by Jolene, who gave us directions to the villa since there is no signage off the main road. We missed the driveway a couple of times, since we drove the Western side of the island and Jolene's directions were based upon traveling the Eastern side of the island to the Villa. It does make a difference! Jolene patiently waited for us at the villa and gave us general information and tour. There were were plenty of brochures on the island activities and restaurants as well. The Vaka Villa is the older of the 3 Villas on the property, but is the only villa that has an indoor/outdoor living area in case the weather is wet or too windy to sit outside. The villa as 3 bedrooms with air conditioning. Since we were there during the winter season, we only turned it on a couple of times at night to fall asleep. The master has a king bed, another has 2 singles and the third has a queen bed. The queen bedroom was tight with luggage and no place to hang clothes. There was a small 3 door dresser in a small open alcove closet with no door. I ended up using the master walk-in closet (which my parents used) to hang clothes, which had plenty of space and worked fine since we were family. Might be an issue if separate families shared the villa. The master bath has a separate shower and the main bath has both shower and bathtub. A hair dryer was in the master bath, so no need to bring your own. I also appreciated having our own washer so I could wash some items during our 2 week stay. There are plenty of towels and even beach towels. If you need fresh towels you can place used ones out by the washer and they will be replaced with new ones. I did a load of towels, just because I have 2 teenagers and they don't know how to hang up towels after one use!
The villa had coffee, tea, sugar, butter, fresh fruit and some other items to get us started. No spices other than salt and pepper so either bring what you need with you or take your chances at the local stores. Since we arrived on a Sunday, we went to Wigmores to get additional items to get us through a couple of days before heading to the CITC superstore. The barbecue for the Vaka is small and you need matches to ignite since the starter does not work. Unfortunately we found this out after we had prepared everything and no matches around. Ended up using the small oven - which overheated with the burners and oven on at the same time. We just turned off the stove and cooked the items separately. Since there so many great places to eat on the island, we decided to eat dinner out for the rest of the time. We only made breakfast and some lunches in the villa.
All of the Villas have access to kayaks and snorkel gear and after seeing the entire island, I can say that they are located on the best beach and snorkeling area of island! The beach is beautiful and the lagoon is marine preserve with coral heads, fishes, eels, clams and a resident turtle. If you want to snorkel everyday, this is the place to stay. Even in low tide, you can swim, which not the case in other areas. You just walk 15 feet from the deck into an aquarium. Jolene and Peter made a couple of stops by the Villa to make sure everything was going well. We also had mid-stay housekeeping since we were there longer than 1 week. The villas are equipped with the Bluesky modem for wifi. We walked to the Moana Sands Hotel (5 mins down the beach) and purchased 5 GB for $50 for 5 of us to use on our phones. Be aware that anytime spent on social media will quickly use up the data. We purchased another 5 GB for the second week and topped of 3 GB the last couple of days to post some pictures and have access for on-line check in for our flight home. We all loved this little piece of paradise and would not hesitate to return. On a side note- the Coral Villa and Hibiscus Villas are newer and bedrooms more spacious. Each villa has there own unique qualities, depending upon what is important to you. You won't be disappointed in any one of them!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Doris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RarotongaHolidayer, Owner at Sands Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

HI Doris and thanks for your review.
Some good advice in there!

Glad to see you enjoyed the Vaka villa as it one of favorites too.We stay there ourselves when we can.

We have replaced the bbq with a larger one now and all the bedrooms are now air conditioned.

Hope to see you back with us soon!

Cheers

Peter and Jolene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

We loved our accomodation......and the beautiful beach right in front of us. Snorkelling was a treat for my husband and we appreciated the kayaks at our disposal. It was a very humid time of year...especially hard for us Canadians!! Only one room had air conditioning but all the rooms had ceiling fans. We were staying almost three weeks and we had marvellous service with any issues we had in the villa. Location, location.....this is what makes this the best.......it's like having a huge private beach to yourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sian6732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RarotongaHolidayer, Owner at Sands Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Hi again.

Your comments are greatly appreciated and you are right , it's the location we are so proud of and wish we could spend more time in one of our villas - ourselves!

All three villas now have all three bedrooms air conditioned. The summer of 2017 convinced us that climate change means temperature change too.

Hope to see you here again soon!

Regards
Peter and Jolene.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews