We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2009

We had a fabulous weekend at the Cameron House which is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

The rooms were fabulous, as was the food, both at breakfast time & also in the Carrick. The Great Scot bar was superb and afternoon tea here was to die for.

During the weekend we had a a great experience chartering the Hotels boat & cruising around the Loch. We then went quad biking over the hills around the Loch and finally spent some time in the hotel pool with the kids.

The children loved their bunk beds which were in a small annex off our room & were wonderfully designed. Really I would say that the rooms were the highest quality of any I have ever experienced in a hotel.

We found every member of staff to be well trained & helpful.

If you are looking for an unforgettable weekend you really should go for it & book the Cameron House. Superb.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Eatmyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,890 - 5,894 of 6,172 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2009

We arrived about 5pm to be informed our room wasnt ready therefore we were being upgraded. Check in was very efficient and the girl very helpful. Rooms were huge, we had a Loch view also. We ate at the Cameron Grill both nights and found the service to be excellent and the food fantastic, nothing was too much bother for the waiting staff including my request for Gluten Free Bread (which i also got each morning at breakfast). The pool area/jacuzzi are fantastic. We found the time we were there went very quick and are already looking into going back for another short stay in the next few months.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghMarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

My wife and I had 2 nights at Cameron House and absolutely loved it.
Just refurbished to a high standard, the Hotel is big, rooms spacious and well appointed, great beds. Great golf course although it was too cold to play. Terrific spa and water treatments at the golf facility the Carrick House/Golf Course. Personable staff...mainly locals who have been well trained.

Great bar and many restaurants to choose from although we missed Martin Wishart opened the day we left.

Currently doing great deals and these deals will continue until into Spring.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Still call Australia Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Stayed at Cameron House on 15/16 Jan. Check in was at 3pm but we arrived at 2pm and our room was ready. Rooms are big and very tastefully decorated. Facilities in the hotel were excellent. The spa at the Carrick was wonderful would definitely recommend. Had dinner in the Cameron Grill which was lovely. Unfortunately the Boathouse wasn't open but it did look very nice. Had lunch at the Claret Jug which again was lovely although service was a bit slow. Only gripe I would have was housekeeping. I had to call more than once to have tea/coffee tray replenished and also to get breakfast menus. I would definitely recommend this hotel and the scenery is wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

I booked this for my Husbands birthday as it had been one of the hotels we had considered for our Wedding to be held at. All I can say is... I'm so glad I didn't!!

When we arrived the room wasn't ready for us - not a big problem you would think except we had arrived over an hour after the check in time! They offered to store our bags and we decided to go for a walk around the grounds.

The hotel called a short time later and we went to our room - albeit without any information on the hotel as the girl at reception seemed a bit jittery and inexperienced and perhaps forgot. This meant that we weren't sure where any of the bars were, where the restaurant we were booked into was and didn't receive any further information on the spa and booking treatments there! No biggy - we can work it out for ourselves! Coincidently the Spa is not onsite but at The Carrick which is a couple of miles away and although a shuttle service is provided I found this to be a bit of an inconvenience as why would you book a relaxing getaway only to have to leave your hotel grounds if you wanted spa treatments!

On arriving at our room I can honestly say we had no complaints - the rooms were lovely, we had a loch view and the bath tubs were lovely and spacious and the walk in shower really good too!

We had booked dinner at their boathouse restaurant and received three separate phone calls regarding our booking. The first to confirm the time (they were two hours later than we had booked), the second enquiring if we wanted to make a reservation as apparently we hadn't and the third checking our booking time which was (thankfully) the correct time we had booked.

The dining experience was disappointing to say the least. We sat for 15 minutes before being asked if we wanted a drink and they instead came over and tried to take our food order straight away. The garlic bread with cheese we ordered, arrived without cheese and without much garlic either! My husbands Penne Picante style dish (which he had specifically asked how spicy it was) arrived and it was completely bland. I don't have any faults for my chicken Caesar salad which was lovely. The starter dishes remained on our table throughout our main meal and then everything was cleared away at the end - at which point I complained to the waiter. He offered us free desserts and when I said we weren't really keen to eat anything else there and would just finish our wine and leave - we were told that they would see what they could do with the bill. They took the chicken Caesar salad off (the only thing that did taste nice and coincidently the cheapest thing on our bill) and we got to spend the remainder of our time their with our wine being eyeballed and pointed at from the chef's in the open plan kitchen.

We decided to go for a drink at the bar and firstly went to the whisky bar which was lovely and the barman there was fantastic. Chatted away about the area, whisky and the like! We then moved into the main bar (it was showing sky sports!) which was lovely until we went to pay for our drinks. The female bartender there saw us approach and then looked away and began busying herself in a notebook she was doodling in. We stood for a couple of minutes in front of her before having to ask to be acknowledged! We then had to deal with huffing and puffing as she got us to sign for the drinks.

So back to our room!! Where we realised that there was a fault with our TV and movies could not be ordered and there was no golf balls for the putting machine! Golf balls arrived 1 1/2 hours later and we were told we could use an empty room further down the hall to order our movies from if we wanted as that was empty and they wouldn't be fixing our TV til the morning!!

Check out time - thank god!!

At this point I asked to speak to a manager and had to wait in line - there were two other people complaining about their stay before me.

The manager was most helpful and removed all food, drinks and a large proportion of our room cost from the bill as way of an apology!

All in all I was severely disappointed by the stay! We had looked forward to staying at this hotel for sometime and cannot believe the poor standard of service that we received when we did!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
10.4 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
21.1 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
10 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
10.7 km away
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
13 km away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: $55 - $770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the extensive fire within the main building of the hotel on Monday, December 18th, Cameron House Hotel, the Leisure Club and the food & beverage areas within the main hotel are now temporary closed. A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing