We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury suite with free bra thrown in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Stayed in Cameron House for a one-night getaway & spa break in April. Hotel and spa both in fabulous settings with friendly staff, however there were a few added extras we didn't expect....

On check in we were offered the option of paying to upgrade to one of the master suites and we decided to splash out £75 for this privilege (the original room cost £125 with breakfast). Returned from a lovely afternoon in the spa to be shown to our new suite - with its own private staircase, great views, large lounge, luxury bathroom... though bedroom was small and rather too many stuffed animals on the walls for my liking! Opened bottle of wine and settled into fluffy robes ready to relax before getting ready for dinner.... put my hands in pocket of robe and pulled out some hankies! Got on phone to front desk immediately: profuse apologies and housekeeper at the door within minutes with fresh robes. Only by this time I had also located burst balloons in the stag's antlers and a bra under the chair in the bedroom! Not impressed. The manager came to see us personally and was mortified: we were shown to room 6 (it's the room they use in all their promotional photos with the roll top bath at the foot of the most massive 4 poster bed; another bath and walk-in shower in the bathroom; and a separate lounge with two sofas, dining area, lovely views on two sides etc). It was, indeed, luxurious (though again, a few too many dead animals on the wall for my liking) and there was a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us by the time we got back to our new room with our luggage.

Went for dinner in the a la carte restaurant - we were both rather underwhelmed with the food. One of the reasons we'd booked it was it seemed to cater for vegetarians with a specific tasting menu, but it wasn't very memorable.

Next day when we checked out the £75 for the room upgrade was still on our bill - I complained and the manager apologised personally and removed the cost.

To be fair, the management responded quickly and effectively when matters were brought to their attention - but we wouldn't expect things like this to happen in the first place in a hotel of this standard! That said, we were very happy with the room we ended up in which we could never have afforded to stay in in normal circumstances (the going rate was around £550 a night!) and there's lots to recommend the hotel - we didn't even scratch the surface of the hotel's own leisure facilities but they looked fantastic. We will be back - but for a more modestly priced room!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,508 - 5,512 of 5,840 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2009

This baronial mansion, now luxury hotel, is on the picturesque banks of Loch Lomond. We stayed here on the recommendation of Gleneagles staff (they were booked) primarily for the golf at the Carrick. Access to the course (and the spa located next to the club house) was available by a 5 minute shuttle ride provided to hotel guests on the half hour. The golf was great, but the hotel won our hearts. The Loch view from our extraordinarily comfortable room was postcard perfect. THe food in the Grill and the Boat House were equally delicious. We could have stayed a week easily.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njp09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Wonderful in house leisure facilities. Very friendly staff, everything offered with a smile. Unfortunately, apparent low level of staffing in both housekeeping and serving. Light coloured carpets (to offset gloomy decor) were in dire need of cleaning, and there was a surprising amount of dust on surfaces in public areas (my bedroom was presented immaculately). Bar and dining room service was unbelievably slow, but when the food did arrive it was mostly excellent. Disappointingly, the vaunted Whisky Bar was not available.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bordersoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Ok read all of the reviews and had to say we were a little concerned as the time approached for our stay. However with the exception of the room not been ready after 3.30pm and no milk in the room we both laughed at this as really it was expected. Think its an excuse for them to try and get you to buy a coffee from the bar :) Starbuck prices but not sizes of the coffees on offer. Took about an hour for the room to be ready, and though we didn’t get a phone call until we went to the reception to check on the room it was a good time to walk around the hotel. Took less than 5 minutes to get milk delivered to the room so couldn’t grumble with that.

Room was very nice, clean and lots toiletries in the bathroom. Beds were large and comfortable and the Loch views well worth it, thought the garden rooms views weren’t really garden views.

Hotel was quite quiet when we stayed, had been fully booked the day before we arrived. Had a table booked at the Boathouse for 7.30 but decided to bring it forward and had the restaurant nearly to ourselves. Meal was excellent and again great views.

Breakfast was quick on the first morning (Friday) a little slow on the next but lots to eat and good quality.

Spent the Friday in the Carrick Spa, well worth the £25 each and could have spent all day there is it wasn’t for the expensive lunches on offer, over £8 for just a plain sandwich is just too expensive.

We eat in Balloch on the Saturday at Balloch House, good quality food at reasonable prices, if you can't get a table at Cameron House there are plenty of restaurants in Balloch.

We would recommend Cameron House to anyone, can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eslick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

My husband and I stayed here just before Christmas in 2008, it was meant to be the highlight of our holiday. However I think it is too large a hotel to offer something truly special.

We were upgraded to a suite on arrival which was appreciated (fantastic view of loch!), however found that some details were lacking. There was a golf putting machine which did not work, there was no milk or coffee pot. Also a small bottle of wine sat temptingly with two glasses on a tray, the price tag showed that this was for sale rather than complementary - if I had been the paying full price for the suite I would have expected this to be included!

The swimming complex is excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the water slide.

The bar was pricey although the service was polished. Breakfast was a busy affair, and we had already noticed signs the previous evening warning of peak breakfast times. We took the option of breakfast in the bar where a jazz band was playing. Service was slow and we did wonder whether we had been forgotten. There was a good choice of food and the quality was excellent.

Overall I'd like to go back but only if I get upgraded again!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saraBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
10.4 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
21.1 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
10.0 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
5 reviews
11.0 km away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: $276 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing