We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located hotel”
Review of Hotel 88

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel 88
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Jember
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Since I was born in Jember, I know how this hotel looked like long time ago (formerly Hotel Mars). It has undergone major refurbishment. In term of location it is great as it is in the central of the town.
We were in their executive room on the 4th floor, not a convenient spot as they have a meeting hall at the corner of this floor so you will be bothered with a bunch of people walking in front of your room (sometimes with smoking) to the function room whenever an event is organised.
The room itself is very spacious and clean but unfortunately without proper sound dampening, so much noise comes from the neighborhood. The floors is not carpeted, foot step noise is bothering. The bed side lamp is so small that makes reading difficult.
The restaurants serves buffet breakfast, that is decent, but it does not have non smoking section.

Room Tip: If you are in 4th floor, ask room 401 - 404 as those are not in the way to the meeting hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Handoko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

Large, clean, modern rooms. Middle of town. Helpful staff. Pretty good breakfast. Ask for a discount on desk price. we paid 300,000................ Large, clean, modern rooms. Middle of town. Helpful staff. Pretty good breakfast. Ask for a discount on desk price. we paid 300,000................

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ikonoklas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

When ever I stay in istana hotel jember, I still can't believe that I am staying in a small hotel with 42 rooms, I feel I stay in the 5 Stars hotel, the staff very friendly and they called by name to the guest which make me feel so relaks and feel like at home, for small hotel with very reasonable rate the food are beyond expectation, I would like to recommend to everyone..when ever your destination to jember city, istana hotel is the best place to stay..

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rizkiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

As usual, first I will describe the room. It's like a 4 star hotel room configuration, with the lack of extra amenities like safe deposit box, bath robe, hair dryer, fridge, sewing kit, carpet and painting :). but overall I was quite surprised that with the money I pay, i got a very comfortable and spacious room. You can expect a very nice bed ad pillow, a boiling jug and tea et, and various channel on an LCD TV set.

You can order food with a very affordable price, unlike a 4 star hotel where your wallet get ripped off every time you contact the room service.

The hotel was well located in the middle of commercial area where you can find stores, supermarket, and traditional market nearby. it is also not far from Alun-alun.

Breakfast is not giving you much variety, but it taste good. For locals, maybe this hotel wasn't cross in their mind to put their guests to stay. That's, from what i've heard, this hotel was renovated from the old hotel that have a negative-side in their mind. but from my point of view, i'm recommending this hotel for everyone who want to visit jember on the budget and just looking for bed and breakfast.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
8  Thank johan_a_saleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Executive room is spacious with 32" LCD TV, like in a 5 star hotel. Minibar and coffee & tea maker are also there. Shower and toilet are separated. Room amenities are completely set. The view is only city view. The food is very good. The staff's service is excellent. The place is in downtown area and nearby many entertaining spot such as Mall, market, city park, cinema, etc.
Stayed for 2 days in executive room really made me enjoy the hotel very well. I will definitely comeback to this hotel. And i really recommend this hotel if you want to visit Jember city.

Room Tip: Choose room face to the road so that you can see the city activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yuliana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jember hotels
1.5 km away
JC Homestay Jember
JC Homestay Jember
#8 of 12 in Jember
23 reviews
2.2 km away
Cempaka Hill Hotel
Cempaka Hill Hotel
#11 of 12 in Jember
42 reviews
1.6 km away
Aston Jember Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Panorama Hotel & Resort
Panorama Hotel & Resort
#10 of 12 in Jember
32 reviews
2.4 km away
Bintang Mulia Hotel
Bintang Mulia Hotel
#3 of 12 in Jember
37 reviews
1.3 km away
GM253 Hotel
GM253 Hotel
#2 of 12 in Jember
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 88

Address: Jl. Diponegoro 43, Jember 31114, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Jember
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Jember
Price Range: $26 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 88 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 88 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing