We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Michels Wohlfuehlhotel(Schalkenmehren)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Cafe del Maar(Schalkenmehren)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
14
4
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
4
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The hotel was fully booked so we were unable to stay but we were able to dine in the restuarant and it was an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadking12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

At first we had trouble locating this hotel... until we realized it was not on the road, but in the center of the town square. Our room, with the windows open, was soothed by the sound of the splash of the fountain in the center of the square.

The restaurant patio was attractive and inviting, with plants and other objects around the perimeter. Immediately when we entered, a member spoke English and was able to give us the keys to our room. He was the only one through the overnight experience that spoke English though.

Our room was clean and lovely. There are two grades of rooms. One is your basic pine two twin beds pushed together (standard in Europe) with two duvets and large pillows). The other is a country room with canopy. We chose the simple room. Our room overlooked the square. It was lovely with nice decor and colorful.

However the walls were paperthin. I am a light sleeper, so the light noise from the square, steps in the hall, chatter next door, etc. was distracting to my sleep. I wore earplugs (which I carry with me always for this purpose).

The bathroom was clean and the shower had a lovely showerhead with a nice strong and adjustable jet. It had a berry potpourri too. It only offered 2 packs of bath soap and 2 packs of shampoo, but no handsoap. We find this to be more and more common in our European travels. No washcloth - also common in our European travels. If you are American, just be aware and bring your own. We pulled our our own little travel soap.

Lots of TV stations, one in English - CNN. I think there was MTV, but we don't watch that.

We ate supper there and it was very good. Our breakfast was also nice. It was a typical German breakfast. 1 hard boiled egg. Mixed meats and cheeses. Yoghurt. Breads and jams. Coffee and juice. A fine enough way to begin our day.

We booked our hotel through www.booking.com. This is what we often use in Europe.

Hotel website: http://www.buergerstube-ulmen.de/

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lahlumdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews