We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A resort that lived up to all of its great reviews.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wabatongushi Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Errington's Wilderness Island Resort
Reviewed 16 September 2016

My wife and I went up to see the Northern Lights. Their calendar listed the phases of the moon so we could choose the weekend of the new moon. The staff could not have been more more friendly and helpful. Each meal was a delight. The shore lunches could not have been tastier, with fish caught either that day or the day before. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The lake was beautiful and the views were wonderful in each direction. I can understand why so many people have returned there time after time. I hope we will join that group of people. To the Errington's I say Thank You for a wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: Avoid Cabin three, that is the cabin closest to the generator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank srherskovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

My wife and I have been going here for the past 18 years. It's a family operated business and they are amazing! The scenery, wildlife and fishing can't be put into words, you have to go there to understand. I have traveled all through Ontario and a few other provinces, but the first time I stayed here I knew I'd keep coming back. I highly recommend Errington's.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

My wife and I spent 4 days at Errington's and had a wonderful experience. The two things they really excel at is service and providing a great fishing experience. We were on the American plan and any request we had was addressed immediately and with great cheerfulness. I would highly recommend that you retain the services of Larry for a half day (or full day) of guiding. He will acquaint you with the lake and give some very valuable tips for where and how to catch fish in that lake. Larry quickly realizes the level of fishing sophistication of his charges and accommodates them. I think he would be equally good with novices and seasoned outdoors people.
The food is good and the dining service is very well done. Shore lunches are not to be missed! Cabins are rustic but are comfortable and we slept well. All in all, it was a great experience with great scenery and good fishing. Quit reading this review and make reservations!

Room Tip: Avoid cabin 3 as you will hear the generator running at all times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kent F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015

Have been going to Errington's Wilderness Island Resort for 8 years. Reasons to go back
are great staff, excellent food, rustic clean rooms, and fishing has been exceptional for
walleyes and N. Pike. Cabins are comfortable with excellent views of the lake.
Good variety of menu items and a person won't go hungry. Shore lunches are fresh walleye with a great outdoor setting. Moose, loons, bear are frequent sights while on the
lake fishing.

Room Tip: We have enjoyed the American Plan. The rooms are located next to the lodge with a large patio. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2014

Our family went for three nights and had an amazing time. the fishing was great, cabins were clean and the boat was great. We flew in from hawk air and the flight was great. The staff was so friendly and helped us with all our inquiries. The meal wasawesome too and we enjoyed the minnow races after supper. a great time overall.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dotandpatti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Errington's Wilderness Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errington's Wilderness Island Resort

Address: Island on Lake Wabatongushi | at Mile 206 on the Algoma Central Railway, Wabatongushi Lake, Ontario P6B-6H4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wabatongushi Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Wabatongushi Lake
Price Range: $126 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable lakeside cabins and suites, fine dining and courteous service on a secluded island easily accessible via the Algoma Central Railway or float plane. Our resort is on Lake Wabatongushi in a 3,000 square mile Wildlife Sanctuary. Sightings of wildlife such as moose, black bear, loons and bald eagles, are numerous. The only hunting allowed since 1925 is with a camera. Excellent fishing for walleye and northern pike. Also canoeing, kayaking, hiking and swimming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Errington`s Wilderness Island Hotel Wabatongushi Lake
Erringtons Wilderness Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing