We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.comUS$37
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
88
81
46
18
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
88
81
46
18
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black marlin take care crispin accommodation resort boat bali
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2019

I did my Advanced Open Water through Black Marlin and had an excellent experience. The instructors were lovely and they had great equipment. The setting was idyllic and I would gladly return for diving in the future! Ali - one of the local DMs is an absolute gem!

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 1 week in the Black Marlin Dive Resort for our diving vacation. The rooms were dirty, the bedsheets were used, the pillows were black because of moldiness. It rained into the bathroom. We complained about the defects severel times, after 3 days the Manager ordered the staff to clean - we think a little bit late... the excuse was, that the Lady who normaly cleans the room Is not here at the moment... i think this should not be told to guests...
Food was ok, but some times a bit less. For drinking water we had to pay! One day i asked for some water, them a stuff guy told me, that the bar is closed, because some stuff is sleeping. As i told them again, that i want some water right now he laughed and after a third time asking for water with a bit anger he filled my bottle. A definite no go that guests have to beg for water. We did not feel to be welcome, because we had to ask for everything we wanted; the staff was unmotivated; Therefor we prefered to visit the beachbar at the resort next to Black Marlin, the Kadidiri Paradise.
Diving was bad organized! There had been no briefings, long diving against strong current, even down current without any reaction of our guide - he never checked for current, even not after our announce that he should look for current. the staff smoked everywhere (we had headache after every dive!)

The corals were nice at some places, but sadly less fish!
Una Una was very nice!
We would not go back to Black Marlin, better go to Kadidiri Paradise or Bunaken! Much better for diving!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 528wolfgangm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BMdive, Owner at Black Marlin Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi Wolfgang, many thanks for the review and feedback but I am alittle surprised as doesn't really match up with what happened at the resort as I was there the whole period of your stay and we spoke specifically about the problems you had had with the room, sheets etc that were change on demand and pillows also until satisfied with what you had as we try to do with all our guests if they have any problems with any element of the resort. Drinking water is available during all meals and guests are free to refill their water bottles at this time for free during meal times. I apologise if you needed bottled water when that staff member was on a break and perhaps the cafe closed so the member of staff asked would not have had the keys or been sure if ok to allow someone in. I am most surprised by your problems with the diving as never mentioned it to me, even on our dive trip together to Una Una was not mentioned. Unfortunately at certain times of certain months the current can be rather unpredictable and strong. I have been diving the Togeans for over 20 years and can still be surprised even if check for current on entry, but naturally apologise if this effected your diving experience with us.and hope you have an opportunity to return so we have the opportunity to rectify your impressions. Hopefully you will communicate clearly any problems you encounter so they can be dealt in a timely manner and before you leave and ask for a discount, that not being given may lead to a negative review. Best regards and we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Beautifull place. Liked the view, the sea. Enough to do. This place is really good organised. The owners are friendly and helpfull. You van snorkel right from the beach. Or hire a kayak and go to one of the deserted beaches. Loved the cottages. Nice and quiet.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Backpackertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BMdive, Owner at Black Marlin Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Many thanks for your review and is so gratifying when our guests see how hard we work behind the scenes. Hope you can revisit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

All what is written here we can agree with. It's not easy to provide water and electricity in this beautiful place, also there's no internet, but that's no problem at all. We loved to stay there.
The highlight for us was to take a dive course with Crispin. Scared in the beginning, he gave us the opportunity just to try, but step by step, with amazing patience, he introduced us in the wonderful underwater world. He took us on 5 dives, we had the exam and received our Open Water License! Never would have thought to reach this.
Staying one week in Black Marlin, taking the dive course, go snorkeling on the beautiful sports in the area, swimming amongst the jelly fish and so on is one of the most amazing things you will ever do. Thanks to everyone in Black Marliln! Take care for your beautiful place.

Room tip: All rooms have seaview
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Remi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BMdive, Owner at Black Marlin Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi Remi, Lovely to hear from you and was a pleasure to introduce you to the underwater world and evn mre to have such understanding and appreciative guests. You are now part of the extended Black Marlin family and hope you will revisit us again soon or on the new resort on Una Una. Best wishes, Crispin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

The place and views is nice.

The rooms is fine and clean. Only have water for 4 hours a day ( for preservation the water)

The meals is more similar every day, no variety. Every morning is the same breakfast.

The worst is the mineral water, they sold a refill water for 10.000 rp for bottle, when a new bottle mineral water in the island near is 8.000. And 1 day they don’t have mineral water in a resort.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 751carlesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BMdive, Owner at Black Marlin Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Many thanks for your review and am glad that everything was fine with your room. We are renovating our kitchens at the moment and hope that we can offer a more varied menu in the future, but ingredients are limited in such an isolated location. I apologise if the refill policy was confusing but is to help reduce amount of plastic bottles consumed on the island. There is always mineral water available at the cafe and apologise if prices at the resort are not the same as in the market but think you will find any resort or hotel, club etc will always sell these items at a slightly higher price. I hope that you have the opportunity to revisit us and enjoy some of the recent improvements. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews