We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
97
63
18
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
97
63
18
20
18
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2015

A lovely, small authentic castle (in various states of ruin but still fully functional) with friendly, accommodating staff. We had no hassles with storing our luggage at the owners cafe in Kamp Bornhofen while we went back and explored Boppard (a beautiful town across the river. Well worth exploring and especially worth going up the chairlift to a cafe on top of the hill that overlooks the only 180 degree bend in the Rhien River and surrounding countryside and villages. Totally amazing views and highly recommended!!).
The owner then gave us quick complimentary transfer up the hill (and back the next morning) to where the castle is. As previous reviewers have said, there is no other transport and other than exploring your surrounds, there is not much to do except sit with a cold German beer and admire the stunning view! However it is still a unique experience and one that lets youslow down for a while to "smell the roses".
The room was clean, comfortable and medieval style with a big bay window looking over the Rhine. More gorgeous views! There are lots of interesting medieval artifacts scattered around the castle and the dining room is divine.
Generous food servings (tasty typical German fare), reasonable prices (for Europe!) and the best breakfast view we've ever had! One night is probably enough unless you want time to explore all the surrounding villages.Boppard is worth an afternoon explore.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Rhien.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frankettey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 November 2014

The castle is part of a little town and your stay includes a free taxi from a restaurant in the town up to the castle when you get there. The scenery was very pretty and their sister castle is a short walk away. We went to our castle for dinner both nights, and their food is fantastic. My wife said she wanted that meal as her last meal when she was on her death bed. We went to lunch at the sister castle, which was also very good. The room was satisfactory and did have a castley feel, it was a little small, but that is to be expected with a castle. Dinner is not included and for us it ran about 50 Euro (drinks + 2 entrees + dessert). Breakfast is included, which had deli meat, bread, yogurt, granola bars, liverwurst, savory spreads, and a drink (we had apple juice). Once you are up at the castle, there is really not much to do besides touring the castle, scenery, and eating. But if you wanted to go downtown, it is definitely a taxi ride down the hill/mountain. Overall a very good trip and amazing food.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FlameFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2014

We waited and kept calling this hotel for 1 hour after we get off the boat. We informed our arrival time few days before arrival. The Hotel replied that we can find their Cafe near the port to arrange shuttle. We arrive on time however the cafe already closed on that day. We called the hotel 6 times but no one answer the phone. There was countryside so no taxi on the road. After 1 hour waiting a German helped us to call a taxi for us to go to the hotel. This hotel is not ideal for not self-driving travelers.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mitsuha_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel seems to have an identity crisis. If it is meant to be a useful stopping off point for hill walkers, then I am sure it ticks all the boxes. If it is meant to be a romantic destination for couples then it only ticks some of them. If you want views, character and location then it's definitely for you. However, dinner was disappointing although the breakfast was lovely. Our room was up an uneven staircase and the step to the shower was treacherous. The owners however were delightful.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Alib6833
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights in the Castle Suite and could not have been more pleased. The views from the room and the dining areas were spectacular, and the atmosphere anywhere on the property was exactly what we were hoping for. The magic and the history of the castle experience wraps around you throughout and in my mind the loft ladder stairs to the room only added to this. The stay was made even more special by the wonderful couple that are owners and hosts. We were travelling by train and seeing the sights by boat, and making arrangements with them for transport to and from the stations was easy. Getting to know our hosts a bit as they shuttled us around left us with the knowledge that they are as charming as the property they proudly share with guests.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews