We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Country Lane Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meander In(Howick)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$66
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
4
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely gardenplace to stayon arrivaljennybedsbreakfastmidlands
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

This place is beautiful ,clean , quiet and relaxed.

The owner is one of the nicest people i have ever met in my life , she was happy to help with anything and everything, she offered information on things to do and places to visit , the room was clean and cleaned every morning we were there .

The breakfast was very well prepared with a personal touch and surved by the owner with options the sit outside in the pattio or inside .

I have to say this was a great stay will be going back again when i am in the area .

Only down side was the cleaning staff who were very noisy the morning of our last day while they did they laundry and cleaned another room, apart from that it's a great place place to stay when in Howick

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Phila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

What a peaceful location amidst a lovely garden! Lovely setting and very green.

Rooms are quiet and comfortable and breakfast is delicious. Wifi is pretty fast. Jenny is a very friendly and hopeful host.

Country Lane is a great place, and affordable as well.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

I am nervous finding holiday locations online but I'm very glad to have found Country Lane. Nestled in a lush forest, Country Lane is unbelievably beautiful. To wake up and sit on the veranda watching the birds is very special.

The rooms are furnished well and the beds are comfortable but it's the little touches that make the room seem like home such as tea and coffee or a welcomE sherry or even the light scents wafting through the room.

The owner Jenny is friendly and helpful and so if you wish to have a relaxing time away, I'd suggest Country Lane as a place to stay.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Lexi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Stayed here with my wife on a 3-week holiday through South Africa and this place was like a home away from home. Jenny the owner and manager gave us a warm welcome on arrival and was very friendly and helpful throughout. She showed us to our room which was nice and spacious. There was a welcome brandy which is a nice touch.

The location is perfect if you want to do the Midlands Meander, which is a large area of beautiful landscape and little shops along the many winding roads. It is a must-do when in Durban as you find some of the best products made in South Africa here at good prices. Also, nearby by is Howick Falls which is a beautiful waterfall.

For dinner she gave us good recommendations in the nearby area and there are two very good restaurants just walking distance away. Wish we had more time to try them all but there is always next time.

The breakfast is worth the price of the stay on its own, Jenny makes it from scratch and is absolutely amazing. It starts off with yogurt and fruit and then comes your choice of eggs with sausage, crispy bacon, cherry tomatoes, hash browns, and toast. You can get a full english breakfast anywhere, but here it just tasted better.

The property has a very peaceful and calming energy and the garden is a perfect place to meditate or read a book. The plants are well looked after and there are many fragrant varieties that smell amazing.

We highly recommend Country Lane Guest House when in the Midlands and will stay here again when we come back!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ahop86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

The place has been with Jenny only 3 weeks. She and her daughter is friendly and helpful. The place is clean and the beds comfortable. It is close to town but quite. I feel safe. I like my unit and will recommend this for a stay solos or with partner.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank Annemarie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews