We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
152
57
18
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
57
18
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board package charming hotel comfortable beds main building other guests los gigantes masca tenerife odour bath garachico drawers sofa
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

I stayed at the hotel at the end of February/ early March.

The superior room we were allocated was not as represented on the hotel internet site, since it did not have a private terrace, or a complete bathroom with bath (and it had various other lesser shortcomings – no mountain view, no drawers for storage, the “wardrobe” wasn’t tall enough to hang skirts, etc.). My husband had no joy when he raised a complaint with the hotel. (My husband posted his more-detailed review on 14th March).

Since returning home I decided to take the matter up with my credit card company (in the UK, the credit card company is jointly liable with the hotel if the customer doesn’t get what they paid for).

The good news is that the credit card company agreed that our superior room fell far short of what was advertised, and they agreed that the manager’s (Director General) complaint handling added unnecessarily to our frustration and disappointment.

The final outcome is that I have accepted a cash settlement from the credit card company as compensation. It amounts to 60% of the disputed accommodation cost, which is considerably more than I would have been looking for if the complaint had been dealt with quickly and courteously at the time by the manager.

Perhaps the hotel should now update its website in order to avoid misleading future guests.

Despite the successful claim outcome, it remains a very disappointing experience. The hotel has much to recommend it. Our other rooms (in the main building) were very good, just as advertised - it was just the first room that was substandard. Similarly, the staff were all very pleasant and professional, but customer service overall was badly let down by this one individual. Sadly, the overall memory is of disappointment and awful customer service and I am glad that I can now draw a line under it.

Room Tip: Would recommend rooms on first (upper) floor.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCASONADELPATIO, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Casona del Patio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018


Thank you very much for your comment, we take note to improve our services.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

My wife and I booked a week at the hotel starting 23rd February. There was no superior room available for whole week so we booked 3 nights in a superior room, 1 night in a double plus, then 3 more nights in a superior.

The first superior room turned out to be in a separate building, not the main hotel building, and was not as advertised. The web site describes a superior room as having a private terrace, a full bathroom with bath, and beautiful mountain views. Our room had none of those.

Our “private terrace” turned out to be a piece of rough ground covered with weeds, not private, shared with the neighbouring room, with one recliner between two rooms - see photo, and compare with the one on the website.

The day we arrived it was raining but the next day had excellent weather so we decided to spend some time on our private terrace. It then became clear that it fell far short of what was advertised. We decided to give it a miss. It was very disappointing, and not a place where we wanted to spend any time. And there was a much nicer shared terrace with lovely views next to the main building.

The room did not have the advertised bath or complete bathroom either. The superior rooms in the main building had complete bathrooms (as advertised) with bath, shower, bidet, WC and two sinks. Our superior room had a shower, WC and one sink. It was open-plan, separated from our bedroom by a glass screen, so technically wasn’t a bathroom let alone a complete bathroom with bath.

And the room had no mountain view – the window faced the wrong way. And obviously there was no mountain view from the private terrace, because the room didn’t have a private terrace.

The other issue was the food. We decided against half-board since the hotel web site advertised its separate restaurant with wood-fired oven, serving a la carte food. The menu looked good and this seemed an ideal way to spend some of our evenings. But when we arrived at the hotel we were told that the restaurant closed at 4pm and would not be open in the evenings (although the web site still said it was open till 11pm. (Soon after I pointed this out to the manager the web site was changed to say that it was open only in the afternoon until 4:30pm).

The only option for an evening meal was a buffet. A couple of other recent reviews have said the buffet was poor and I would agree. We ate there twice (the second time because it was too wet to walk to a café) and it was pretty awful both times, in terms of both quality and choice. One of the other reviews suggests trying the local eating places, which is what we did. The eating places in the village are pretty basic café-bars, but they are friendly and their food was so much better than the hotel’s. So, on a positive note, we were really glad we hadn’t gone for the hotel’s half-board option.

I sent our complaints to the manager (“director general”) via email since he was not at the hotel during most of our stay. He responded that he was:
“sorry that the room 302 did not meet your expectations of a superior room, but the weather conditions had not been the best to contemplate the mountains from your terrace and regarding to the furniture outside, we just passed a heavy storm”.
Not much of an apology. My expectations had been set by the hotel web site.
Regarding the furniture, it was like that when we arrived two days before the storm, and was still like that a full week after the storm.
Later (presumably to demonstrate how he had responded to our complaints), he went on to say that “after dissatisfaction with the room 302, we changed you to room 212, which is our best room”, conveniently ignoring the facts that we had actually paid the top rate for both rooms and had expected them both to be as described on the web site. Any anyway, this was a move that was scheduled prior to my making my complaints.

Regarding the food, he replied that “we are now preparing a new menu to replace the buffet at night”. If that happens it will be good news for future guests, but he did not apologise or address my complaint that instead of the advertised a la carte food in the evenings they offered only a very poor buffet.

Toward the end of our very disappointing stay, we were invited to dinner that night as the hotel’s guests because of the issues we had had. We were told we could select from a menu they would prepare for us. We asked how the other guests would feel if they were eating the buffet while we ate a la carte, but we were told that was no problem, this was just a gift from the hotel to us. We thought of this as a small but welcome gesture, and accepted. Then later, when we went to reception to book a time, it was pointed out that it would cost a bit more than the buffet. We cancelled. After the issues we had with the room and the food, it was adding insult to injury to ask us to pay for a gift. So we went to one of the local cafes and ate a la carte there instead.

Incidentally, the other two rooms we stayed in were both in the main hotel building. They were exactly as described on the web site, and the superior room had a really nice private terrace. The rooms were bright with excellent views. We felt the hotel owners were aiming for a high standard of accommodation, but had got it wrong with the first room by advertising it incorrectly. My room rating is based upon the first room, since that is the one that sticks in my memory.

I thought the staff on the front desk were very pleasant and helpful, as were those in the restaurants. However the way my complaints were dealt with by the manager was really poor, customer service at its worst. His idea of complaint handling was to just brush aside the complaint then insult the guest. Hence, regrettably, the low service score which is due to the manager alone.

A special thanks to Eddie on the front desk for his friendly professionalism, and sorting out some small issues with the first superior room quickly and efficiently on the evening we arrived. The room does not have any drawers (so we felt like campers while we stayed there, living out of suitcases). There was a small wardrobe/ cupboard, tall enough to hang a jacket (but not my wife’s dress), but it had no coat-hangers. Eddie managed to find us some. Also the side light did not have a bulb in it. So Eddy found a bulb. Then we discovered the lamp itself was broken and he managed to find us an excellent reading lamp. Service with a smile, and really appreciated.

Room Tip: Recommend first floor superior and double plus rooms with view. Rooms in annexe not as advertised.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCASONADELPATIO, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Casona del Patio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you very much for your comment, we take note to improve our services.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Friendly staff good spacious bedrooms. Excellent breakfast with plenty of healthy options.Small range of hot food cooked to order. Good location for walking. Unfortunately we cannot recommend half board because the evening buffet was poor. There were 4 choices of hot food but very bland and on one evening it was cold. We had the impression that it was not freshly cooked. There was a reasonable salad to fall back on but the puddings consisted of Jelly, moose, poor quality tinned fruit salad and small slabs of "cake" We complained at the end of holiday and were informed that there would be a new chef in Alril 2018 and an a la cart menu.

Room Tip: stay b&B only
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCASONADELPATIO, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Casona del Patio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you very much for your comment about our hotel, your comment helps us to improve and so we can give our best. We are very sorry that you did not have a good experience with the dinner buffet but we have remedied this problem and now we have a very complete half board menu prepared with 6 first and 6 seconds accompanied by fresh desserts.

We hope to see you again in order to improve that experience you had with us.

Regards. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

We had a very comfortable week staying in this lovely quirky hotel. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and clean and the staff always very friendly and helpful - eddy deserves a special mention! Breakfast buffet is lovely - fresh fruit, cheese, meats and even make your own veggie smoothies. Would suggest trying the local restaurants for dinner - the hotel restaurant food is a bit repetitive.
Would definitely return!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCASONADELPATIO, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Casona del Patio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you very much for your comment on our hotel, it is a pleasure to have you as guests, thank you very much for your assessment as it helps us to give the best of us every day and to be able to do better in what we do.

thank you very much

Regards. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Enormous bed and comfortable room, with an excellent varied breakfast and helpful, friendly staff. Beautiful grounds with some interesting, historic objects. We caught the bus to Masca to walk down the barranca, was great to give the car a break for the day.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABX400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCASONADELPATIO, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Casona del Patio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you very much for your good assessment.
We hope to see you again at the hotel and be able to tell you many more stories about the historic town of santiago del teide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews