We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
185
124
38
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
124
38
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloire rivertroglodyte roomsunique experienceclassic roommain buildingstar michelin restaurantroom was largecourse dinnerrestaurant terracespent one nightbreadstayed for nightscavesvouvraytoursfrancesommelier
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2016

This hotel very close to the highway is belonging to the chain of Relais et Chateaux and represents well the strengths of this association : calmness, kitchen and confort.
In spite of the street below the location remains very nice. Most of the rooms are in historical caves. They are big and very confortable, even for families. Nice swimming pool in the garden. Seating for breakfast is very nice, breakfast is limited in offer but from a good quality. Service is good but rather reactive. The restaurant has an outstanding reputation but we have not tested it. Very fair price for families.

Room Tip: Cave room 10 is perfect for parents with young kids
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kr1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We chose this hotel in order to be able to eat at the restaurant - they were booked for our planned stay, but staying at the hotel allowed us a table. Huge, comfortable room built into a cave. Prior to the stay it felt like this was a splurge - but the room totally justified the cost. Views were of the Loire river. beautiful grounds. Extremely convenient base to see the chateaus in the area. Great breakfast. Dinner started a bit off - again we chose to stay here for the restaurant - the menu given to us was a la carte and the waiter was rushed and pushed us to choose what we wanted quickly, returning several times wanting our order. The tasting menus I'd read about in advance were nowhere to be seen. It took a bit but we (with my poor French) finally were able to communicate that we were looking for a great dining experience - tasting menus appeared and the waiter backed off and stopped rushing us. We chose the lobster tasting menu paired with wine - it was absolutely fabulous-so, so glad I'd done my homework and knew that the al la carte menu wasn't all there was. My one disappointment about the hotel itself was that staff was stand off-ish. As foreigners embarking on a new experience it would have been great to have been made to feel a bit more welcome, and we would have welcomed advice from a local perspective. Everyone was efficient and kind - but it would have been a better stay if we'd felt more welcomed. Having said that - I would very much recommend staying here and eating at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RedmooseNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

After searching for places to stay in the Loire Valley, and reading the reviews about this hotel, I decided to stay and experience the room in the cave! This is a relais and chateau and therefore a bit pricey. The room was beautiful( deluxe room, if you want one in the rocks) very large and very comfortable.
We had dinner in the restaurant, michelin starred and it was very good. Their cheese selection is amazing!
I found breakfast a little too expensive for what you get.
If you can wait, depending on your plans, drive to Amboise (15 minutes from rochecorbon)and have coffee/croissant there for 1/4 of the price.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Monihm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Excellent food and beautiful surroundings. From Holland this is a place to rest and dine before moving on to the south.
Friendly people and good service, money well spent.
This will be our favorite place to stay when we are travelling south.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Thank robmI4689TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

This is by far the best hotel in the area. The restaurant is first class and sitting on the terrace having a drink or dinner is very special. The rooms are carved into the rock which makes it quiet.

The decor is adequate so if that is important, choose one of the more expensive rooms.

While the staff is friendly and knowledgeable, they are not what you might expect from this level of hotel.

It is not easily found and is on the road east of Tours next to the town of Vouvray. There are just a few alternatives for dinner which would be nice when staying multiple days.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ORGMemphis_Tennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews