We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, right at the beach with 2 swimming pools, nice and friendly staff”
Review of Severin Sea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Severin Sea Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Reviewed 5 June 2017

I loved the location of the hotel. Also the staff was very friendly and willing to assist with everything we needed. It is right at the beach but there are also 2 swimming pools. Visit the Swing bar for nice cocktails with a beautiful sea view while swinging! The only drawback was that the internet was extremely slow.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the reception have faster internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Konstantina1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Konstantina1202,

Thanks a lot for your kind review here on Tripadvisor!
We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Bamburi Beach and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Yours

James Boho
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

A colleague and I booked a 5 night stay here. Upon arrival,as we were filling in forms at check in we were offered juice which I couldn't take as I have a cold. I requested for hot water but was told they didn't have and can't get from the kitchen as the reception staff aren't allowed there as well as it being not being her department.

We then waited over 30 minutes only to be told they were fully booked but will put us up next door at the Plaza hotel. Why keep us waiting for so long and allow us to fill in check in forms if you cant accomodate us? The Plaza hotel is a run down dirty hotel full of mosquitoes and which is not of the same class as Severin. When we complained to Wycliffe and the manager, nothing was done and we had an horrible first night.

The next morning we had an underwhelming breakfast and our bags were moved from Plaza. Upon return from work in the evening, our bags were still at the reception yet they were to have been moved to a room.

Severin stated they told my online booking agent they were fully booked but I don't understand how they put us up at Plaza especially after we complained.

We opted to move to another hotel for the other days as the experience had left a bad taste in our mouth despite Severin giving us a room upgrade. Too little too late.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Ciiru N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

We have taken note of your comments on the Tripadvisor review and wish very sincerely apologize, firstly for the inconvenience caused by out-booking you in our neighbour hotel whose accommodation facilities did not meet your expectation.
We wish to, however reiterate the fact that your reservation request came to us via your booking agent at a time when we were already fully booked and which we categorically informed them and gave them an option of booking you in our neighbour hotel, Plaza Beach and which they agreed.
On arrival you refused to be taken to Plaza hotel and demanded a refund and since we did not confirm to you or to your booking agent accommodation in Severin Sea Lodge, we could not give any refund at all. We even contacted your agent, who booked you and they informed us that the refund can only be done by booking agent and that you should therefore call them directly for refund. You will recall that you were connected to the booking Agent representative Simon Nzioka who passed the same message directly to you regarding the out-booking.

It was only appropriate that since we assisted booking you in our neighbour hotel on behalf of your booking agent, we would usher you in our hotel with welcome drink and arrange to give you direction to Plaza hotel thereafter. On arrival, one of the lady guests was not feeling well and requested to be served with hot water which we do not always keep as welcome drink at the reception. She was, however informed that this can be arranged to brought from the kitchen and which was done and served with lemon as requested.
After staying in Plaza Beach Hotel for one night, we offered you an up-grade to Comfort Class room the following day at no extra cost and which you appreciated.

We wish to once again, request your understanding in this unfortunate circumstance and wish to assure you that it was not our wish to out-book you in another hotel but did so with clear consent with your booking agent.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you during you next vacation and promise to give you the best of our Services.

James Owiti - Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

This hotel is a great place to stay staff so friendly and very helpful the food is out standing room are very nice and clean I had a good house keeper the Severin sea lodge is a ideal place to stay nice beach near by shop as well

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Richard,
we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Severin Sea Lodge!
Thanks a lot for your kind review. I will pass your comments also to our housekeeping department.

Next time please also try our Severin Safari Camp in Tsavo West Nationalpark, the ideal place for a wonderful Kenya-Safari.

Sunny greetings!
James Boho - Guest Relation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

It is my first visit to Mombasa and this place is beyond what I expected. Though a little far from the city, considering the jam during office hours, severin sea lodge is worth the money. Big comfortable rooms with a balcony, intercom, mosquito nets, tv (in some rooms), laundry service, small fridge, big wardrobes, water for drinking, hot water for bathing, decent shower etc.
They have 2 swimming pools which are cleaned everyday, a very easy access to the beach. Dining area and the bar have sea view with nice breeze throughout the day.
Though there are some let downs like mosquitoes and small insects but I guess that can be managed with repellent creams, sprays & lotions.
Overall a very safe & a decent place to stay

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank mercs_benz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear mercs_benz,
thanks a lot for your kind Review about our Severin Sea Lodge.
We are very pleased that you liked your stay with us and would be happy to welcome you again in our Hotel!
Next time please also try our speciality restaurant Imani Dhow or the Romantic Dinner on the Roof top terracce!
Karibu - welcome!

James Boho, your guest relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Had a good visit to Severin Sea Lodge ..... Although the hotel was busy as they had a conference and a wedding, they did their best to give us some personal attention.
The hotel is well looked after, the rooms well maintained and the food areas clean and well organized.
The staff was always helpful and at hand when required.
All in all, considering the circumstances, we had a very pleasant stay.
Being regular visitors to the coast, it was the first time that we stayed at Severin Sea Lodge and we will definitely visit it again during our next visit.

Room Tip: Most rooms are now refurbished but the ones on the left are larger and more equipped with extra amin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bhavna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Bhavna,
thanks a lot for your kind Review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Severin Sea Lodge and are looking Forward to your next stay with us at beautiful Bamburi Beach.

Your Guest Relation Manager
James Boho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.6 km away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#12 of 60 in Mombasa
1,001 reviews
0.3 km away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
372 reviews
7.7 km away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#10 of 14 in Bamburi
130 reviews
1.9 km away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
6 km away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 60 in Mombasa
3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Severin Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
#2 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range: $116 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GPS Koordinaten: 3 59 13 Sud, 39 44 21 Ost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing