We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star Relaxing jungle themed spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Philea Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ayer Keroh
Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

No doubt the staff are really friendly and the internal design of the rooms are remarkable and unique. Jungle themed spacious rooms. Recommended get away for couple, family and business. In room dining is another good option next to their restuarant. Parking are limited inside. However the hotel has security guards Available for any vehicles parked out side. Nice swimming pool with an artificial waterfall. Indeed its a private cozy luxurious jungle huts.

Stayed: May 2015
Thank AhmedTamerMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Dear AhmedTamerMcT,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay experience with us. We are delighted to know that you were happy with our hospitality, environment and products in all the areas. Thank you for your kind commendations and we hope to have you back with us again on your next visit to Melaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 158 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2015

We booked a 2 night stay at a Philea Suite room for a quick getaway and while our log cabin was rather charming with a beautiful bathroom of our dreams, we both thought that the price we paid wasn't quite justified by the experience we had at Philea.

The good:

1. Our bathroom was huge and very beautiful, with a spacious bath tub in the centre and a large tv complete with cable tv channels right in front of it

2. The swimming pool was lovely as well, with lush greenery and waterfalls cascading in the background.

The bad:

1. Our bed was for some reason, extremely rocky each time either of us moved. I actually woke up in the middle of the night thinking there was an earthquake, only to find out my husband had coughed in his sleep. Rather incredulous don't you think? We also woke up with backaches every morning which led us to believe the mattresses used at Philea aren't exactly the best of quality.

2. We were taking a nap one day and were rudely awakened by a resort staff who was on his rounds to hand out complimentary bottled water. He kept knocking and calling till we opened the door. Seriously? Couldn't he just have left it outside of our door? Really shocking and inconsiderate service standards which the management at Philea should do something asap about. It just reflects so badly on the resort.

3. There is nothing much to do at the resort at all and the resort is very far from town. Expect to be bored.

4. There were two television sets in our log cabin, one in the room and one in the bathroom, but only one tv remote. I found this rather inconsiderate of the resort as it created a problem in which we had to keep stepping in and out of the room/bathroom whenever one of us was in the room while the other was in the bathroom using the bathtub just to retrieve/hand over the remote every time we wanted to change a channel or turn our tv on/off.

5. The water heaters made really random, loud sounds, sometimes when we weren't even using them. As you can imagine, this caused a problem while trying to sleep at night.

6. Wifi was splotchy. It worked in our room, but not in our bathroom. It didn't work by the pool either.

7. In light of everything above, the price we paid was really astronomical for the experience we had. Philea is a resort with great potential but in our opinion, they are only worth half to 3/4 (at best) of what they are charging now.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bittenbytheTbugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Dear bittenbytheTbugz,

Thank you for your review with specific examples of where we unable to meet your expectations on your recent visit. We apologize for the lapses in service you encountered and assure you this is not typical of a stay at Philea Resort and Spa, Melaka.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

Amazed by the cabin log rooms in this resort! They are made using actual real logs, staying in them amongst the lush greenery made you feel so close to Mother Nature.

Beds were comfortable and air conditioning facilities were adequate within the cabin.

The man made waterfalls were also very impressive

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank IvanS225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Dear Ivan S,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share with us such a wonderful review. It is heartening to note that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Thank you once again for your commendation and we look forward your continued visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2015

My wife and I booked a 2 night stay at Philea despite the majority reviews on Tripadvisor being mostly negative. We just had to check it out for ourselves to be entirely certain because during its heyday, Philea was the most revered resort in Melaka, but things could be very different after the change of management.

We are told that check in was from 3pm onwards which was rather unusual since the industry standard is 2pm. But that didn't bother us much & when we arrived, we were greeted by an enormous & beautiful lobby with triple height ceiling. A very nice open plan layout giving it a very spacious feel & the pine log architecture was simply marvelous. The front desk staff was very friendly & we were served with a welcome ice cream but somehow they forgot our welcome drinks.

Before long, we were on a buggy heading to our cabin. Along the way, the friendly buggy driver was explaining about the features that we happen to pass by. He was also gentle on the speed especially when going over the speed humps. He then carried our luggage to our cabin & proceeded to drop off the next pair of guests.

From the facade, it looked really impressive and nothing near to anything I have seen in Malaysia. The entire cabin was built from beautiful pine logs & if it wasn't for the hot & humid temperature, one can easily mistaken this for a pine log cabin in the Great Smokey Mountain in Gatlinburg. We did find the stairs up to the first floor unit to be too dark and should have some proper lighting.

Our unit on the upper floor had a slanted double height ceiling which adds on to its lovely character. The pine log walls & wooden flooring gave it a unique homely feel. The balcony was not huge but adequately sized while the bathroom was quite a squeeze. Would have freed up more space if they did away with the pint sized bathtub.

Most expected amenities for creature comfort was provided in the room but I did find some that could have been improved - Should have provided bathrobes, disposable in-room slippers instead of reusable ones, better lighting, more towel or clothing hooks in the bathroom, hand bidet for the WC, more satellite tv channels, a regular refrigerator instead of the DC powered heat exchange ones & a higher horsepower air conditioner. The wooden flooring is ridden with scratches and drag marks which could have been easily fixed with some lacquering.

When the next door unit was occupied, we could hear everthing from their television to their conversations. Not that they were speaking loudly but the fault is in the wall construction. There is little to no soundproofing and every ounce of noise from our neighbour or people walking along the front of our unit can be heard.

Adding to that, the room was just plain stuffy and warm because the air conditioner was not sufficient and the filter as well as the blower unit was clearly not cleaned for some time now. With the double height ceiling, the air conditioner just couldn't cool the room to an appropriate temperature. Adding to that, they only gave one key card which also triggers the room's electricity supply. That meant that as soon as we left our room & upon returning, we would again have to endure another hour of waiting for the room to cool down.

As I was taking my shower, I realised the connector of the rain shower head was not installed properly and was squirting water everywhere. Then mid way of my bath, the water pump stopped functioning and water pressure was reduced to a child's pee. We notified and front desk staff and delightfully, the friendly maintenance staff was knocking on our door in just 5 minutes.

On our way out for dinner, we spoke to our friendly buggy driver about our mishap and he was very helpful to arrange with the manager for a room change. Upon returning from dinner, the front desk quickly handed over the key card to our new unit. It was a unit on the ground floor located at a dead end which turned out more pleasant since we would be subjected to far less noise intrusion.

This unit was in a whole lot better shape than the first unit we got although it did have its fair share of setbacks. Mostly from the lack of maintenance & poor housekeeping standards. The patio was dirty and ridden with muddy shoe prints & cobwebs on the ceiling. Lighting was equally insufficient plus we had one of the light fixture which had 3 sockets but only one bulb was installed.

In terms of common facilities & amenities, the resort features a beautiful swimming pool & wading pool next to a man made full sized waterfall. Food is available in 3 eateries - Cravo Cravo, Nusantara & Bayu Cabana while alcoholic drinks are available at ChillOut Bar. We did not manage to sample the spa hospitality as it was closed for renovation during our stay.

PROS:
1. Beautiful pine logs cabins, remarkable craftmanship
2. Complimentary welcome ice cream
3. Friendly front desk staff & our buggy driver
4. Comprehensive in-room vanity set
5. In-room safe, ironing faclity, coffee & tea facility, hair dryer
6. Rain shower head & good water pressure
7. Comfortable & plush bedding
8. Cozy seating corner
9. Lovely swimming / wading pool topped off with a man made waterfall
10. 24hrs room service
11. Convenient layout map of the resort tucked into the key card docket
12. Comprehensive introduction folder
13. Large compound with plenty of space to wander around or just for an evening stroll
14. Peace of mind - security patrolling around the resort at night
15. Very efficient service from the maintenance staff

CONS:
1. Insufficient lighting in the room, the patio & staircase
2. Scratched up wooden flooring
3. Old LCD TV instead of LED TV
4. Noisy - Our unit was facing back end facing a main road
5. DC powered fridge
6. Weak air conditioner leaving the room warm even at full blast - Requires servicing
7. 3 buggies but only one buggy driver
8. Little to no soundproofing insulation - we could hear every foot step or conversations from our next door neighbour
9. Very narrow path around resort compound & no proper walkway
10. Single key card per room
11. Misaligned bathroom window - could not be closed properly
12. Pint sized bathtub
13. Fungus on the triangular rack in the shower area
14. Limited satelite tv channels
15. Mild stains on the comforter
16. Reusable in-room slippers instead of disposable ones? Please think about your guest's hygiene concerns
17. No bathrobes
18. No mosquito netting for the windows so you can't open the windows to let in some fresh air without letting in some mozzies as well
19. Limited room service variety & at an exorbitant price - RM87 for a rack of lamb? Not unless its from a Michelin star chef!
20. Water shooting out from the sides due to a loosely fitted shower head
21. No umbrellas provided in the room
22. Glass wall separating the shower area was insufficient in length to prevent the water spilling over to the WC area
23. Big gap at the bottom of the room door inviting more noise & mozzy intrusion
24. Misleading information - In house channel advertises that ChillOut Bar closes daily at 2am, front desk informed us its 1am and on our first night, it was closed when we were there at 12:25am
25. Insufficient towel hooks in the bathroom and the only one available was about to fall off the wall
26. Poor drainage in bathroom sink
27. Faulty hair dryer
28. Wall lighting has 3 bulb sockets but only 1 bulb was installed. Called maintenance & they fitted in the remaining 2 bulbs which then caused a power trip every 10 mins.
29. Missing rubber cap for bathroom door stopper
30. One key card per cabin? Very stingy for a 5 star resort
31. In room wifi - good signal strength but what's the point if its at a snail's speed?
32. Walkway around the compound should be returfed. Currently bare and disgustingly muddy after rain.
33. Noisy housekeeping staff busy chatting away & couldn't be bothered to tone it down a notch in the presence of guests

Overall, my wife and I had was torn about our experience with Philea. On one hand, the resort is beautiful and has so much potential to be great. But on the other hand, it is just so disappointing thqt the current management are not making any efforts to improve despite having so many negative reviews from many reviewers. After spending a fair bit of time to submit their reviews, it seems that it has all landed on deaf ears.

Our experience with the staff was also 50/50. Some of the staff was very friendly and accomodating while the rest do not belong anywhere in the hospitality industry. This discrepancy is present from the different front desk staff to the different buggy drivers.

In order for this resort to be returned to its glory days, the new management needs to put some serious efforts into improving the staff courtesy & discipline & overall upkeeping of the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the swimming pool, preferably at the far end of the property. And avoid pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D_Jekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Dear D_Jekyll,

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our resort. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We certainly empathize about the points you mentioned especially the room that need updating and to ensure our staff is properly trained.

We have taken your feedback very seriously and corrective steps are in place with the concerned party for the service we pride ourselves on.

Thank you again for sharing your concerns and we hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Bought a 3D2N package via Groupon Malaysia which included a welcome drink, ice-cream & daily breakfast.

Upon arriving, we were told that our room was not ready & to come back at 2 pm although I had emailed previously for special request to check-in early & was given an "OK" to do so. We came back at 3 pm after getting a call from the Hotel informing that our room was ready. But we did not receive our welcome drink & ice-cream upon check-in. I had to request for them when I remembered about it. The staff should have alerted us or served what was in the package.

The room was nice but the fixtures & fittings in the bathroom required fixing. The rain shower was horrible as there was little water coming out from the shower head. Hence, we had to shower using the hand shower in the bath tub. There was little space to put our toiletries & only 1 hook to hang our clothes. WiFi was bad. We had to sign-in many times to stay connected. The air-conditioner (AC) went crazy on us as we were unable to change the temperature setting. If we do so, it will change to "fan" mode instead of AC. The technician confirmed that it was due to the hotel's setting. Also, our key card did not work on 1 occasion. Thank goodness, there was a buggy outside so that we could inform the staff of the issue at hand. It's a long long walk to the lobby, mind you without buggy service.

Our neighbours were very loud & noisy. The walls are not sound proof. We couldn't get a good night sleep and had missed our breakfast. But the Hotel staff was kind enough to deliver some food (a plate consisting of 1 omelette, 1 sunny side up, 2 chicken & beef sausages, 1 white & wholemeal bread & 1 glass of orange juice, each) to our room after hearing our complaints. We then requested for another room. The staff informed that she will get back to us very soon. Unfortunately, she did not do so. We had to check with front desk on the status of our request late afternoon & were told that we could not move to another room. The staff in the coffee house, Amir, either did not understand English or he may have forgotten our order. All we wanted were 2 glasses filled with ice & since we were in a hurry to leave, we decided to forgo our order. While exiting the restaurant, we told him that we never received our 2 glasses to which he answered with a questionable "Ehh?"

Apart from poor service, the pool area was simply beautiful and different from other hotels and resorts. We felt we could spend the day lounging about. The resort is absolutely gorgeous but customer experience is rather bad. The Hotel should look into their recruitment process & provide better training to equip staff with the right attitude. Unfortunately, I will still go back to this Hotel just because of their amazing ambience & close one eye to horrible service.

Room Tip: Double beds (upper floor), twin beds (ground floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wildcat7400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Dear Mdm,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the room issues and spoken with the employee in question. We want you to know that we enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and hope to welcome you again. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayer Keroh
4.3 km away
Mudzaffar Hotel Melaka
Mudzaffar Hotel Melaka
#1 of 9 in Ayer Keroh
11 reviews
12.3 km away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#12 of 169 in Melaka
624 reviews
5 km away
Ayer Keroh Country Resort
Ayer Keroh Country Resort
#4 of 9 in Ayer Keroh
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#4 of 169 in Melaka
1,493 reviews
13.2 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
677 reviews
13.7 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philea Resort & Spa

Address: Lot 2940 Jalan Ayer Keroh | Off Jalan Plaza Tol, Ayer Keroh 75450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Ayer Keroh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ayer Keroh
Price Range: $141 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Philea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanning over 15 acres, strategically located in the fast-developing Ayer Keroh in Melaka, Philea Resort and Spa is an extraordinary resort built utilising natural resources, including 8,000pieces of disused railway sleepers for the staircase and more than 6,000 tons of marble from Perak as block fencing. Recycled materials from shipwrecks are used as furniture in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Philea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philea Hotel Ayer Keroh
Philea Resort And Spa
Philea Resort & Spa Melaka State/Ayer Keroh, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing