We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever in France after 40 years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Galets de la Molliere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

Arrived late after long drive and young lady on reception gave a warm welcome. Sadly pitch allocated was filthy with cigarette ends, beer bottle tops, meat bones etc and situated between rather scruffy statics. Also there was a lot of noise from the "Brasserie" and stale cooking smells. We returned to reception to ask for a change of pitch. Told by older lady that they were full although I sighted other vacant pitches and it was early evening. After reassessing our pitch we decided our holidays are too precious to stay there so decided to leave. Office already closed despite hours posted to the contrary so rang bell. Madame said no refund as we have made reservation albeit that day. We left immediately and found a wonderful site nearby. This was our worst experience in 40+ years of camping.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mairi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2015

We found this place by chance as the campsite where we stayed a couple of years ago (Walric) was full and they recommended Les Galets. So glad they did! It is quite a small campsite, the mobile homes are in excellent condition - squeaky clean and well appointed. It's true that you are close to the neighbours, but then again you don't book a campsite if you want privacy. The management team are unbelievably friendly - welcome you like long lost family and remember everything about you, making it very personal attention. Madame runs the place with a rod of iron, which is a great benefit as it means that the place runs well - you have to be in your home after 11pm, so late night noise is almost eliminated. Check your inventory as it's your responsibility to let them know of anything that isn't there or is damaged upon your arrival. The site has tranquil, pleasant grounds, superb for kids (of course). Very clean and attractive swimming pool (though closed at lunchtime which I don't really understand - I live in France and understand how important is "le dejeuner" - but visitors might like a dip during the lunchtime hours!) It is a few minutes walk over the dunes to the beach, BUT quite a bit further till you can actually dip your toes in the water! The beach area closest to the campsite seems a be a big kite flying area. Large pebble beach - small patches of sand. You are close to lovely St Valery and the old stream train which takes a gentle and pleasant tour around the Baie, close to Cayeux with it's lovely long row of traditional looking beach huts. The only thing that put us off a little was the "brasserie" which had blaring music, plastic tables and not very attractive looking offerings. Having said that, we didn't actually eat there (not with that music!) so maybe the food is good. Think to take something to light the barbecue with, scissors (there are knives but sometimes a pair of scissors is useful), a table cloth (for the outside table) and some outdoor candles if it's nice weather as you will undoubtedly want to eat outside. We will definitely go back here again and it would be our first choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a mobile home that is end-to-end with its neighbor rather than long-side to long-side. That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Taormina-Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

So this year rather than plunging deep into France we went to this site on the Somme estuary. The site is good, clean and quiet. The caravans are excellent - could do with an oven though. Check in and out is very efficient and thorough but this ensures that you receive a nice caravan. Now the area; it is more quaint than buzzing, cycling is VERY well catered for. So go to Mers Les Bains, cayeux, fort Mahon (it isn't an army camp) and le crotoy. Nearby beach is a windswept pebble strewn beautiful place but isn't a sandy sun trap

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The very basic cafeteria (hamburger - surprisingly topped by a fried egg - and crocq' Monsieur) is reasonably priced and conveniently located along walk 4 of the region's documented hikes, at the end of the beach stretch from/to Le Hourdel to La Moullière.

That's all there is to it, still very welcome since eateries are few and far between in the area, when walking at least.

Camping toilets were very clean, and what little we saw of other services flawless - if we stopped short of experiencing them.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GianlucaMarcellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We arrived very early for check in but tried our luck . The receptionist was very kind and managed to get us our accommodation sooner than 4'o' clock. The mobile chalet was clean , smelt lovely and fresh and we settled in straight away . Strict rules around the pool area boys you must remember your speedos or you won't be allowed to swim . Pool clean area gorgeous and honestly we really enjoyed our stay . Thank you a great site.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayeux-sur-Mer hotels
3.1 km away
Le Neptune
Le Neptune
#1 of 3 in Cayeux-sur-Mer
153 reviews
3.1 km away
Le Parc aux Huitres
Le Parc aux Huitres
#2 of 6 in Cayeux-sur-Mer
137 reviews
3.2 km away
Madame Vacances Residence Les Terrasses De La Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Hidden Bay Hotel
Hidden Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cayeux-sur-Mer
95 reviews
4.7 km away
Les Portes Du Hable
Les Portes Du Hable
#3 of 6 in Cayeux-sur-Mer
31 reviews
3 km away
Hotel Les Galets Bleus
Hotel Les Galets Bleus
#1 of 6 in Cayeux-sur-Mer
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Galets de la Molliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Galets de la Molliere

Address: Rue Faidherbe | La Molliere, 80410 Cayeux-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Cayeux-sur-Mer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cayeux-sur-Mer
Price Range: $81 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Galets de la Molliere 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Les Galets de la Molliere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing