We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
29
17
11
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
17
11
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews specials board busy junction pudding comfortable room new forest bacon and eggs gerald pub dog
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2015

We are on a 3 day caravan break in the New Forest and want to eat out in the evenings. Today, Friday evening at about 6:15, we happened across the Ship Inn in Fordingbridge. We had an delicious home cooked meal and desert at very reasonable prices. All the staff were polite, helpful and courteous. In fact it was so good we have booked a table for tomorrow, Saturday, evening.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2014

We stayed at the Ship when a few family members got together for the weekend. I will review the pub and food separately in that section.

The rooms were comfortable, the staff friendly and the breakfast was excellent. The rates were very reasonable.

We had very little reason to leave the pub during the time we were there, other than to visit another family member, and take a walk through the town. The staff made us welcome, and the pub/restaurant was very good.

I would have no hesitation is staying again.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KeithJenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

We arrived 9.00 am as we had drove through the night from Germany, We were welcomed by Gerald who said we could leave the cases in the Inn as the Rooms would not be ready till 11.00am. The rooms were ready at 10.00am. for us.
At night we ate at the Inn and the food is Excellent, and the Full English Breakfast was one of the best I have had in the UK, even our German friends changed to Full English the next day.
Sat Night was live music best to Reserve a table as the place gets quiet full. All in all Great Friendly place to stay with excellent food. The Staff were excellent too really Polite and helpful

Room tip: We had two Rooms one facing front the other facing the back, they were no louder than any Pub B&B
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeterMargit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2014

Our room was in desperate need of decorating, the ceiling in the bathroom was practically falling down, although the bedding and towels were fresh and clean. The staff were lovely and I think with a bit of effort it would be a nice place to stay. Very central area.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We visit The Ship whenever we pass through Fordingbridge as we love an occasional cheese fondue. Quick service although the most recent visit was not as good due to football on the TV in the background. Makes a nice change and a bit if fun. How about a meat fondue on the menu?

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makingtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews