We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful pub for a family reunion.”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Fordingbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 March 2015

We had a very comfortable stay in a well appointed room and our family gathering in the pub on Saturday night went very well. Staff was helpful and breakfast was delicious. Proximity to New Forest allowed us to enjoy several interesting drives and we could also walk the town and visit shops and other pubs. Parking was convenient too.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet and looked out over the rear parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2015

We are on a 3 day caravan break in the New Forest and want to eat out in the evenings. Today, Friday evening at about 6:15, we happened across the Ship Inn in Fordingbridge. We had an delicious home cooked meal and desert at very reasonable prices. All the staff were polite, helpful and courteous. In fact it was so good we have booked a table for tomorrow, Saturday, evening.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2014

We stayed at the Ship when a few family members got together for the weekend. I will review the pub and food separately in that section.

The rooms were comfortable, the staff friendly and the breakfast was excellent. The rates were very reasonable.

We had very little reason to leave the pub during the time we were there, other than to visit another family member, and take a walk through the town. The staff made us welcome, and the pub/restaurant was very good.

I would have no hesitation is staying again.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KeithJenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

We arrived 9.00 am as we had drove through the night from Germany, We were welcomed by Gerald who said we could leave the cases in the Inn as the Rooms would not be ready till 11.00am. The rooms were ready at 10.00am. for us.
At night we ate at the Inn and the food is Excellent, and the Full English Breakfast was one of the best I have had in the UK, even our German friends changed to Full English the next day.
Sat Night was live music best to Reserve a table as the place gets quiet full. All in all Great Friendly place to stay with excellent food. The Staff were excellent too really Polite and helpful

Room Tip: We had two Rooms one facing front the other facing the back, they were no louder than any Pub B&...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeterMargit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2014

Our room was in desperate need of decorating, the ceiling in the bathroom was practically falling down, although the bedding and towels were fresh and clean. The staff were lovely and I think with a bit of effort it would be a nice place to stay. Very central area.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fordingbridge hotels
0.9 km away
Augustus John
Augustus John
#2 of 12 in Fordingbridge
136 reviews
4.6 km away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#1 of 1 in Damerham
135 reviews
0 km away
The Three Lions
The Three Lions
#1 of 1 in Stuckton
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 14 in Fordingbridge
285 reviews
2.3 km away
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
#2 of 14 in Fordingbridge
499 reviews
3 km away
Hill Cottage Farm Camping & Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: 68 High Street, New Forest, Fordingbridge SP6 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Fordingbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fordingbridge
Price Range: $121 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing