We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cypress Log Cabins(Fordingbridge)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Augustus John(Fordingbridge)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Three Lions(Stuckton)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alderholt Mill(Fordingbridge)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
29
16
11
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
16
11
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspecials boardbusy junctionpuddingcomfortable roomfull englishnew forestbacon and eggsgeraldpubdog
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Located right on the High Street with easy access to restaurants and shops. We dined at The Ship Inn and had a good meal. The room was adequate and the staff very hospitable. The hotel is on a busy junction and the front of the hotel was quite noisy with the passing of heavy trucks. We would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Try for a rear room
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms to stay here with my parents as we were visiting Southampton Boat Show.
My twin room was very spacious as was the en suite bathroom. My parents double room was smaller but perfectly adequate.
We didn't want to spend a lot so chose to stay outside Southampton. The Ship Inn ticked all of our boxes and the breakfast the next morning was spot on. Plenty of toast & coffee to accompany the scrambled eggs.
Would definately stay here again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

A much needed bit of hospitality. Thanks to all the staff, who were accommodating and friendly, even to the dog. Rooms were clean and comfy, breakfast was cracking and a nice pint (plus a few gins!) behind the bar.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steph b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

I booked a room for a night at The Ship as we were walking the Avon Valley path and needed somewhere to rest our heads half way. Our main reason for booking it was the price which at £70 for a double ensuite was great value. We arrived at The Ship Inn looking more than a little dishevelled after an 8 hour day walking and were greeted by the very friendly bar man who kindly ignored the state of us and showed us to our room. The room is basic but had a comfy and cosy feel to it with more importantly a comfortable bed and a large bathroom with bath and shower....what more did we need! After both of us having a much needed bath we limped downstairs for a well earned pint. Our main aim for the evening was to have some good food and a good nights sleep ready for the next leg of our journey and The Ship Inn delivered. The main menu is traditional standard pub fayre consisting of fish and chips, scampi, and steak and ale pies. However, the specials board was what made our decision to eat there. They offered interesting menu options such as scallops, green bean vegetarian burger, salmon wrapped in pancetta. There was so much on the specials menu that looked good it took us longer than it should of to make up our minds. Hubs chose the griddled chicken stack with mozzarella and spicy mayo. Whilst I opted for the baked cod with tomatoes and olives which came with a choice of potatoes and salad, veg of the day. The food was delicious. The nights stay, two pints and a nice bottle of red wine cost a little over £107 which we felt represented great value for money. I have noticed some reviewers have made negative comments regarding noise. I feel that if you book to stay at a pub you need to expect some noise from the locals. We retired to bed at 10pm and yes there was a little noise from the bar downstairs however, as closing time is at 11pm this was not an issue for us at all.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Anthea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Have stayed in Fordingbridge many times but shyed away from high street pubs as food outlets. Mistake. Had dinner here with my kids. It was lovely. Service and food were both very good. Really nice friendly atmosphere. Only negative is the heat. Either i am having a hot flush or the pub is very well insulated. Wear a sleeveless top!!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Suejpotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews