We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the worst meal I have ever had in a grubby little pub”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Fordingbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Visited with family on Boxing Day. There were no other diners throughout our meal. All the food, (scampi x 2, fish and chips and fish pie x 2) were clearly frozen. The fried fish was extremely small and over fried, the scampi was accompanied with about five chips as was the fish and the fish pie was inedible. The sauce was so runny we could have drunk it through a straw. It tasted disgusting. Im not a fussy eater and would usually eat what I'm given even if not keen but I just couldn't.
We complained to the young and obviously inexperienced waiter who took it into chef. The kitchen was only a few feet away and I could see chef through the window. I believe he tasted it. He agreed to deduct them from the bill.
At no point, despite being able to see us through the window, did chef come out to explain himself. Shame on you chef for letting your young waiter take the flak and shame on you for serving up muck. Suggest you go back to chef school.
If you are in the Fordingbridge area avoid at all cost. Go to the Cartwheel or the Bat and Ball instead.
Nb. I am reviewing the food in the pub not the rooms

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank debbiehawkins76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2016

Located right on the High Street with easy access to restaurants and shops. We dined at The Ship Inn and had a good meal. The room was adequate and the staff very hospitable. The hotel is on a busy junction and the front of the hotel was quite noisy with the passing of heavy trucks. We would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Try for a rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms to stay here with my parents as we were visiting Southampton Boat Show.
My twin room was very spacious as was the en suite bathroom. My parents double room was smaller but perfectly adequate.
We didn't want to spend a lot so chose to stay outside Southampton. The Ship Inn ticked all of our boxes and the breakfast the next morning was spot on. Plenty of toast & coffee to accompany the scrambled eggs.
Would definately stay here again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

A much needed bit of hospitality. Thanks to all the staff, who were accommodating and friendly, even to the dog. Rooms were clean and comfy, breakfast was cracking and a nice pint (plus a few gins!) behind the bar.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steph b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

I booked a room for a night at The Ship as we were walking the Avon Valley path and needed somewhere to rest our heads half way. Our main reason for booking it was the price which at £70 for a double ensuite was great value. We arrived at The Ship Inn looking more than a little dishevelled after an 8 hour day walking and were greeted by the very friendly bar man who kindly ignored the state of us and showed us to our room. The room is basic but had a comfy and cosy feel to it with more importantly a comfortable bed and a large bathroom with bath and shower....what more did we need! After both of us having a much needed bath we limped downstairs for a well earned pint. Our main aim for the evening was to have some good food and a good nights sleep ready for the next leg of our journey and The Ship Inn delivered. The main menu is traditional standard pub fayre consisting of fish and chips, scampi, and steak and ale pies. However, the specials board was what made our decision to eat there. They offered interesting menu options such as scallops, green bean vegetarian burger, salmon wrapped in pancetta. There was so much on the specials menu that looked good it took us longer than it should of to make up our minds. Hubs chose the griddled chicken stack with mozzarella and spicy mayo. Whilst I opted for the baked cod with tomatoes and olives which came with a choice of potatoes and salad, veg of the day. The food was delicious. The nights stay, two pints and a nice bottle of red wine cost a little over £107 which we felt represented great value for money. I have noticed some reviewers have made negative comments regarding noise. I feel that if you book to stay at a pub you need to expect some noise from the locals. We retired to bed at 10pm and yes there was a little noise from the bar downstairs however, as closing time is at 11pm this was not an issue for us at all.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Anthea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fordingbridge hotels
0.9 km away
Augustus John
Augustus John
#2 of 12 in Fordingbridge
136 reviews
2.3 km away
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
#3 of 14 in Fordingbridge
486 reviews
4.6 km away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#1 of 1 in Damerham
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
The Three Lions
The Three Lions
#1 of 1 in Stuckton
124 reviews
2.6 km away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 14 in Fordingbridge
283 reviews
3 km away
Hill Cottage Farm Camping & Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: 68 High Street, New Forest, Fordingbridge SP6 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Fordingbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fordingbridge
Price Range: $123 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing