We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dog Friendly experience with the added Bonus of Great Food!”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Fordingbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

A proper Pub with the best welcome so far for our Puggies, they were given treats and cuddles from the staff.
Lot's of choice of specials on the blackboard, plus the standard menu , we both tried the Steak pudding it was a proper pudding full of meat and gravy.So full we could not fit in a dessert! Keep up the good work!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stevie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017

We had a lovely evening with family. The staff were very welcoming and the food was fantastic. Loved the candles in the rest rooms !
Will visit again next time we are visiting Fordingbridge.
Well worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Had a few drinks and lovely food at this pub tonight . Food was excellent. Service excellent . We couldn't get a taxi at the end of the night and the staff there sorted out a lift between them. Couldn't have asked for a better night . Highly recommend this place

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank 933lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Visited with family on Boxing Day. There were no other diners throughout our meal. All the food, (scampi x 2, fish and chips and fish pie x 2) were clearly frozen. The fried fish was extremely small and over fried, the scampi was accompanied with about five chips as was the fish and the fish pie was inedible. The sauce was so runny we could have drunk it through a straw. It tasted disgusting. Im not a fussy eater and would usually eat what I'm given even if not keen but I just couldn't.
We complained to the young and obviously inexperienced waiter who took it into chef. The kitchen was only a few feet away and I could see chef through the window. I believe he tasted it. He agreed to deduct them from the bill.
At no point, despite being able to see us through the window, did chef come out to explain himself. Shame on you chef for letting your young waiter take the flak and shame on you for serving up muck. Suggest you go back to chef school.
If you are in the Fordingbridge area avoid at all cost. Go to the Cartwheel or the Bat and Ball instead.
Nb. I am reviewing the food in the pub not the rooms

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank debbiehawkins76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Located right on the High Street with easy access to restaurants and shops. We dined at The Ship Inn and had a good meal. The room was adequate and the staff very hospitable. The hotel is on a busy junction and the front of the hotel was quite noisy with the passing of heavy trucks. We would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Try for a rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fordingbridge hotels
0.9 km away
Augustus John
Augustus John
#2 of 12 in Fordingbridge
136 reviews
4.6 km away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#1 of 1 in Damerham
135 reviews
0 km away
The Three Lions
The Three Lions
#1 of 1 in Stuckton
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 14 in Fordingbridge
285 reviews
2.3 km away
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
#2 of 14 in Fordingbridge
498 reviews
3 km away
Hill Cottage Farm Camping & Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: 68 High Street, New Forest, Fordingbridge SP6 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Fordingbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fordingbridge
Price Range: $121 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing