We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Augustus John(Fordingbridge)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Folds Farm Camping(Fordingbridge)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$33
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Cypress Log Cabins(Fordingbridge)
Book now, pay at stay
US$262
US$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Three Lions(Stuckton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alderholt Mill(Fordingbridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
29
16
11
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
16
11
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspecials boardbusy junctionpuddingcomfortable roomfull englishnew forestbacon and eggsgeraldpubdog
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

A proper Pub with the best welcome so far for our Puggies, they were given treats and cuddles from the staff.
Lot's of choice of specials on the blackboard, plus the standard menu , we both tried the Steak pudding it was a proper pudding full of meat and gravy.So full we could not fit in a dessert! Keep up the good work!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stevie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We had a lovely evening with family. The staff were very welcoming and the food was fantastic. Loved the candles in the rest rooms !
Will visit again next time we are visiting Fordingbridge.
Well worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Had a few drinks and lovely food at this pub tonight . Food was excellent. Service excellent . We couldn't get a taxi at the end of the night and the staff there sorted out a lift between them. Couldn't have asked for a better night . Highly recommend this place

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank 933lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Visited with family on Boxing Day. There were no other diners throughout our meal. All the food, (scampi x 2, fish and chips and fish pie x 2) were clearly frozen. The fried fish was extremely small and over fried, the scampi was accompanied with about five chips as was the fish and the fish pie was inedible. The sauce was so runny we could have drunk it through a straw. It tasted disgusting. Im not a fussy eater and would usually eat what I'm given even if not keen but I just couldn't.
We complained to the young and obviously inexperienced waiter who took it into chef. The kitchen was only a few feet away and I could see chef through the window. I believe he tasted it. He agreed to deduct them from the bill.
At no point, despite being able to see us through the window, did chef come out to explain himself. Shame on you chef for letting your young waiter take the flak and shame on you for serving up muck. Suggest you go back to chef school.
If you are in the Fordingbridge area avoid at all cost. Go to the Cartwheel or the Bat and Ball instead.
Nb. I am reviewing the food in the pub not the rooms

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank debbiehawkins76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Located right on the High Street with easy access to restaurants and shops. We dined at The Ship Inn and had a good meal. The room was adequate and the staff very hospitable. The hotel is on a busy junction and the front of the hotel was quite noisy with the passing of heavy trucks. We would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Try for a rear room
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews