We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Laguna Mar
Nearby Hotels
Cristal Azul(Playa San Miguel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Colina Pura Vista(Playa San Miguel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arca de Noe Bed & Breakfast(Playa San Miguel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
191
33
13
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
33
13
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricaboutique hotelsmall hotelnicoya peninsulaa bit overpricedstaff was very friendly and helpfulcomfortable roompizzaby accidentpool area islong driveget awaybeautiful poollittle gempablochefbeaches
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful and delicious dinner. The Chef came out and described the specials; we tried both. Very comfortable atmosphere and reasonable prices. We also had. the tuna tartar as an appetizer. Did not stay at hotel - just ate at restaurant.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sabrinatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Going there based on TripAdvisor‘s recommendations, we were somewhat disappointed by the hotel. Even though the hotel as such looks nicely made, including an extravagant but much smaller pool than imagined from the pictures, we did not like a few things here. The main thing was the rooms. There is basically no decoration, they are very small, the beds are small, the equipment is very basic (but clean, but without any comfort).

We will not come again, there are much nicer places to stay. Also with more personal touch and with a more friendly and more helpful hotel staff...

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank olliechamp131075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

The place is very nice if it's just you, or you and someone else, who DO NOT want to do anything in particular.
The hotel itself is very nice as long as you do not leave looking for something "extra". Not much to do around. It's ideal for a time-out away from the crazy "normal life".

I can tell is NOT the right place for kids. Too calm. Too quiet. Went out to San Miguel beach and it was nice, but there are very few places near the beach to shower or get some shadow. Too exposed.
If you go there, bear in mind to carry your own beach umbrella and anything else to protect from the sun and relax.

Breakfast at the hotel is good. And the service is pretty good. Restaurant employees are extremely kind and interested in your satisfaction. One of them even went to the town store to get some cocoa powder to prepare a chocolate milkshake to my girl. :-)
Those details makes you wanna go back.

The four dots are basically because of two reasons:
1. There was a piece of broken glass which I did not see and made a tiny cut on my thumb, and they had no band-aids or similar to stop the bleeding from my finger.
2. There is not much to do around.

To get there you can either take the long drive (with about 5 miles of bad road) or the short road -which will save you like 40 minutes drive, but comes with 15 miles of bad 4x4-only road.

Very well recommended, if you are looking for a get-away from your day-to-day rush.

Room Tip: We stood at the top floor, and we loved the room. Some stairs to get there, but it is well worth!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ferescaladatec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

This small hotel is perfect for couples or just for adults, but not for kids.
The pool is very nice, the deco is modern, sober but cozy at the same time. People working there are very kind, and the restaurant is A MUST if you are around. To sum up, at Laguna Mar you'll have good food and nice cocktails in a peaceful and quiet environment.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

This review is for the restaurant not the hotel as I have never stayed there. We have eaten at their restaurant many times and really enjoy the food ,the service and the atmosphere. It is one of the best restaurants in this area for casual and romantic dining. The food is delicious and the prices are very reasonable.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank murray a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews