We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$65
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$65
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
US$61
View deal
PricelineUS$65
Booking.comUS$62
CheapTicketsUS$65
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
101
151
49
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
101
151
49
12
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We chose to stay here because it was a traditional, not a western, hotel. Sleeping and living in a traditional Japanese room was a real experience for us. There were 3 metro/train stations all within walking distance which meant getting anywhere in Tokyo was easy (once you understand how the transport system works). There is a Japanese restaurant (not English speaking) on site and the hotel breakfast is very Japanese, not western, so be warned. Just up the hill is a lovely temple, worth a visit and check out the petrol pumps at the garage at the bottom of the hill. While a little old in decor, the atmosphere was great. English speaking staff at reception were very helpful. Try the communal bathing on level 6 which was great fun. Very close to Ueno station from where the trains to the airport depart, then a short ($10) taxi ride to the hotel. So much more character than staying in the tourist centres of Tokyo.

Room tip: It's worth paying a little more for the bigger rooms - we had one of each.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HafodBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Great central location - walk to Ueno Park, multiple major train lines, and Akihabara.
Stayed in a traditional Japanese room (2 adults and 2 kids) and space was fine - we spent most days out and about.
Bathhouse was enjoyed by both kids, and breakfast was included and had good variety.

Amazing value for where it is and with meals included. Free internet computers in the foyer. Laundry available for use (low cost for washers and dryers).

Desk staff very helpful and provided travel directions and advice.

Clearly popular with school groups as we had 4-5 different schools through in our week there.

Room tip: Japanese room was good (three + 1 room) for a family with 2 small kids.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We came here on a school trip because it was reasonably priced and close to everything. First impression was it was TINY. I was sharing the room with three other people and we just fit in the room. On the first day, I tried to use the hairdryer and it gave me a mild electric shock as there was many holes in the cord. However, it has everything you need and is a great traditional ryokan experience.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed at Edoya in the middle of September when the temperature was still over 30 degree and our room was too hot to sleep. It might have been only our room as nobody else seems to have complained about it. Otherwise, the hotel was very good. It is quite outdated, but everything worked and it didn't bother us. The baths on the top floor were great. Although it was very hot, we still took a hot bath and enjoyed it. The location was very good - close to Ueno, Okachimachi and Akihabara stations, very convenient to get to the airport. The taxi from the hotel to Keisei Ueno cost less than AU$10. We enjoyed walking around Ueno, especially between the Ueno and Okachimachi stations, through 'Ameyoko'. We stayed in Shijuku last time but the Ueno area is much more interesting It has got much more 'old day' feeling. Hopefully we will be back there before long.

Room tip: The room 503 was hot.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazuko O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I enjoyed staing in this hotel very much. There are both Western style and Japanese style rooms - I chose a Japanese style room and found it very good. The only reason I have not given 5 stars is that there is not network connection in the rooms although there is one in the lobby area.
In the top-floor, partially on the roof, there is a traditional Japanese hot bath, one for women and one for men. A rest in hot water unedr the Tokyo sky was soothing for my jet lagged body and mind! The staff is friendly and helpful, and as always I loved the traditional japanese breakfast.

Room tip: I chose a "Single superior Japanese style" - this was not especially expensive and a delightful room, almost a small suite
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EspenSOre
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews