We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$96
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/21
Hotels.com
US$96
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/21
Agoda.com
US$84
View deal
Booking.comUS$91
PricelineUS$96
CheapTicketsUS$96
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
101
151
49
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
101
151
49
12
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2012

4 people all adults, we stayed 3 nights First week of Oct, 2012..we got one room Japanese style for 4 ppl..we stayed on the 4th floor..the room we stayed was good, the tatamis look new ..the toilet is narrow, considering many foreigners have big sizes..the shower is just right for any sizes..the shower handle is new and clean..the fridge is clean, the tv is a small to meduim size and flat screen..the futons were clean and good to sleep on..u will have also ur hotel yukatas and bath and toilet amenities..the room cleaning service is done everyday..abt the bugs that a few ppl were commenting..well..we did not have any experience abt it..

the breakfast is all right altho they serve the same breakfast menu every morning, coffee is good, too, where u eat the breakky is clean and good ambience..

the public bath like the locker /changing room for women is average, the place where u publicly have a shower before going to the public hot bath is also average but the tiles they have looks already very old..but the stone type hot bath outside looks all right..

the location is very good altho most comments said by many ppl is the hilly road going back to the hotel..well..its really true but then for me..its a good walking exercise and for awhile u dont really feel that u HAVE to go up again on that hilly road..it becomes a part of ur walking thing the hilly road..
its very near Akihabara..near train stations were u can connect from one station to another..its ver convienient..many food shops around the corner..many convienient stores..not really a problem to us when we stayed there..

there r 2 computers in the lobby and u can use it anytime, free including the printer with it..
WIFI in the lobby, too..
if u have ur own wifi u can use it in ur room just get the right place to put ur wifi to get a good signal..

the walk paths inside the hotel where u pass the rooms in each floor, well..yes its true, there is a smell which i think its because the hotel itself is very very old,,but not dampness..maybe they need to change their old carpets..coz i read comments that they said abt the hallways smells..

over all..its very good for groups staying coz its reasonably cheap..u can really save lots of hotel money from it..the staffs r good and can manage to speak english..

for me..if u r on a budget trip this a good hotel to stay just to give u a place to sleep, shower ..
if ur the extravagant type, the all u can traveler, well find another Japanese ryokan around Tokyo that r pricey..

we give this hotel a rating 8 out of 10..

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We chose to stay here because it was a traditional, not a western, hotel. Sleeping and living in a traditional Japanese room was a real experience for us. There were 3 metro/train stations all within walking distance which meant getting anywhere in Tokyo was easy (once you understand how the transport system works). There is a Japanese restaurant (not English speaking) on site and the hotel breakfast is very Japanese, not western, so be warned. Just up the hill is a lovely temple, worth a visit and check out the petrol pumps at the garage at the bottom of the hill. While a little old in decor, the atmosphere was great. English speaking staff at reception were very helpful. Try the communal bathing on level 6 which was great fun. Very close to Ueno station from where the trains to the airport depart, then a short ($10) taxi ride to the hotel. So much more character than staying in the tourist centres of Tokyo.

Room tip: It's worth paying a little more for the bigger rooms - we had one of each.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HafodBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Great central location - walk to Ueno Park, multiple major train lines, and Akihabara.
Stayed in a traditional Japanese room (2 adults and 2 kids) and space was fine - we spent most days out and about.
Bathhouse was enjoyed by both kids, and breakfast was included and had good variety.

Amazing value for where it is and with meals included. Free internet computers in the foyer. Laundry available for use (low cost for washers and dryers).

Desk staff very helpful and provided travel directions and advice.

Clearly popular with school groups as we had 4-5 different schools through in our week there.

Room tip: Japanese room was good (three + 1 room) for a family with 2 small kids.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We came here on a school trip because it was reasonably priced and close to everything. First impression was it was TINY. I was sharing the room with three other people and we just fit in the room. On the first day, I tried to use the hairdryer and it gave me a mild electric shock as there was many holes in the cord. However, it has everything you need and is a great traditional ryokan experience.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed at Edoya in the middle of September when the temperature was still over 30 degree and our room was too hot to sleep. It might have been only our room as nobody else seems to have complained about it. Otherwise, the hotel was very good. It is quite outdated, but everything worked and it didn't bother us. The baths on the top floor were great. Although it was very hot, we still took a hot bath and enjoyed it. The location was very good - close to Ueno, Okachimachi and Akihabara stations, very convenient to get to the airport. The taxi from the hotel to Keisei Ueno cost less than AU$10. We enjoyed walking around Ueno, especially between the Ueno and Okachimachi stations, through 'Ameyoko'. We stayed in Shijuku last time but the Ueno area is much more interesting It has got much more 'old day' feeling. Hopefully we will be back there before long.

Room tip: The room 503 was hot.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazuko O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews