We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super lively and fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harajuku Takeshita-dori

Harajuku Takeshita-dori
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.72*
and up
Harajuku Fashion Walking Tour
Ranked #5 of 190 things to do in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Super lively and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Went on a weekday but it was already quite crowded and lively. There are so many different fashion, discount and theme shops here. The experience itself is worth it even if you are not a huge shopper. I did pass by on a weekend and it was even more crowded and packed with street performances. Love the atmosphere!

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank twiinklex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    933
    1,050
    567
    96
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love for Harajuku”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

TL;DR: If you go on a weekday, you won't see any locals in outrageous Harajuku outfits - but is still worth going to for the quirky fashion shops, purikura, and the yummy snacks!

Every TV show or movie growing up showed Tokyo to be a quirky, animated, happy land full of adorable Japanese school girls and "Harajuku" girls and guys in crazy outfits. Takeshita street is the only part of Tokyo that I experienced this first hand during my trip. As an American female in my 20s - I LOVED it.

Snacks:
- Totti Candy Factory: Rainbow cotton candy is a MUST! Most insta-worthy thing you'll eat!
- Calbee Snack Store
- Themed Cafes: cat cafe (duh), Sanrio character cafes (If I'm not mistaken I saw a Patty and Jimmy cafe and Pom Pom Purin maybe?)

Purikura (Photo sticker booth on steroids):
- NOA Purikura (プリクラSHOP NOA) was right in the heart of it and had many machine options. Intimidating because of the lack of English instructions - but hilarious and part of the experience.

Shopping:
- Lots of your favorite animated characters like Snoopy, Hello Kitty, and Totoro has product busting from the seams at these stores. Some of the cheapest novelty items I bought my whole trip (surprising, because I would have thought the opposite!)
- Quirky fashion shops with all sorts of fuzzy slippers and tutu-esque skirts
- HUGE Daiso, but note to those familiar with Daiso, not too many things that stand-out compared to the U.S. Daisos, OK to skip, especially if it's crowded!

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“On weekends this is the quintessential Japanese experience. A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have you seen 3 million people crammed into one small street, if not head to Harajuku. This is so amazing how in all these crowds every thing flows and works, there are lots of great food and dessert options and shopping galore.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank izakkapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,230 reviews
723 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 779 helpful votes
“As crowded as ever”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here 3 years ago and it is still as crazy maybe even more.

Sea of black heads without any gaps from the top of the street. It was sardine packed and scary that I didnt bother walking as you wo t be able to shop but just being shuffed by the crowd. This is not shopping. This is not fun.

Could not see any dress ups. Maybe they come out on sundays?

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Totally bonkers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I really don't know what to say about this place except that it is insane! Exactly what I expected it to be. Swathes of people, gimmicky food stalls, crazy shops selling bonkers stuff. I don't think a visit to Tokyo is complete without seeing this place

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harajuku Takeshita-dori also viewed

 

Been to Harajuku Takeshita-dori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing