We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Superb service, beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb service, beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Last week, I had the chance to stay at this lovely hotel for two nights. We checked in early and was offered a corner room with two queen beds, which was nice because it meant more windows and skyline views of Tokyo.The room did not disappoint. Our view was better than that from Tokyo Tower, the bathroom was great, loved the tub. Spent one evening swimming in their lap pool and another evening, enjoying a few drinks at the New York Bar. Both the bar and the pool offered amazing views of Tokyo. You feel like you're on top of the city. The staff was extremely helpful. Park Hyatt Tokyo is definitely an experience. I recommend staying here if you want to explore Tokyo, but also want to have a nice place to relax by the end of the day.

Room Tip: Corner room with two queen beds is much larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charmatcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,014
    349
    84
    26
    25
See reviews for
450
1,077
235
377
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Park Hyatt Shinjuku looks like just another high rise from the exterior, but once you walk inside...wow. Just wow.

First, my trip began at Narita Airport, and one of the (many) advantages to staying at the Park Hyatt Shinjuku is that the Express Shuttle Bus you can take into Tokyo stops right in front of the hotel. It is also only a few blocks away from two metro stations (Nishi-Shinjuku and another station). Once you step off the bus, you are greeted by the Hyatt's wonderful staff. They take your bags and deliver them straight to your room. The employee who greeted me, walked me to one of the elevators. There are two different lobbies. The main lobby of the building is where you come in, but the lobby for the Park Hyatt is actually on the 41st floor of the building.

When you step out of the elevator you have to walk through a lounge area. I can't recall the name of the lounge but it has a stunning almost 360 degree view of the city. Definitely a good place to get drinks with a view. After that you have to walk past a French restaurant, and a library before reach the front desk. When you check in, they provided with a real key, not the magnetic swipe card you get at most other hotels. Just one of the small details that I thought added to the hotel's charm. The interior design is all dark woods and glass, very elegant.

The Park Hyatt's rooms occupy the 42nd floor all the way up to the 54th floor I believe. You can only access the guest rooms through a second set of elevators that sit right next to the concierge desk. These elevators sit right in the middle of the building, and it appears all the guest rooms sit on the perimeter, meaning they all have views overlooking the city.

The rooms are huge compared to the other hotels I stayed in while visiting Japan. I booked one of the more "basic" rooms at the Park Hyatt, and it was easily 4 or 5 times as large as any of the other hotels in stayed in in Japan. The bathroom alone was bigger any of than the other rooms I stayed in. The bathroom had a large tub, a separate shower with glass walls, mirrored walls along one side, and a large sink with marble counter tops. The tub and shower are big enough for two. By the doorway to the bathroom was a shelf made of some kind of dark hardwood, that held little bins of items you may need (toothbrushes, toothpaste, cotton swabs, etc). The toilet lies behind an opaque glass door in a small room about the size of a large closet. Best thing about the toilet was the heated seats, I wish we had those back home. They also have a TV above the sink so you can watch while taking a nice long hot bath.

Next to the bathroom was a dresser and large closet that held bathrobes, extra towels and a safe. The safe is very small, and can only hold small items/valuables. I have a 17 inch Mac book and it was too big to fit in the safe. The main part of the room had a king size bed, a couple dressers, a big flat screen TV, and a work desk by the window. There are plenty of outlets in the the cabinet next to the work desk, and they provide a high speed internet cable in one of the desk drawers. The flat screen TV sits on a swiveling platform so you can turn it to face the desk while you work. On a shelf by the TV they have a kettle you can plug in to heat some water. Curiously they don't have an actually coffee machine. Instead they give you a pack of coffee, that comes with a filter. According to the instructions you take the filter inside the package, fold it up, put it inside a ceramic pot you find in one of the other drawers, put the coffee grinds inside, then pour hot water in. This turned out to be very messy and I just ended up drinking tea. The bed is king size, and very soft. On both sides of the bed is a panel that controls the lights, TV, and the blinds on the window.

The staff are friendly and always serve with a smile. Every one I encountered spoke perfect English so it isn't hard to ask for what you want, which I have no doubt they would bend over backwards to provide.

On a return trip to Tokyo, I definitely plan on staying here again. It's an amazing hotel all around, whether you're in town for business, or a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDiver399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekaterinburg, Russia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We tried to find the best place to stay in Tokyo… and failed this time. The worst we could not change a hotel because it was booked through a Japanese travel agency (it is obligatory for Russian tourists to get visa). We stayed at many 5-star hotels all over the world including Asia and I think we can compare. I will not say about “pluses” Park Hyatt deserves (you can find many in other reviews). So what we did not like:
1. Location. This district is far from main attractions. There is almost nothing interesting to see. Not so far from metro station but I can bet you’ll never find the way to or from it w/o English speaking help (not so easy to find in Japan). And please pay attention your underground trip may take one hour or more to reach popular places. Metro cars overcrowded… Taxi trip takes much more time than metro so you do not have choice (we usually took a taxi from lobby to the nearest metro station). Have a Japanese Hotel map always with you to show to taxi drivers, and call it “ParkO HyattO” to be understood.
2. Food. I think the worst was their cooking. Breakfast – ALMOST NOTHING TO EAT! Room service menu was also poor. The quality was far from to be in 5-star hotel. Restaurants. The only I can say “OK” about was Girandole. New York Grill dishes were like fast food made. Kozue serves the same sushi/sashimi you can get in any other place in Tokyo but for triple price.
3. Spa-center. Looked like any other floor... No any special furniture or color or materials used even for treatment rooms. I felt strange and upsetting. The pool was 1,2 m in depth only – not welcome to swim in. Saunas were spotted.
4. Room. We stayed at “deluxe double” on 42 floor. It was OK but not we expected to see. Spacious, clean, well equipped. But outdated. It may be good for short business trip but definitely not for one-week romantic voyage.

P.S. Now I understand why Park Hyatt was shosen for Lost in translation. It is not luxury hotel. It is not outstanding one. Park Hyatt for me now is synonymous of cold, routine, faceless. That is why it was so good to put Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansson characters there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Alexander_Troshkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Everyone says what a great hotel this is, and I agree. The toilet is heated! My toothbrushes were organised for me! You can watch tv while having a violet bath! They change the bed linens twice a day!
I will add a few caveats: There is no real lobby or reception. you can sit and have a cup of tea, but it will cost you 25 bucks. It's not a homey place, but it is elegant and strange and fun and expensive and they will do their utmost to make you happy, and in Japan that's saying something.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malibugypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Had a king room for myself, wife and 2 children. They didn't blink at the idea of 4 in the room, and promptly delivered some complimentary sweets for the kids, as well as kids robes, toothbrushes and slippers.

Half the room is dedicated to closets and bathroom, but the layout is quite nice. Halls are very quite, and rarely saw another guest despite it being sold out. Bit tricky with the various elevators taking you to different levels between 3 adjacent buildings.

Nice room on 48 overlooking Yoyogi park. Watched the storm roll in...

Borrowed the 2 bicycles they have for loan and went to the park just before said storm. Hyatt provided helmets, towels and water.

Pool/gym was great, and we attended a number of yoga/pilates classes. Didn't try spa as it costs an extra 4000.

Free fruit after workouts was a nice touch.

Breakfast buffet is pretty simple and for 3500yen I gave it a miss. Nice deli on 2nd floor.

Parking was 3,000 yen per night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JpnMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,764 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,494 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,543 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Park Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 3-7-1-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 163-1055, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price range (per night): $688 - $1,720
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Park Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Tokyo
Shinjuku Hyatt
Park Hyatt Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing