We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$33
View deal
Hotels.com
US$33
View deal
Agoda.com
US$27
View deal
PricelineUS$30
Booking.comUS$29
Trip.comUS$36
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
35
72
42
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
35
72
42
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

A great find... location is excellent 2 minutes from the train from where you can go anywhere. There is a ton of restaurants, convenient stores, fast food and everything you'd need right nearby. Staff is excellent always ready to help and can get by with limited English. Being a tall guy 194m I found the room just fine not normal in Japan. Am going to extend my stay as this is a gem for the cost and location.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Gregg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
Google Translation

この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel with friendly staff. Definitely recommend. Being the first time in japan, we were quite nervous, but with a detailed email from the staff of how to get around and to the hotel, we definitely felt more relaxed. Two minute walk from station.
Lots of surrounding restaurants that makes for a great atmosphere, especially at night.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank serenam845
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
Google Translation

この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Being a Saturday and cherry blossom time, we had to pay Y20,000 including breakfast! The hotel is located on south side of Asagaya station. Take south exit from station. Turn right & walk down the Asagaya Station Mall outside walkway to the end. The hotel entrance is to your immediate left. It's an older hotel that's showing some wear and tear in the room but very clean. We booked a small double bed unit with desk, table & chairs. There is a very small bar fridge, bidet toilet and WIFI is available in the room. Although no microwave in the room, There is one in the lobby. Also coin washer/dryer available off the lobby. Detergent is available for sale at reception.

Date of stay: March 2016
Thank conscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
Google Translation

この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in december. The room was small but clean and comfy. Tip: if you don't mind not sleeping together ask for a twin room, they are a little bit bigger and since the rooms in Japan are so small it makes a difference. If you are planning on using the trains a lot the hotel is at a perfect location as it is literaly beside the Asagaya Train Station! We found that very useful. Also there is everything you need close by: restaurants, convinience stores, etc. Also it is in a nice and quiet neigorhood witch we liked, but you might be bored if you want action, bars and crowds.

Room tip: Try to avoid the train station side. Also twin rooms seem a bit bigger.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingpenguin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
Google Translation

この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

It's my second time at hostel Asakusa smile. There location is very convinient , close to two metro station and about 1h to narita airport. Asakusa temple is at 5 mins walk from the hostel. We where there in January, the hostel was not busy so it was quiet and you didn't have to wait to be able to take your shower. There was only 2 bathroom on the second floor for I believe 12 people (if not more, I don't really know) . 4 showers on the second floor as well. The rooms where clean. The showers and the bathroom smelled a bit like urine... If you don't have a big budget , I definitely recommend staying at this hostel . Friendly staff , as a well furnished bar at the main level. Free wifi.

Date of stay: January 2016
Thank LorenaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
Google Translation

この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews