We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
S$62
Fully refundable before Thu, 18 Apr
Hotels.com
S$61
Fully refundable before Fri, 19 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
KLOOK
S$56
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
JacobZY
Delightful Customer Service and Great Location
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Aug 2016
Firstly, the customer service here is impeccable. I was expecting a parcel - a wifi egg - from a supplier and the hotel customer service very kindly kept it and subsequently informed me when the parcel arrived. They also very kindly provided utensils for us to cook and savor some of the meals we purchased from the supermarket nearby. Which brings me to the second point of location. There are numerous eateries near the hotel, ranging from ramen to sushi to even cafes and a Starbucks. A supermarket is right next to the hotel so you can definitely stock up on food and capitalize on discounts after 6pm as prices of sushi is at least 50% off. This is extremely good news for budget conscious travelers such as myself.
Date of stay: September 2015
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
S$123
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    S$134
  • Agoda.com
    S$114
  • Vio.com
    S$117
1.4 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
Free Wifi
Booking.com
S$92
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    S$92
  • Agoda.com
    S$90
  • Expedia.com
    S$98
0.5 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
S$110
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    S$108
  • Priceline
    S$121
  • Expedia.com
    S$110
1.6 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Entrance
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
1.2 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception/Common Space
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
European comfort with Japanese style B&B. Living room.
Booking.com
    3.5 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Koenji Shared House Private Room
    Booking.com
      1.4 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
      Booking.com
      • Expedia.com
      • Rakuten Travel
      • Hotels.com
      2.9 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
      Bed
      Booking.com
      S$387
      Fully refundable
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      3.0 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
      Vio.com
        3.6 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
        View more hotels in Suginami
        Reviews (160)
        Filter reviews
        160 results
        Traveller rating
        36
        73
        44
        6
        1
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        36
        73
        44
        6
        1
        See what travellers are saying:
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        9 - 14 of 160 reviews
        Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

        A great find... location is excellent 2 minutes from the train from where you can go anywhere. There is a ton of restaurants, convenient stores, fast food and everything you'd need right nearby. Staff is excellent always ready to help and can get by with limited English. Being a tall guy 194m I found the room just fine not normal in Japan. Am going to extend my stay as this is a gem for the cost and location.

        Date of stay: June 2016
        Trip type: Travelled solo
        Thank Gregg L
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
        Google Translation

        この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

        又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

        引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
        お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
        スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

        Lovely hotel with friendly staff. Definitely recommend. Being the first time in japan, we were quite nervous, but with a detailed email from the staff of how to get around and to the hotel, we definitely felt more relaxed. Two minute walk from station.
        Lots of surrounding restaurants that makes for a great atmosphere, especially at night.

        Date of stay: May 2016
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank serenam845
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
        Google Translation

        この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

        又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

        引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
        お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
        スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 31 March 2016

        Being a Saturday and cherry blossom time, we had to pay Y20,000 including breakfast! The hotel is located on south side of Asagaya station. Take south exit from station. Turn right & walk down the Asagaya Station Mall outside walkway to the end. The hotel entrance is to your immediate left. It's an older hotel that's showing some wear and tear in the room but very clean. We booked a small double bed unit with desk, table & chairs. There is a very small bar fridge, bidet toilet and WIFI is available in the room. Although no microwave in the room, There is one in the lobby. Also coin washer/dryer available off the lobby. Detergent is available for sale at reception.

        Date of stay: March 2016
        Thank conscom
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
        Google Translation

        この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

        又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

        引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
        お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
        スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 2 February 2016

        My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in december. The room was small but clean and comfy. Tip: if you don't mind not sleeping together ask for a twin room, they are a little bit bigger and since the rooms in Japan are so small it makes a difference. If you are planning on using the trains a lot the hotel is at a perfect location as it is literaly beside the Asagaya Train Station! We found that very useful. Also there is everything you need close by: restaurants, convinience stores, etc. Also it is in a nice and quiet neigorhood witch we liked, but you might be bored if you want action, bars and crowds.

        Room tip: Try to avoid the train station side. Also twin rooms seem a bit bigger.
        Date of stay: December 2015
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Sleep Quality
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank travelingpenguin3
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
        Google Translation

        この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

        又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

        引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
        お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
        スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

        It's my second time at hostel Asakusa smile. There location is very convinient , close to two metro station and about 1h to narita airport. Asakusa temple is at 5 mins walk from the hostel. We where there in January, the hostel was not busy so it was quiet and you didn't have to wait to be able to take your shower. There was only 2 bathroom on the second floor for I believe 12 people (if not more, I don't really know) . 4 showers on the second floor as well. The rooms where clean. The showers and the bathroom smelled a bit like urine... If you don't have a big budget , I definitely recommend staying at this hostel . Friendly staff , as a well furnished bar at the main level. Free wifi.

        Date of stay: January 2016
        Thank LorenaMontreal
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
        Google Translation

        この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

        又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

        引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
        お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
        スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        View more reviews