We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
S$99
Fully refundable before Thu, 18 Apr
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Hando09
Singapore, Singapore
Excellent hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Oct 2012
My partner did a lot of research before finally deciding on this hotel, and I attest that its a brilliant choice.
LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!!

The room size is small n tight, walking space n luggage is a squeeze.
This is compensated with the good sized and comfortable bed, sleeping 2 Asian adults.
The aircon was quiet n cold, although my partner complained of cigarette smell from the vents in the night, possibly from the 2nd floor smoking rooms.
The bathroom is very efficient. Loved the Japanese toilet bowl with its bidet function and I think it probably has a heating seat during winter.
The water pressure is strong. It gives you a nice massage as you shower.
Housekeeping did a good job to keep the room clean n provided crisp n clean towels each evening we returned.

Front desk personnel were very helpful, with their limited English, most were keen to offer assistance to their best ability, sometimes apologetically, but they were all wonderful.

Didnt have a chance to try the restaurant food as it seems closed whenever we returned from our day tripping.

Their close access to the UENO subway station is a BONUS, for shopping, for breakfast, to access to other parts of Tokyo....

Thank you, I had a most pleasant stay at your hotel.

SUBWAY
- a short 10 minutes walk from the UENO subway station
- lifts to help with the shopping after a tiring day out.
- underground passage (EXIT2) to keep u from the rain n cold, almost leading directly to the hotel.

EATERIES/FOOD
- turn right from the hotel, is a ramen place, that offers delicious and quick pick me up meal to start your morning.
- across the Panda Bridge to AMEYOKOCHO is a stretch of local shopping, eateries for yakitoris, tempura ramen, Japanese crackers, fresh seafood- the oysters were succulent and cheap, if only can be frozen for taking back to enjoy.

SHOPPING
- AMEYOKOCHO, for sports goods, Asics running shoes, adidas attire all are at a fraction of those in the malls.
Date of stay: October 2012
Nearby Hotels
浅草線浅草駅A1出口直ぐ目の前!
1.6 km from Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ホテル正面
1.4 km from Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
0.3 km from Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
0.6 km from Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Free Wifi
1.5 km from Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Free Wifi
客室(ユニバーサルルーム)
0.3 km from Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
JR上野駅(広小路口)から徒歩約3分。
0.1 km from Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Taito
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveller rating
230
242
45
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
230
242
45
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jr ueno station double room location is excellent japan suitcases zoo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel is very close to the ueno station (5 minutes). Staff speaks english and was very friendly and helpful. The room was small, but ok. The bathroom was also very small, but everything was very clean. Every day you get a new japanese pyjama (its a sleeping-kimono), which was really comfortable. My friend liked it so much. Nearby there are lots of restaurants and a small supermarket was right around the hotel. It was a great stay!

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
UenoTouganeyaHotel, Front Office Manager at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the great review regarding on your stay at our hotel.
We are so glad to hear that you liked our Japanese pajamas.
Thank you again for your kind words and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We booked a double room for the 2 of us & I'm glad we spent the extra money. Our corner room had windows on 2 sides (1 of the sides had a glass door & large windows leading to a small balcony). The Lawson was our stop for breakfast (yogurt, juice, rice balls) which allowed us choice (you can have breakfast at the hotel). The location was close the alleyways near the Ueno station & we enjoyed wandering to dinner at night. No need to cross any big streets because you go up an escalator to pedestrian walkways over the wide roads nearby. We also had wireless computer access (& we were on the highest floor). Print off the directions because you will need a picture of the adjacent building in order to find the hotel from the Ueno station.

Room tip: Expect a very tiny room for 2. Suggest upgrading to the double room.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SeaStarHarmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
UenoTouganeyaHotel, Front Office Manager at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review.
We are very glad to hear you found the place superb and our personnel efficient and our hotel affordable.
Thank you for coming to Japan in summer when it is very humid and sticky.
Hope you enjoy rest of the year and hope to see you soon in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The location is convenient and the price is good. It's just a 2-minute walk from the Ueno Station, which has the JR Yamanote, Ginza and Hibiya lines. There's a Lawson convenience store a stone's throw away and several restaurants around. The area is quaint and peaceful. Unless you desire to be in the thick of the action, this is a nice place to go back to after a crazy day out.

You can walk to Ueno Park through the station and get to some major attractions in a few stops, such as Asakusa, Akihabara and Skytree. Central Tokyo areas like Shibuya, Shinjuku and Harajuku are 25 to 30 minutes away on the subway.

The economy double room is very small but comfortable, clean and well-equipped. The size is not a problem for us at all. Service is good and the staff are helpful and friendly. There's free wi-fi on every floor too. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeyoshun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
UenoTouganeyaHotel, Front Office Manager at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking your time to write the review.
We are so glad that you found the location and the price good.
It is good to hear that you found the service good and the staff helpful.
Comments such as yours motivate us so much.
Thanks again and we will try to always offer helpful and friendly service.
Best Wishes and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The only is nice and located in a good area. The only little issue I had was rooms were small, and sometimes it was hard to fit especially in the bathroom. However, in Japan everything was so expensive, so for that price I would definitely stay there again. The staff is very friendly and helpful, so I recommend it.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Rony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
UenoTouganeyaHotel, Front Office Manager at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your reveiw.
We are glad you liked the location and found our staff helpful and friendly.
We have taken note of your comments and will try to improve them.
Thanks again and hope to see you soon at our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The hotel has some good aspects, friendly staff, central but relatively quiet location if it wasn't for those darn beds. Their impression of "Western style" is softer than cotton balls and gave both my wife and I the worst back pains ever. After 2 nights we decided to sleep on what little floor we had in our room and that really tarnished the whole experience.

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinHoese
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Touganeya, Front Office Manager at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

we are very sorry for making you unpleasant experience.
we should have checked the quality of bed regularly.
It was unworthy of our hospitality.
Again, very sorry for the inconvenience we have caused to your precious time.
we will make sure it does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews