We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience in Japan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel MyStays Gotanda Station
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinagawa
Reviewed 19 January 2017

The intend to stay at Mystay Gotanda for 4 nights, which ealier we were at Mystay Kawaguchiko and it was perfect, and we also expect the same standard here.

However, it is turned out to be regret choice we made.

At the time of booking there were superior room, which we willing to pay a little extra to upgrade from standard room. At first night we realize the staff assigned us standard room with saying that they have merged all those rooms so now there is no difference. We have realize that the picture of the room we booked and the room we stay was not the same so we insisted why do we pay those extra money for ? They give us an excuse that they have upgraded us to higher floor instead, and without out consent and notice. After we kept insist they manage it to move us to another room on the next day, and saying that it is just 1 sqm bigger and not much different. For the sake of fairness, we decided to move and it is the same room we saw in the picture, so we are okay. Still, we rather found that Mystay Gotanda lack of communication and being too indirect so us as customer preceive it as number of excuses.

Another warning, if you decided to stay in this hotel please keep all items in the safe when you want staff to make the room as we have lost a ring. I have put it in the tray in the hotel but when we came back it is the only thing that were move in our room, so I noticed it on the spot that it was missing, we still really hope the vacuum cleaning must have got it because we always belief that the majority of Japanese people renown for being trustworthy. Likewise, it did not cost so much but we lost our trust to the hotel service. In the end their is no one to blame but me that we should put it in the safe. Luckily the other belonging was fine except the ring

Room Tip: put your stuff in luggage before ask them to make up the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pampam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MS五反田駅前, マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Gotanda Station, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Mystays Gotanda Station. We do apologize that guest room, as well as our service and operation did not meet your expectations. Your feelings are our main concern and are also very valuable to increase our quality of services. Again, we truly appreciate your feedback which will share with my leadership team to consider how we may improve in the future. All of our staff work tirelessly to ensure we can provide a comfortable stay to the best of our abilities for the future guests.
Thank you very much and please accept my apologies once again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Mystays Gotanda Station
Manager Keijiro Ito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2017

This hotel is located just several miles from the Gotanda Station. By the way the station is not big so it doesn't cost you too much time to walk from the station to this hotel which is the most attractive part to me. The room is clean, decorated elegantly and big compared with other hotels in Tokyo in the same price level.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LUKE0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MS五反田駅前, receptionist at Hotel MyStays Gotanda Station, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We are so glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel. Your kind comments are deeply appreciated.
Every staff member at our hotel will be working hard to improve the level of our service and try to meet the expectation of our guests.
We hope you will consider HOTEL MYSTAYS Gotanda Station during your next travels nearby us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

i took a room with 1 queen bed & 1 single bed. The size of the room is better than i expect. Big, compare to other hotel room in Japan. I am very satisfied with it.

The quality of shampoo, shower gel & conditioner is far more than expected. Very good. They have almost everything that you need; from shaver, after shave, etc.

Facilities is also very good. They have microwave, washing machine, dryer, ice maker, etc. Very useful. I need an iron but i don't know how to contact the reception. Usually by pressing 0 you can get connected. But it is not. So i think it is better if the hotel able to put an instruction on how to use the telephone. Since everything is in Japan. But it's just that they don't provide free drinking water at the common area. But not a big deal actually.

Family mart (sort of like 7E) is just beside the hotel. Very very convenient. The location is also very near to Gotanda station. Once you go out from the station, you can see the hotel right away.

If im about to come again to Japan, i will defenitely stay in this hotel again!

Overall, it is much better than expected! Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor to get better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yuni2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MS五反田駅前, receptionist at Hotel MyStays Gotanda Station, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you for staying at HOTEL MYSTAYS GOTANDA STATION. We appreciate you spending your time to write to us.

Every staff member at our hotel will be working hard to improve the level of our service and try to meet the expectation of our guests.

When you travel to the Tokyo area in the future, we sincerely hope that you will consider our hotel for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel has a very convenient location - just across the street from Gotanda station.
There are quite a few eateries in the vicinity, and the area is calm and quiet, with much lower human traffic than most subway stations.
The hotel has a spacious and modern lobby, and is very clean.
The single room with shower that I booked though might be too claustrophobic for some. Though it was clean and tidy, and fully equipped, I found it hard to move about in the room. So it may suit someone smaller in size.
Perhaps it would have been better for me to book the larger single room(with bath).
All in all though, if you pick the right sized room, it is a good hotel!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank AlexAngie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MS五反田駅前, receptionist at Hotel MyStays Gotanda Station, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

We are very grateful for your kind comments. Every staff member at our hotel will continue to strive to provide the best services for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

The rooms are nice and clean and well-kept. However, they are quite small, as expected. Additionally, they allow for luggage storage, which is great, and they are in a great location. They also have mini refrigerators and all the other typical amenities: pajamas, A/C, a water boiler, a humidifier (though perhaps a dehumidifier would have been better), hair dryer, shoe shiners, and toothbrushes, etc. However, I found that my windows were leaky and water from the rain outside slowly seeped in through the edges, eventually resulting in pooling water on the windowsill, which made it unusable. I hope that this was an isolated incident.

Additionally, I found that the internet was quite inconsistent. Maybe about 20% of the time it worked fine, 30% of the time it was very slow but kind of worked, and 50% of the time it just flat out didn't work. Very unfortunate. Otherwise, this place is fine, has a good location, and is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MS五反田駅前, マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Gotanda Station, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Mystays Gotanda Station and taking your time to review our hotel.

We are very glad to hear you liked our location and housekeeping.
However, we are sorry about making you uncomfortable by broken window and internet environment. We take your comments seriously into consideration for further improvement of both service and operations.

If you have a chance to back to any cities, all our Mystays group will be looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Mystays Gotanda Station

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinagawa hotels
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Hotel Royal Oak Gotanda
Hotel Royal Oak Gotanda
#37 of 42 in Shinagawa
51 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Hotel Mystays Gotanda
Hotel Mystays Gotanda
#20 of 42 in Shinagawa
134 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Tokyo-Osaki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
New Otani Inn Tokyo
New Otani Inn Tokyo
#10 of 42 in Shinagawa
528 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Tokyu Stay Gotanda
Tokyu Stay Gotanda
#7 of 42 in Shinagawa
155 reviews
Haneda / Kamata
HOTEL MYSTAYS PREMIER Omori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MyStays Gotanda Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MyStays Gotanda Station

Address: 2-6-8 Nishigotanda, Shinagawa 141-0031, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinagawa > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinagawa
Price Range: $74 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MyStays Gotanda Station 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than a minute from a major Yamanote line station. Choose this location and you'll find yourself with easy access to anywhere in Tokyo, making your stay an absolute breeze. Our recently renovated stylish interior and comfortable rooms make this a wonderful place to home to. Plus, any train lovers in your party will love our rooms with great views of the station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel MyStays Gotanda Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toko Hotel Shinagawa
Hotel MyStays Gotanda Station Tokyo/Shinagawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing