We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Twelve is definitely a Twelve!”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 August 2017

This hotel is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in! From the amazing pizza and excellent juniper gin drink made by Barry at the bar, to the beautiful hotel room, to the excellent massage and the lovely welcome, this place deserves all accolades! We truly enjoyed everything that the staff did to make our stay not only pleasant but outstanding. We were already wowed, but at checkout, the free coffee just made out jaw drop. LOVE! Definitely would recommend to anyone traveling through or visiting.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017

my self and my husband stayed in the twelve last week for three nights bed and breakfast . we had been before over Christmas a few years ago and loved and was looking forward to coming back in the summer , so much to do in the area and see , we were lucky the weather was great . we treated ourselves to a luxury suite which was amazing , own kitchen bar ect, huge bed . the breakfast every morn was excellent the buffet and you could order anything you like from full Irish to pancakes and eggs Benedict all freshly cooked to order included . the restaurant the pins food excellent the best we had eaten the three days we stayed in galway. they do out of this world cocktails yummy and any beer or drink you could imagine its there . loved loved it and we will be back for more , maybe next time with out dog as they are a dog friendly hotel to . cant wait already booking our next trip . they also have a pizzeria pasta restaurant and there own bakery amazing . love love love always busy and great vipe

Room Tip: splash out and go for a luxury suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank indiana1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Myself and friends had a fantastic dinner here during the busy race week in Galway. The food and drink was excellent, every one of us enjoyed our meals. The best however was the service, Liam took care of our table with incredible service and professionalism. Well done Conor and the team, great performance, thanks.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This hotel is eclectic and has a hip vibe about it, including the informal bar/restaurant which really buzzes and draws an interesting crowd. The bed was superior, the room spacious and amenities excellent. We loved it.

Note, however, this hotel is right on the street (Wild Atlantic Way), and therefore some road noise can be expected in some rooms. Not a problem for us, we found it to be moderate, but just FYI.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to road noise, let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tenn_Jedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We stayed here for a bank holiday weekend (so it was very busy as it was also Race Week in Galway) in one of the suites with our daughter. The booking process (direct with the hotel) was excellent and they had a record of the reason for our visit and all of our names which added the personal touch when we arrived.
The room was of a high standard and was spotlessly clean. The extractor fan in the bathroom did not appear to be working but this did not cause any issues for us.
All the staff we met were exceptional from reception, the restaurants and the housekeeping department.
We ended up eating dinner in The Pins on the two nights and whilst there was a short waiting time for a table it was well worth the wait. The food was excellent with something to meet all our requirements and the waiting staff offered great advice on the drink options as there was so much to choose from. There is an excellent choice for breakfast also with pastries booked on site.
It was a short distance from Galway city which was fine for us. We walked to the little pier and and beach which was quiet and relaxing.
There is a good supermarket a short walk away if you need anything and the hotel also had an amazing bakery shop (very good prices) and we had wished we had a cool bag with us to bring home some treats!)
We will definitely be back next time we are in the area and highly recommend it as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
7.5 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,877 reviews
4.6 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,304 reviews
3.6 km away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.4 km away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,674 reviews
6.5 km away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range: $166 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing