We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$174
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 23/07
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Chollerford)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 29/07
US$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunter Crook Lodge(Bardon Mill)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
109
33
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
33
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshadrian's walltaxi serviceenjoyed our staymikecottagehostvindalandafurnishings
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Enjoyed a short break with wife and dog. Mike could not have been more helpful. Very comfortable room in the cottage at the side of the house. En-suite and very clean and tidy, drink making equipment in room and T.V. Breakfast really set us up for the day. Great location next to wall with easy access to both East and West coast. An ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frayny, Owner at Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Hi I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, remember if you want to come again book direct for the best rates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

This is a great stop near The Wall and Vindolanda. Great breakfast. Nice furnishings. Great bed with flat screen, plenty of space, a heck of a nice guy owning it and a great bathroom! It is also close to Hexham, which is a cool village. Great place!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank emb3vol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frayny, Owner at Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

It was nice to meet you Michael glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

I took the girls for a day out at Hadrian's Wall and we all had fun. We decided to stay overnight so we could explore another day. Looking for B&B, we've stumbled across this little gem! The owner, Mike, pleasantly informed me that he's got a family room available. The room is very spacious, comfortable, tidy and very homely. We've had one of the most scrumptious breakfast served on Royal Albert dinner set! Mike is very accommodating, a wonderful B&B owner that cares! We will definitely come and stay again! Highly recommended!!!!

Juvy, Franceszqua and Bea

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank babytreze13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frayny, Owner at Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

It was lovely to meet you, by the way one of the girls left her roman godess and I don't have your adress to return it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my overnight stay at Mike's B & B. The room was extremely comfortable and clean, great facilities for making drinks etc and the breakfast was wholesome and delicious. I felt like royalty eating from the dinner service it was served from.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back face on to the fields with some vocal cattle but hey it is the countryside.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Stayed three nights July 2016. Room was great and well appointed. Breakfast was very good, with lots of choice. The Strand is ideally located for walking some of the best sections of the wall. The owner is a fund of information and extremely helpful.

Our stay couldn't have been better. Thanks Mike!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews