We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hunter Crook Lodge(Bardon Mill)
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
109
33
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
33
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshadrian's walltaxi servicemikecottagehostvindalandafurnishings
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at The Strand just for one night and we were not disappointed. We had the separate ensuite room at the back of the cottage. It was cosy clean and comfortable. We both had a cooked breakfast which was expertly cooked by Mike and freshly brewed coffee. Mike is extremely friendly and a fantastic host. If we are ever up in that area again we would definitely return to The Strand.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nellsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a night during our time walking Hadrians wall. The owner was great, picked me up and took me to the b&b and dropped me back the next day. The rest of the group stayed at the sill and weren't particularly impressed so I highly recommend this place instead.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank H A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the separate cottage with my wife and 10 year old very pleasantly suprised how nice it was, wifi dvd player comfy beds, mike was very welcoming and breakfast was really nice served when we wanted, would definitely recommend

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frayny, Owner at Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

I'm so glad you were comfortable Chris It was a pleasure to accommodate such a nice family. I hope you come again soon, remember for the best rates book direct with Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Great location near Vindalanda and the Wall. Mike is a great host, very welcoming and helpful with info on local services. Everything was spotless and the furnishings made for a very cosy feel. Breakfast was delicious and I appreciated the fruit salad inlieu of a cooked feast.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frayny, Owner at Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay Kate, I look forward to seeing you again.
Remember for best price book direct with Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

I stayed in the separate cottage which is great for a family (sleeps 4). The mattress was brand new and very comfortable Nothing fancy but perfect for walking Hadrian's wall. Breakfast was cooked to order and served on real bone china royal doulton plates. Felt very special! The best part was the Host Mike. No ask was too big for him. He drove me up to Hadrian's wall in the morning as their are really no taxi service. He offered to transfer my bags from my previous night's lodging and then when my bag transfer messed up Mike came to the rescue! and personally delivered them to me at a local bus stop (I did not even get off the bus) It was like home away from home!!! I would highly recommend it. Mike THANK YOU

Room Tip: Need a car to get there or call Mike to pick you up!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frayny, Owner at Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Kathryn you were on holiday I was working, all part of the service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews