We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine hotel, perfect for last night before flight from Zurich airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Zum Goldenen Kopf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buelach
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We recently stayed again here, for the third or fourth time. Rooms are clean and have all conveniences. Some are a bit small, but still fine. Excellent beds/pillows. Restaurant is excellent, Michelin one-star quality, with an Austrian flavor. Fine wine list, specially rieslings. Free parking, five minutes to airport, convenient petrol station to refuel rent-a-car. Service at a high standard.

All of this costs quite a bit: we usually wind up paying CHF 200 or so for the room, and 200 CHF for two if we have a fine dinner with a good bottle of wine, though you can eat well for far less.

We were not bothered by noise, as others have reported. My guess is that this is a problem in summer when windows are open.

Bulach is a lovely, little town. On our last stay we accidentally hit the opening of the Christmas market which was very nice.

Room Tip: try for the back of the hotel, ask for one of the larger rooms. the uppermost floor requires walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOEDWARDS910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

A lovely little hotel, in the heart of the old part of Bulach, one of the walls being the old city wall..
Not far from Zurich's airport, easy to reach and find. Good parking facilities. Nice, well-equipped rooms (though, on a Saturday night, the pub across the road can be quite noisy..). Lovely, friendly and efficient staff. Good breakfast and, in the restaurant on the ground floor, excellently prepared dishes (some with obvious austrian influence) and outstanding wines (some from the region and others from further afield, e.g. Italy). Perfect for a week-end get-away, also to visit some of the very picturesque little towns and villages in the neighbourhood (Eglisau, Rudlingen et alia). A very nice part of Switzerland!

Room Tip: Best not to be facing the pub across the road on a Saturday night..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerhard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Got here about 10pm and had to leave early the next morning. Very nice spot, would loved to have explored the charming hotel and and town. Resteraunt open til 11 ( but with a reduced menu), but a cold beer and a bite to eat were just fine. Room very large and comfy, great nights sleep. Staff very friendly and helpful. Cab ride to Zurich airport was 40 euros, so a bit far for this to be a great airport hotel, but a super place for a night away.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank OlyRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I spent one night at this hotel before flying out of Zurich airport. The location and indeed the village or Buelach are beautiful, and there is some nice shopping (boutiques and groceries) in the immediate vicinity.
I booked a double room for single occupancy which was lucky because I needed the second bed for my luggage. The room (Nr 3-5) was too small really for a double, and I have no idea how two people (possibly even with luggage!!) would live in there. It all reminded me of hotel rooms in Japan...
At night and in the early morning it was quite noisy, but I guess with the central location of the hotel, this is unavoidable.
The staff are friendly and helpful, the room and bathroom were immaculate and the restaurant deserves at least one Michelin Star!
The taxi to the airport took no more than about 20 minutes (45 francs), so very convenient in that respect too.
Rates are very reasonable compared to the rest of Zurich. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: check the size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tingasiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

quite charming hotel, in a very old builiding in the centre of this small city, not far from Zurich airport, worth considiring this hotel, if you have to stay over in or on the airport
very pleasant staff, good restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutchietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buelach
7.3 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glattfelden
146 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Hoeri Inn
Hotel Hoeri Inn
#1 of 1 in Buelach
21 reviews
0.9 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zum Goldenen Kopf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Goldenen Kopf

Address: Marktgasse 9, Buelach 8180, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Buelach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buelach
Price Range: $191 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zum Goldenen Kopf 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Zum Goldenen Kopf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing