We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incompetent management spoiled week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sercotel Hotel & Spa La Collada
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in La Molina
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Booked ski week through UK agency 2 months in advance. 3 days before departure, told hotel overbooked first night and we would have to stay first night in Barcelona, so we missed a day's ski-ing. No regular ski bus to resort or evening entertainment despite promises. FInally arrived a day late at 1pm but rude hotel owner/ holiday organiser refused to let us ski, would not provide coach to resort as said was not paying 50-60 € for an hour's ski-ing - depite the fact that we would have got 4 hours ski-ing in, the cost for a group would have been less than the 35€ each quoted in the leaflet, and besides all this we had already paid for the whole day's ski lifts, ski hire etc. He told me twice to sit down as if I was a naughty schoolboy when I asked about the free glass of wine we were promised with dinner to help make up for missed day at hotel (drink had not arrived in first half hour). One of reception managers also unfriendly, unhelpful and threatening.
Hotel buffet comprehensive but often hot courses only warm. Serving staff good. No coffee making facilties in rooms, and long queues for two machines making only cheap-tasting sweetened coffee at breakfast.
Spa had wonderful facilities but wasn't naturist as promised except at difficult hours, 9-10 am (prime ski time) and from 9.30pm at night after a big dinner.
Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2017

Breakfast buffet was not amount of choice I would expect for 4 star. Cooked food put out on serving trays but not heated so scrambled egg and bacon cold. Hot drinks were serve yourself from two machines which were slow & temperamental so there was a queue each morning to get tea & coffee, and after the first day I didn't bother with black coffee as it was warm sludge! The latte appeared to be warm coloured milk. For the evening food, there was a varied choice each evening & quality OK but again the cooked food was cold. I found the bed hard and the window didn't seal properly so I didn't sleep for the first two nights as I could hear the wind howling. Had to purchase a swimming cap. I'm aware some pools abroad do enforce the wearing of hats but if mentioned on the hotel site people could have the option to bring their own. The pool staff constantly patrolled the area telling people off if they were not wearing hats and watching everyone. It was far from the relaxing break we had hoped for. The main hotel manager was surly and unhelpful. Without our own transport we were reliant on only one transfer to the slopes in the morning and back in the evening arranged by our tour operator. When our friends asked the manager if he could book them a taxi he just said 'No' and walked away. This hotel is too far away from the slopes or any amenities. It was detailed in our booking that there would be evening entertainment and there was not any. Seating arrangement in the bar meant groups could not sit together and the bar staff did not speak English. Our toiletries were not replenished in the room so on the third morning I had to ask the maid coming along the corridor for some more. Room furnishings were adequate but not what expected when paying for 4 star accomodation.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

The good points include a great location and a clean hotel with a great spa.

The down side is that you need transport to get to anything else including the skiing in Molina 3km away and any other restaurant. The hotel food was somewhat mediocre. The bar area a little sterile and lacks atmosphere although the bar staff were really nice people. . You need to wear a silly hat to use the pool - and they cost 3.50 Euros with no medical reason for such a gimmick except to raise money.

However, the really negative bit was the attitude of one of the senior male reception managers and the owner. As a group of about 40 we had been promised something that was not delivered by management. They failed to resolve it satisfactorily. At one point, the owner threatened to close the whole spa complex as some sort of punishment.

Been there, done that hotel - never to return.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northwalesnaturist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

The hotel is a fairly anonymous modern slab with a reasonably pleasant spa suite and gym tacked on the back. It frankly struggles to merit a four star rating and the attitude of senior management towards meeting the needs of paying guests would probably not be tolerated in a youth hostel. Ordering a taxi for example appears to be beyond their remit.
Beware in that connection the hotel is some way from la Molina and you will need either a car or a taxi to get to the ski slopes or eat anywhere other than the hotel itself, where the food is unexciting and not particularly well presented or cooked (given the 4 star rating). There is no regular shuttle bus as in many ski resorts.
On the plus side the restaurant staff on the other hand were exceptionally helpful and deserve a four star rating on their own.

Room Tip: Probably better at the back to avoid late night traffic or snow ploughs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed in La Collada during a ski weekend in late February. The property offers good amenities, a respectable gym and spa and good rooms. The hotel is in Toses (not La Molina), which implies having to drive ~10 minutes to town or call and wait for one of the 3 available cabs in town (each trip around €20). The hotel has a huge service deficiency, noticeable since check in. They were lost in check in, not able to control a small queue. Our requests for transfers and for room service (ice basically) were forgotten. The staff in the restaurant was extremely rude, especially regarding the closing time (breakfast closed at 10:30 am but you couldn't access from 10 onwards because the waiters started screaming dramatically). The check out was a bit of a hassle (seems they're relationship with Expedia is terrible and we had to sit through the drama). Some staff members were good, but most just made us feel like we were disrupting them and everything felt like a favor.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank ernestofmendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Molina hotels
4.1 km away
Guitart La Molina Resort & Spa
4.6 km away
Hotel Solineu
Hotel Solineu
#6 of 10 in La Molina
78 reviews
4 km away
Hotel Supermolina
Hotel Supermolina
#9 of 10 in La Molina
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hotel Adsera
Hotel Adsera
#5 of 10 in La Molina
55 reviews
4.6 km away
Apartamentos Solineu
Apartamentos Solineu
#7 of 10 in La Molina
39 reviews
4 km away
HG La Molina
HG La Molina
#3 of 10 in La Molina
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Hotel & Spa La Collada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Hotel & Spa La Collada

Address: Carretera. Nacional 260, Km 155, 17537 La Molina, Alp, Spain (Formerly Guitart Termes la Collada)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Alp > La Molina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in La Molina
Price Range: $191 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sercotel Hotel & Spa La Collada 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 1,800 meters high, at the top of the mountain it will offer you gorgeous views. It is a perfect setting for wellness stay and to practice sport mountain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sercotel Hotel & Spa La Collada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing